Skip to content

Cover Attraction | The Devlin Diary by Christi Phillips

April 29, 2009

I’m a very visual person and love beautiful, or interesting, cover art. It entices, and invites, me to stop and take a peek instead of walking right on by. This week’s Cover Attraction is:
Title: The Devlin Diary
Author: Christi Phillips
Release date: May ’09
thedevlindiary11
London, 1672: A vicious killer stalks the court of Charles II, inscribing his victims’ bodies with mysterious markings. Are these the random murders of a madman? The deadly consequence of a personal vendetta? Or the grisly result of a hidden conspiracy? Cambridge, 2008: A Trinity College history professor is found dead, the torn page of a seventeenth-century diary in his hand. His death appears to be an accident, but the college’s newest Fellow Claire Donovan and historian Andrew Kent suspect otherwise. The professor’s last research subject was Hannah Devlin, a physician to the king’s mistress and the keeper of a diary that holds the key to a series of unsolved murders in 1670s London. Through the arcane collections of Trinity’s Wren Library, the British Library, and the Royal Society, Claire and Andrew follow the clues Hannah left behind, unearthing secrets of the past and present as both stories unfold to their shocking conclusions.

thedevlindiary2
I had trouble finding a cover this week until I came across the UK version of Christi Phillips’ newest novel The Devlin Diary (upper left). Actually the author’s name caught my eye first before the cover. I really enjoyed her first novel The Rossetti Letter and I’m very excited to see she has a new novel coming out next month. I don’t like the US cover at all. I think they are world’s apart in conveying a message.

P.S. Because this is really about cover art I’ve given my Cover Attraction this week a picture frame.

♦♦♦

What’s your favorite cover attraction this week? Don’t forget to leave a link to your Cover Attraction post.

9 Comments
  1. April 29, 2009 2:16 am

    I agree those covers are gorgeous!
    Here’s mine.

  2. April 29, 2009 8:43 am

    I actually kind of like the second cover–that is the US cover, right?
    Mine is up–

    http://pageafterpage-kim.blogspot.com/2009/04/cover-attractions-april-29th.html

  3. April 29, 2009 10:36 am

    The first one just looks so elegant and she appears to be in a library, at least that’s how I imagine it to be. Cool frame btw!

    Here is what I found this week: The Walking Tour

  4. April 29, 2009 10:37 am

    Beautiful covers! I agree with Kim, I like the second one better, but they’re both gorgeous!

    Here’s mine for the week!

  5. April 29, 2009 12:54 pm

    I like the cover with the key, the other one is too romantic for me.

  6. April 29, 2009 1:00 pm

    Interesting how we’re split on these covers. Just goes to show what appeals to one person doesn’t always appeal to another. Thanks everyone.

  7. April 29, 2009 4:45 pm

    The second cover you shared is actually very similar to the cover of The Rossetti Letter.
    I look forward to reading another book by this author.

    • April 29, 2009 5:03 pm

      It is very similar to the trade paperback cover of The Rossetti Letter and different from the hardback cover which is the version I read. The hardback cover of The Rossetti Letter has a woman’s face on it.

Comments are closed.

