Skip to content

Mailbox Monday ~ April 27th

April 27, 2009

sb10067729n-003If you’re new to Mailbox Monday welcome! Thank you to everyone who stops by Mailbox Monday. Whether you comment or visit I appreciate your taking the time to drop in.

***

theyearofpleasuresFiction ~ The Year of Pleasures by Elizabeth Berg. This is a Read It Forward book with no waiting period. It will go in the mail this week.

The familiar protagonist of Berg’s 13th novel (after The Art of Mending) is a Boston widow of several months, 55-year-old Betta Nolan, who fulfills her dying husband’s dream of moving out to the Midwest and starting a new life. “It will give me peace to know that what you will do is exactly what we talked about,” says John commandingly before dying of liver cancer; Betta, an author of children’s books, sells their Beacon Hill brownstone and takes off, buying an oversized Victorian in the small town of Stewart, Ill., 49 miles from Chicago. Lonely, she finds herself tracking down three former college roommates from the late 1960s, Lorraine, Maddy and Susanna, whom she ditched once she met John. The women reappear one by one and help give her the courage to open a shop called What a Woman Wants (it’ll sell “all different stuff that women loved. Beautiful things, but unusual too. Like antique birdcages with orchids growing in them”). Meanwhile, she begins to make friends in town, notably with attractive young handyman Matthew and natty oldster Tom Bartlett. 

thetorywidowHistorical fiction ~ The Tory Widow by Christine Blevins (new-to-me author/Librarything Early Reviewers program)

On a bright May day in New York City, Anne Peabody receives an unexpected kiss from a stranger. Bringing news of the repeal of the Stamp Act, Jack Hampton, a member of the Sons of Liberty, abruptly sweeps Anne into his arms, kisses her—and then leaves her to her fate of an arranged marriage…

1775: Nearly ten years have passed and Anne, now the Widow Merrick, continues her late husband’s business printing Tory propaganda, not because she believes in the cause, but because she needs the money to survive. When her shop is ransacked by the Sons of Liberty, Anne once again comes face to face with Jack and finds herself drawn to the ardent patriot and his rebel cause.

As shots ring out at Lexington and war erupts, Anne is faced with a life-altering decision: sit back and watch her world torn apart, or stand and fight for both her country’s independence and her own.

theangelsgameFiction ~ The Angel’s Game by Carlos Ruiz Zafon (new-to-me author). This book arrived as a complete surprise to me. I have no idea who it came from. (Claimed by Linda)

In an abandoned mansion at the heart of Barcelona, a young man, David Martín, makes his living by writing sensationalist novels under a pseudonym. The survivor of a troubled childhood, he has taken refuge in the world of books and spends his nights spinning baroque tales about the city’s underworld. But perhaps his dark imaginings are not as strange as they seem, for in a locked room deep within the house lie photographs and letters hinting at the mysterious death of the previous owner.

Like a slow poison, the history of the place seeps into his bones as he struggles with an impossible love. Close to despair, David receives a letter from a reclusive French editor, Andreas Corelli, who makes him the offer of a lifetime. He is to write a book unlike anything that has ever existed–a book with the power to change hearts and minds. In return, he will receive a fortune, and perhaps more. But as David begins the work, he realizes that there is a connection between his haunting book and the shadows that surround his home.

stilllifeContemporary fiction ~ Still Life: A Novel by Joy Fielding (from my good friend Dar at Peeking Between the Pages. Thank you!)

Casey Marshall has it all: a successful interior-design business; a handsome, loving husband; wonderful friends; and a boatload of family money at her disposal. But just as she’s contemplating starting a family, she’s the victim of a hit-and-run accident that leaves her in a coma. But she’s not completely out of it, so she’s a witness to everything that happens in her hospital room. But is that so bad? Isn’t it everyone’s dream to be a fly on the wall, to hear what might be said at our funerals? Even though Casey is privy to everyone’s “private” remarks and conversations as they visit, she feels trapped and helpless, especially when it becomes abundantly clear that the incident with the car was no accident. Her frustration mounts as her sister, the wayward but bighearted Drew, becomes a suspect, along with everyone close to her. While not narrated in first person, the action revolves around Casey’s experiences and perceptions. Fielding makes the most of this intriguing premise without succumbing to gimmicky plot tricks. The moment that Casey solves her own attempted murder is truly riveting, and the anxiety she feels as she tries to avoid the would-be murderer’s completion of his task is palpable. A heart-pounding mainstream thriller

***

readitforward

Read It Forward details

***

What books came into your house last week? Don’t forget to leave a link to your Mailbox post or a list of books if you don’t have a blog.

49 Comments
  1. April 27, 2009 12:14 am

    I hope you love The Tory Widow!! I’m just getting ready to start it, but I loved Christine Blevin’s first book, Midwife of the Blue Ridge. 🙂

    Here’s my Mailbox! ~ Wendi

  2. April 27, 2009 12:24 am

    The Tory Widow looks especially good! Great collection this week. Here is what I got: http://imlostinbooks.blogspot.com/2009/04/mailbox-monday-4-27-09.html

  3. April 27, 2009 12:34 am

    I love Elizabeth Berg!
    My post is up:
    http://pageafterpage-kim.blogspot.com/2009/04/monday-fun.html

  4. April 27, 2009 12:42 am

    Oh The Tory Widow looks so good, I won a copy in a contest! I look forward to your review!

    My mailbox can be found here:
    http://bookslovejessicamarie.blogspot.com/2009/04/mailbox-monday_27.html

  5. April 27, 2009 1:13 am

    I’ve seen The Tory Window around and it does look like a good read. I went a little crazy at the bookstore this week. Here’s my post:

    http://athomewithbooks.blogspot.com/2009/04/mailbox-monday-april-27.html

  6. April 27, 2009 1:42 am

    My mailbox is here.
    http://books-forlife.blogspot.com/2009/04/mailbox-monday_27.html

    And I would love, love to get Zafon. I love his language.
    So if another international reader may get a book soon?

  7. April 27, 2009 3:38 am

    You got some great reads! I love Carlos Ruiz Zafon.

    Mondays: Musings, Mailbox etc etc

  8. April 27, 2009 4:05 am

    hmm nice mailbox – would so love to read The Tory Widow (heard so many good things about it.) Here’s my mailbox
    http://teddyree-theeclecticreader.blogspot.com/2009/04/mailbox-monday_27.html

  9. April 27, 2009 5:12 am

    Looks like you got some good books. My mailbox is here.

  10. April 27, 2009 5:12 am

    That Elizabeth Berg book sounds good but then I like books set in Boston as I lived in one of it’s suburbs for 50+ years! Did you look inside the Zafon book? I received it also and there is a card inside that says it is a gift from Doubleday and Carlos Ruiz Zafon in honor of International Day of the Book. Is that great or what? Have a great week. My mailbox is here

  11. April 27, 2009 5:23 am

    We got some of the same. I’ve been seeing The Tory’s Widow everywhere! Looks like a good one.

    http://bookingmama.blogspot.com/2009/04/mailbox-monday-april-27-2009.html

  12. April 27, 2009 5:34 am

    I read the Berg book and liked it.

    Here’s mine.

  13. April 27, 2009 6:10 am

    Here’s my mailbox for last week!

  14. April 27, 2009 6:15 am

    You got quite a variety of books this week! Here’s what showed up in my mailbox last week. Thanks, Marcia!

  15. April 27, 2009 6:28 am

    Still Life sounds good (Thought it was The Light, The Dark, and the Ember Inbetween – Isn’t that the one with the similar cover?)

    I had a great week – my post is here.

  16. April 27, 2009 6:40 am

    Good luck with the website re-construction, that’s always ‘fun’. You got some good looking books there too.
    My post is up at The Burton Review
    Have a great Monday everyone!

  17. April 27, 2009 6:50 am

    The Year of Pleasures sounds wonderful! Looks like you got some great books. My list is here.

  18. April 27, 2009 7:08 am

    Wow… got some nice books there. Here’s the link for mine:
    http://ultimatebookhound.blogspot.com/2009/04/new-arrivals-april-27-2009.html

  19. April 27, 2009 7:32 am

    I got Angel’s Game too. You can see MY MAILBOX to see what came to my door this past week.

  20. April 27, 2009 7:36 am

    Here’s mine.

  21. April 27, 2009 7:37 am

    Still Life sounds good. Looks like a very good week. Happy reading.

  22. April 27, 2009 7:42 am

    You received some great books Marcia! I love Elizabeth Berg and Year of Pleasures is one of my favorite books!! I have my own treasured green bowl (You have to read the book!!). I should re-read this one, I have a copy on my keeper shelf.

    I love your new blog look…the background is lovely and I like the tabs and features. Very Nice!!!

    My Mailbox is HERE.

  23. April 27, 2009 8:09 am

    Here is mine

    mailbox

  24. April 27, 2009 8:22 am

    You got some great books this week, Marcia!

    My MM post is here:
    http://shereadsandreads.blogspot.com/2009/04/mailbox-monday-april-27.html

  25. April 27, 2009 8:25 am

    I really want to read The Tory Widow! I keep hearing about it.

    Here’s my link for the week. This past week makes me want to cry tears of joy! Well as far as books are concerned anyway.

  26. April 27, 2009 8:25 am

    I also got Zafon’s new book – looks great! Here is my mailbox.

  27. April 27, 2009 8:35 am

    Looks like you got another great batch Marcia!

    My mailbox is here.

  28. April 27, 2009 8:56 am

    Yaaaay! I’m curious as to what your take on Still Life will be. I’m also anxious to see your opinion on The Tory Widow. I’ve seen lots of reviews but I’m kind of on the fence with it. Have a great week Marcia!

  29. April 27, 2009 9:05 am

    I had some great books come to me this week – I’m so excited to read them! My mailbox is here:
    http://booksandmovies.colvilleblogger.com/2009/04/27/mailbox-monday-april-27-2009/

  30. April 27, 2009 9:52 am

    Here’s my mailbox monday, it’s been a while:
    http://smsbookreviews.blogspot.com/2009/04/mailbox-monday-april-27.html

    I’m off to “peek” at your design.

  31. Carol permalink
    April 27, 2009 9:52 am

    What a great list. I’ve never read any of the authors, but I did got The Angel’s Game last week and am looking forward to reading it. My post is up, too.

    http://carolsnotebook.wordpress.com/2009/04/27/mailbox-monday-5/

  32. Warren permalink
    April 27, 2009 10:17 am

    Mine for last week are <a href=”http://pewreviews.wordpress.com/2009/04/27/mailbox-monday-2/”right here. I decided to just send an email to Hatchette after seeing one of the books (The Unlikely Disciple) here, and I got it, even though I figured it was too late to request a review copy.

  33. Warren permalink
    April 27, 2009 10:20 am

    oops — the clickable link should be like this. HTML fail 😦

  34. April 27, 2009 10:59 am

    Here’s my mailbox from this week:

    http://reneesuz.blogspot.com/2009/04/mailbox-monday_27.html

  35. April 27, 2009 11:16 am

    You got a lot of cool books – The Tory Widow looks especially good. Here’s the link to my Mailbox Monday post.

  36. April 27, 2009 11:33 am

    I’ve heard some great comments about Tory Widow already. Happy Reading. here’s my mailbox: http://savvyverseandwit.blogspot.com/2009/04/mailbox-monday-27.html

  37. April 27, 2009 1:09 pm

    Marcia,
    Thank you for letting me know I posted this in the wrong place. Duh. I shouldn’t have been doing this stuff at 5:00 a.m. when I couldn’t sleep. Obviously my brain wasn’t working well because I also left an important note off my post on my page. I just edited it to add that I received Souvenir from you as a very kind gift. Thank you for putting up with me! 🙂

    ———
    These all look good! I’ve read Elizabeth Berg and Joy Fielding before but not these stories. And how cool that you got an unexpected book in the mail. It would drive me crazy if someone didn’t let me know, but what a nice surprise!
    My books are HERE. Thanks Marcia and have a great week everyone!

  38. April 27, 2009 2:30 pm

    You get books from so many different genres each week… how neat! Here’s what I got: http://www.bookconfessions.com/?p=1584.

  39. April 27, 2009 2:46 pm

    My mailbox is here

  40. April 27, 2009 2:47 pm

    I’m enjoying your site…come by and vist my blog any time.

    Hawk

  41. April 27, 2009 4:28 pm

    I really enjoyed The Tory Widow…I hope you do too!

    Happy Reading!

  42. April 27, 2009 4:50 pm

    Happy Monday. Enjoy all your books.

    You can find mine here:

    http://marireads.blogspot.com/2009/04/more-books-in-house.html

  43. April 27, 2009 7:39 pm

    Nice list of books. Mine is here.

  44. April 28, 2009 5:08 am

    I’ve seen several people getting the Zafon book. He’s an author I’ve never read. I’ll have to take a look at some of his books and give one a try. I got a few things in my mailbox last week http://mholles.blogspot.com/2009/04/mailbox-monday-april-27-2009.html

Trackbacks

  1. Mailbox Monday - April 27, 2009
  2. Mailbox Monday « Carol’s Notebook

Comments are closed.

