Skip to content

Mailbox Monday ~ April 20th

April 19, 2009

sb10067729n-003If you’re new to Mailbox Monday welcome! Thank you to everyone who stops by Mailbox Monday. Whether you comment or visit I appreciate your taking the time to drop in.

** Be sure and check out the Read It Forward announcement towards the end of this post. I still have homeless books. Check out my MM posts for the weeks of 4/6 and 4/13. **

It was a very quiet book week around here until Saturday. I think the mailman was reading ’em.

thechameleonconspiracySuspense/thriller ~ The Chameleon Conspiracy by Haggai Carmon (new-to-me author)

A Dan Gordon Intelligence Thriller third installment, where Dan Gordon is assigned to the CIA to investigate a case of massive fraud left for dead. He revisits the FBI assumptions and suspects that the fraud was perpetrated by one person who changed identities like a chameleon changes its color. Through cooperation with the Mossad, Gordon discovers that shocking truth. Dan travels undercover to Pakistan, where he survives a kidnapping attempt. A daring covert operation is planned by the CIA and the Mossad and Dan with an unwitting Austrian woman penetrate Iranian society. While in Iran he is hunted by the Iranian Ministry of Intelligence and Security. The Kurdish rebels show their loyalty but can he trust them? Are the hints Dan senses sent by a high-ranking Iranian intelligence officer for real or a trap? Is the plan to launch a major terrorist attack on the U.S., a ploy or reality? What role does a network of Islamic charities play? Who wants to collapse the U.S economy? Dan Gordon hovers the globe in search of clues; will he again have the upper hand? Much more than just his person is at stake, and at risk..

thecrimesofparisNon-Fiction ~ The Crimes of Paris: A True Story of Murder, Theft, and Detection by Dorothy and Thomas Hoobler (new-to-me author/Librarything Early Reviewers program) (Claimed by Natalie)

Turn-of-the-century Paris was the beating heart of a rapidly changing world. Painters, scientists, revolutionaries, poets–all were there. But so, too, were the shadows: Paris was a violent, criminal place, its sinister alleyways the haunts of Apache gangsters and its cafes the gathering places of murderous anarchists. In 1911, it fell victim to perhaps the greatest theft of all time–the taking of the Mona Lisa from the Louvre. Immediately, Alphonse Bertillon, a detective world-renowned for pioneering crime-scene investigation techniques, was called upon to solve the crime. And quickly the Paris police had a suspect: a young Spanish artist named Pablo Picasso…..

whodoyouthinkyouareMemoir ~ Who Do You Think You Are? by Alyse Myers (new-to-me author/FSB Associates) (Claimed by Marie)

Shortly after Alyse Myers’s mother dies, Alyse and her sisters are emptying her mother’s apartment, trying to decide what to discard and what to keep. Alyse covets only one thing — a wooden box that sits in the back of a closet. Its contents have been kept from Alyse her entire life. That box, she hopes, will contain answers to her questions: Who were her parents really, and why did her mother settle for so very little in her life?

Growing up during the 1960s in a working-class neighborhood in Queens, New York, Alyse’s home is not a happy one. Her parents argue constantly and after the death of Alyse’s father, her mother at age thirty-three is left with three young girls. While her mother retreats to the kitchen table with her cigarettes and bitterness, determined to stay there forever, Alyse yearns for more in life, including the right to escape. After a childhood of harrowing fights, abject cruelty, and endless uncertainty, Alyse adamantly rejects everything about her mother’s life, provoking her mother’s infuriated demand, “Who do you think you are?”

rooftopsoftehranContemporary fiction ~ Rooftops of Tehran: A Novel by Mahbod Seraji (new-to-me author/Authors on the Web) (Claimed by Kim)

In this poignant, eye-opening and emotionally vivid novel, Mahbod Seraji lays bare the beauty and brutality of the centuries-old Persian culture, while reaffirming the human experiences we all share.

In a middle-class neighborhood of Iran’s sprawling capital city, 17-year-old Pasha Shahed spends the summer of 1973 on his rooftop with his best friend Ahmed, joking around one minute and asking burning questions about life the next. He also hides a secret love for his beautiful neighbor Zari, who has been betrothed since birth to another man. But the bliss of Pasha and Zari’s stolen time together is shattered when Pasha unwittingly acts as a beacon for the Shah’s secret police. The violent consequences awaken him to the reality of living under a powerful despot, and lead Zari to make a shocking choice…

***

readitforward

Amazingly I’m not a reader who hoards her books, only cats! For a while now, behind the scenes, I’ve been passing the books I’m finished with along to friends. I’ve decided to offer my books to all Mailbox Monday contributors. No book should be homeless. As long as I have books to share I’ll do so. Here’s the important stuff:

  • All books in my Mailbox Monday posts will be available starting the week of April 6th.
  • Each week new homes will be chosen at random. See I really do read the comments you leave with the links to your Mailbox Monday posts. Just ask someone who commented, in passing, about wanting to read a book I’ve posted. This is not a structured giveaway or contest. I will simply chose names from those Mailbox Monday contributors who have expressed an interest in one of my posted books. The only stipulation is you must have a Mailbox Monday post with a link I can verify, not just a comment expressing interest in a book.
  • If you have more than one choice include your selections in order in case your 1st choice has been claimed.
  • It’s too time consuming to respond to all requests so I will only be emailing the new owner. Claimed and unclaimed books will be updated on the corresponding Mailbox Monday posts and the Read It Forward widget on my blog’s right side bar. Be sure to keep an eye on your spam folder just in case 🙂
  • I will mail to all US and Canadian addresses. If you live overseas I can do two of those a month. If you do live overseas please include that tidbit of information upfront.
  • So that I can spread the wealth I’m asking that you claim a book once every two months. If you’re selected in May please don’t request again until July. So that no one gets selected more than once every two months I’m tracking the new homes on a spreadsheet. And hopefully it will keep me from giving away the same book twice!

** Please be patient with me. Just like you my reading schedule is packed full of good books and reading commitments such as By the Chapter. I will try and remember to let you know when I anticipate mailing a book in the initial email. And I will email again when your post office day comes around. **

***

What books came into your house last week? Don’t forget to leave a link to your Mailbox post or a list of books if you don’t have a blog.

51 Comments
  1. April 19, 2009 7:32 pm

    Happy Monday!!!

    mailbox

  2. April 19, 2009 9:00 pm

    I’d be interested in Outcasts United from 6 APril. Here is my Mailbox Monday posting: http://reneesuz.blogspot.com/2009/04/mailbox-monday.html

  3. April 19, 2009 9:10 pm

    Who Do You Think You Are? I had never heard of before – but I can remember hearing my mom say it to my sister (not me of course – haha) and I am sure that I have said it to my daughters!

    Here is mine.

  4. April 19, 2009 10:00 pm

    It’s books galore for me this week!
    http://www.meexia.com/bookie/2009/04/mailbox-monday-omg-its-books-galore/

  5. April 19, 2009 10:50 pm

    I love your Read it Forward – I have received a wonderful book from you in the past – I think what you are doing is very nice!! 🙂

    Who Do You Think You Are sounds really interesting – I’m really interested in hearing what you think of it. I’ve always kept little things from my life over the years in a little box, always intended to put them in a scrapbook.

    Here’s my Mailbox! ~ Wendi

  6. April 19, 2009 10:53 pm

    I really enjoyed The Crimes of Paris, I hope you like it 🙂
    Here is my Monday post!
    http://bookslovejessicamarie.blogspot.com/2009/04/mailbox-monday_20.html

    I would be interested in The Physick Book of Deliverance Dane.

  7. April 19, 2009 11:00 pm

    Most of those books I haven’t heard of before (except Crimes of Paris). I love reading books about the Middle East. I will have to keep my eyes open for your review of the Tehran novel.

    Here’s my link: http://athomewithbooks.blogspot.com/2009/04/mailbox-monday-april-20.html

  8. April 19, 2009 11:59 pm

    Happy Monday! Rooftops of Tehran and Who Do You Think You Are both look very interesting.
    My post is here:
    http://pageafterpage-kim.blogspot.com/2009/04/mailbox-monday_19.html

  9. April 20, 2009 12:17 am

    You have some pretty deep books again this week – Enjoy them and your read it forward idea is wonderful and so generous

    Here’s my mailbox
    http://teddyree-theeclecticreader.blogspot.com/2009/04/mailbox-monday_20.html

  10. April 20, 2009 12:21 am

    Crimes of Paris.. I think I have tried to get that one some where… Great books.
    I love the read it forward. Thank you for the Charles Grodin book.
    Here is my MM:
    http://acircleofbooks.blogspot.com/2009/04/mailbox-monday.html

  11. April 20, 2009 12:44 am

    Such a lovely idea 🙂 Great books, but I can wait until that special book that I just fall in love with

    My mailbox for the week is up

  12. April 20, 2009 2:38 am

    Wow, I never heard of Haggai Carmon! Is this his (her?) first book? Sounds interesting 🙂 Enjoy your books!

    My mailbox can be found here.

  13. April 20, 2009 4:33 am

    Wow, great books arrived in your mailbox!

    Here’s mine.

  14. April 20, 2009 4:58 am

    My week was a little quieter too!

    http://bookingmama.blogspot.com/2009/04/mailbox-monday-april-20-2009.html

  15. April 20, 2009 5:45 am

    Wow did you hit pay dirt on Saturday! Mine all arrived the latter half of the week too.

    My mailbox is here: http://booknaround.blogspot.com/2009/04/monday-mailbox_20.html

  16. April 20, 2009 5:55 am

    Happy Monday!

    Enjoy all those books. 🙂

    Here is my Mailbox goodies: http://marireads.blogspot.com/2009/04/book-review-drawers-and-booths-by-ara13.html

  17. April 20, 2009 6:07 am

    You had a great week! I have The Crimes of Paris and I’m really looking forward to it. My Mailbox Monday post is here. Thanks, Marcia!

  18. April 20, 2009 6:31 am

    Looks like you had a good week, though. I have Crimes of Paris and hope to start it soon. My Mailbox post is here.

  19. April 20, 2009 6:39 am

    Everything arrived on Saturday!

  20. April 20, 2009 6:46 am

    I haven’t heard of Rooftops of Tehran and Who Do You Think You Are, they both look very interesting. My Mailbox Monday post is HERE.

  21. April 20, 2009 6:47 am

    Your read it forward idea is awesome. I do hoard my Historical fiction books, unlike you. If it’s more of a general fiction I did give to the Library here but I have recently found PaperbackSwap.
    From the list you posted above I think I would enjoy the memoir, by Alyse Meyers. My father died suddenly last November, and we are still dealing with his house and everything that goes with it, emotionally etc. It is sad. I did read The Crimes of Paris, that was surprisingly well-written, I enjoyed it. I loved your comment “the mailman was reading” your books. LOL
    The real reason I am here is I wanted to post my mailbox monday entry! :o) The Burton Review has her post up! Have a great day!

  22. April 20, 2009 7:27 am

    I wish to read Rooftops of Teheran

    I did not receive anything till today!

    http://readingandmorereading.blogspot.com/2009/04/books-i-got-in-mail.html

  23. April 20, 2009 7:44 am

    Marcia: I also got Rooftops of Tehran and Crimes in Paris sounds like a good one.

    here’s my mailbox: http://savvyverseandwit.blogspot.com/2009/04/mailbox-monday-26.html

  24. April 20, 2009 7:49 am

    Fantastic giveaway! I feel exactly like you do. That’s why I run a library. Books should be read and shared. I’m linking your offer for my Little Lov’n Monday feature. Please check it out.

    In My Mailbox

  25. April 20, 2009 8:05 am

    Slow week for me, but exciting nonetheless. :o)

    http://southernsassythings.blogspot.com/2009/04/mailbox-monday_20.html

  26. April 20, 2009 8:09 am

    The Crimes of Paris AND Rooftops of Tehran both looks great! Here is my Mailbox for this week.

    Thanks for the new giveaway idea here – wonderful!

  27. April 20, 2009 8:15 am

    Bad mailman keeping your books like that!

    My mailbox overflowed this week thanks to a some blog contest wins.

  28. April 20, 2009 8:24 am

    This is my first time participating in Mailbox Monday! When I got TWO shipments in ONE day I knew I had to join. Here’s what was in my mailbox:

    http://lustyreader.wordpress.com/2009/04/20/mailbox-monday-april-20/

  29. Carol permalink
    April 20, 2009 9:59 am

    Mine is up, too.

    http://carolsnotebook.wordpress.com/2009/04/20/mailbox-monday-4/

  30. April 20, 2009 10:06 am

    I’ll look for your review of Rooftops of Tehran, it sounds like a gripping read. Enjoy your books! Oh and I love your Read it Forward button! The little girl looks so happy to be reading; like she’s discovered a magical secret…

    My Mailbox

  31. April 20, 2009 11:01 am

    I’m going to be getting The Crimes of Paris too. I won it in a giveaway!

    Here’s my very first Mailbox Monday.

  32. April 20, 2009 11:19 am

    It’s been 4 weeks since I had anything to post for Mailbox Monday! But I finally got some new books last week, so here is my mailbox. Not that I don’t have plenty to read but it was nice to get some bookish mail again.
    Your Read It Forward is so generous! I’d love to read The Crimes of Paris but I’m in Japan unfortunately.

  33. April 20, 2009 11:22 am

    I also received The Crimes of Paris this past week. I love your Read It Forward idea; that’s so generous! I’m interested in Who Do You Think You Are?.

    My Mailbox Monday post is here:
    http://shereadsandreads.blogspot.com/2009/04/mailbox-monday-april-20.html

  34. April 20, 2009 12:05 pm

    Who do you think you are? sounds really good. Never heard of it before.

    I have mine posted you can see it here:

    http://cindysloveofbooks.blogspot.com

    Also you had posted “For the Love of Pete” that looked good too.

  35. April 20, 2009 12:25 pm

    You got quite a few books that I’ve never heard of this week!

    My list is up here.

  36. April 20, 2009 2:38 pm

    Oooh… The Crimes of Paris looks interesting, and I don’t usually read non-fiction.

    Here’s what I received! http://www.bookconfessions.com/?p=1549

  37. April 20, 2009 3:21 pm

    Happy Monday! My Mailbox is here

  38. April 20, 2009 3:46 pm

    I love your Read It Forward idea! so wonderful.

  39. April 20, 2009 5:58 pm

    I actually received a book in the mail this week!

  40. Warren permalink
    April 20, 2009 7:25 pm

    My very first Mailbox Monday!! Only one this week, but better than nothing!

  41. April 20, 2009 10:57 pm

    Look like you have a nice haul Marcia. Here’s mine:

    http://teddyrose.blogspot.com/2009/04/mailbox-monday_20.html

  42. April 21, 2009 2:25 am

    Whoops! I forgot to post my mailbox here. I think the mailman was reading mine too. I also didn’t get anything until Saturday. I didn’t get as many as you did but it was still nice to get some. Your books look really good. You’ve got some heavy duty reading to do now.

    Your Read it Forward idea is a great one! I wish I could do more with contests with my own books but I could never afford the postage to mail them all. How does everyone else do it? Right now I am passing my books on to family and friends and donating some to my local library.

    I hope everyone has a great week! My mailbox is HERE.

  43. April 21, 2009 6:40 am

    I’m late but I’m up. More reviews than books this week.

  44. April 21, 2009 4:31 pm

    My Mailbox is up.

    Crimes of Paris sounds incredibly intriguing and mixes my love of Art, Paris and historical novels into one it sounds like.

  45. April 21, 2009 9:51 pm

    Here is my list of books. Do you think that is enough. After writing mailbox monday I recieved another one by Kate Jacobs called comfort food.

  46. April 24, 2009 6:43 am

    Mailbox Monday on Friday – just a few to report this week, plus a couple that I brought home from the bookstore :-).

Trackbacks

  1. Mailbox Monday: OMG It’s Books Galore! | Books of Mee
  2. Mailbox Monday - April 20, 2009
  3. Mailbox Monday « Carol’s Notebook

Comments are closed.

