Skip to content

Mailbox Monday ~ April 13th

April 12, 2009

sb10067729n-003If you’re new to Mailbox Monday welcome! Thank you to everyone who stops by Mailbox Monday. Whether you comment or visit I appreciate your taking the time to drop in.

Books just seem to keep making their way to my house. Yay!

fortheloveofpeteChick lit/romance ~ For the Love of Pete by Julia Harper (aka Elizabeth Hoyt) (new-to-me author/Hachette) (Claimed by Cindy)

Zoey Addler moved back to Chicago to stay near her sister and take care of her baby niece, Petronella—Pete, for short. Unfortunately Pete’s father is the key witness in a Mob trial, and Tony the Rose decides to exert some pressure by having Pete kidnapped. Luckily, Zoey’s upstairs neighbor Dante (or Lips of Sin, as she calls him) is an undercover FBI agent. Zoey and Dante chase the kidnapper across the city until the kidnapper’s baby and Pete are accidentally snatched by two bumbling Indian aunts who are trying to track down their illegally imported saffron. Zoey, Dante, and the Indian ladies take a journey from the top of the state to the bottom, and amid all the gunfights and federal business, Zoey and Dante discover they might be drawn together by more than just the need to get Pete home safe and sound.

thewishmakerFiction ~ The Wish Maker by Ali Sethi (new-to-me author/Shelf Awareness) (Claimed by Staci)

The unforgettable story of a fatherless boy growing up in a household of outspoken women, The Wish Maker is also a tale of sacrifice, betrayal, and indestructible friendship. Zaki Shirazi and his female cousin Samar Api were raised to consider themselves “part of the same litter.” Together they watched American television and memorized dialogue from Bollywood movies, attended dangerous protests, and formed secret friendships. In a household run by Zaki’s crusading political journalist mother and iron-willed grandmother, it was impossible to imagine a future that could hold anything different for either of them.

aluckychildMemoir ~ A Lucky Child: A Memoir of Surviving Auschwitz as a Young Boy by Thomas Buergenthal (new-to-me author/Hachette) (Claimed by Melanie)

You think you’ve heard it all: the roundups, deportations, transports, selections, hard labor, death camps (“That was the last time I saw my father”), crematoriums, and the rare miracle of survival. But this one is different. The clear, nonhectoring prose makes Buergenthal’s personal story––and the enduring ethical questions it prompts––the stuff of a fast, gripping read. Five years old in Czechoslovakia at the start of World War II, Buergenthal remembers being crowded into the ghetto and then, in 1944, feeling “lucky” to escape the gas chambers and get into Auschwitz, where he witnessed daily hangings and beatings, but with the help of a few adults, managed to survive. In a postwar orphanage, he learned to read and write but never received any mail, until in a heartrending climax, his mother finds him. In 1952, he immigrated to the U.S., and now, as human-rights lawyer, professor, and international judge, his childhood’s moral issues are rooted in his daily life, his tattooed number a reminder not so much of the past as of his obligation, as witness and survivor, to fight bigotry today.

thephysickbookofdeliverancedaneHistorical/contemporary fiction ~ The Physick Book of Deliverance Dane by Katherine Howe (new-to-me author/Every Woman’s Voice) (Claimed by Jessica)

Harvard graduate student Connie Goodwin needs to spend her summer doing research for her doctoral dissertation. But when her mother asks her to handle the sale of Connie’s grandmother’s abandoned home near Salem, she can’t refuse. As she is drawn deeper into the mysteries of the family house, Connie discovers an ancient key within a seventeenth-century Bible. The key contains a yellowing fragment of parchment with a name written upon it: Deliverance Dane. This discovery launches Connie on a quest–to find out who this woman was and to unearth a rare artifact of singular power: a physick book, its pages a secret repository for lost knowledge.

As the pieces of Deliverance’s harrowing story begin to fall into place, Connie is haunted by visions of the long-ago witch trials, and she begins to fear that she is more tied to Salem’s dark past then she could have ever imagined.

thedeadmanSuspense/thriller ~ The Dead Man by Joel Goldman (new-to-me author/Authors on the Web)

Careful What You Dream. Milo Harper wants former FBI agent Jack Davis’ help. People in Harper’s study of the human brain are starting to die – and dying exactly in the very ways they have dreamed…Harper wants Jack to get to the truth and counter lawsuits aimed at the foundation. But when Jack investigates, the truth explodes: a serial killer is lurking inside one of the most advanced research facilities in the world. For Jack, the case will shatter illusions, raise ghosts, and take him onto both sides of the law – and into the path of a murderer’s terrifying rage.

royalbloodHistorical fiction ~ Royal Blood by Rona Sharon (new-to-me author/FSB Associates) (Claimed by Mari)

In the Tudor Court of 1518, your friends and enemies can be one and the same…During the annual celebration of the Order of the Garter, Sir Michael Devereaux arrives in King Henry VIII’s court on a mission for his benefactor. The celebration’s endless feats and sumptuous women delight the charismatic newcomer, who becomes captivated by the enigmatic Princess Renee of France. But evil, it seems, has followed Michael to the court. Shortly after his arrival, an unknown killer claims several victims, including the Queen’s lady-in-waiting, and the powerful Cardinal Wolsey asks Michael to help with the investigation. As he searches for the killer, Michael is haunted by disturbing images of the victims – flashes of violence that lead him to doubt his own sanity. Michael soon realizes that the key to solving the crime is connected to both the Pope’s Imperial vault in Rome and a mystery from Michael’s own past – revealing a secret that is so damning, it could forever alter the future of mankind.

pickingcottonMemoir ~ Picking Cotton: Our Memoir of Injustice and Redemption by Jennifer Thompson-Cannino, Ronald Cotton, and Erin Torneo (new-to-me author/Authors on the Web) (Claimed by Kristi)

Jennifer Thompson was raped at knifepoint by a man who broke into her apartment while she slept. She was able to escape, and eventually positively identified Ronald Cotton as her attacker. Ronald insisted that she was mistaken– but Jennifer’s positive identification was the compelling evidence that put him behind bars. After eleven years, Ronald was allowed to take a DNA test that proved his innocence. He was released, after serving more than a decade in prison for a crime he never committed. Two years later, Jennifer and Ronald met face to face– and forged an unlikely friendship that changed both of their lives.
In their own words, Jennifer and Ronald unfold the harrowing details of their tragedy, and challenge our ideas of memory and judgment while demonstrating the profound nature of human grace and the healing power of forgiveness.

***

What books came into your house last week? Don’t forget to leave a link to your Mailbox post or a list of books if you don’t have a blog.

59 Comments
  1. April 12, 2009 7:21 pm

    Wow you did well this week, I’m waiting on a copy of Royal Blood & I’ve heard good things about The Physick Book Of Deliverance Dane. Looking forward to reading your reviews.

    Here’s my mailbox
    http://teddyree-theeclecticreader.blogspot.com/2009/04/mailbox-monday.html

  2. April 12, 2009 8:14 pm

    Royal Blood looks great. Enjoy all your books. 🙂

    Here is my post:

    http://marireads.blogspot.com/2009/04/its-mailbox-monday-time.html

  3. April 12, 2009 8:33 pm

    You got some great reads.

    Mailbox

  4. April 12, 2009 9:20 pm

    I read For the Love of Pete and will be interested to see what you thought of it! Picking Cotton sounds like a good book and one that I think I will need to look for. My list of books this week is here.

  5. April 12, 2009 10:09 pm

    You had a really nice week Marcia! 🙂 I received The Wish Maker as well.

    Here’s my Mailbox! ~ Wendi

  6. April 12, 2009 10:48 pm

    My mailbox monday post: http://www.meexia.com/bookie/2009/04/sunday-salon-and-mailbox-monday/ (I only got 1 book though)

  7. April 12, 2009 11:05 pm

    Looks good! Mine is up. http://rannthisthat.blogspot.com

  8. April 13, 2009 1:28 am

    I got The Wish Maker too! Here’s my post: http://athomewithbooks.blogspot.com/2009/04/mailbox-monday-april-13.html

  9. April 13, 2009 1:50 am

    Royal Blood is looking good, vampires in Tudot England 🙂 And I have seen Howe around, surely a great read.

    My mailbox is up too 🙂
    Mail

  10. April 13, 2009 2:55 am

    Those look like great books. Lucky you!

    After the prevoious week’s drought I received two books last week:

    http://readingandmorereading.blogspot.com/2009/04/mailed-to-me-books.html

  11. April 13, 2009 3:29 am

    Wow, that’s quite a variety! They all sound good. My mailbox is HERE. I hope everyone had a nice Easter!

  12. April 13, 2009 5:21 am

    I really enjoyed PICKING COTTON!

    Here’s mine: http://bookingmama.blogspot.com/2009/04/mailbox-monday-april-13-2009.html

  13. April 13, 2009 5:25 am

    Great list!

    Here’s my Mailbox.

  14. April 13, 2009 5:36 am

    I can’t wait to see what you think of Picking Cotton. My Mailbox Monday post is up.

  15. April 13, 2009 6:07 am

    It’s been a while since I posted a Mailbox Monday. But last week I received two Virago Modern Classics for my collection. Here’s my post.

  16. April 13, 2009 6:09 am

    I decided that starting next week I’m going to participate in Mailbox Monday. I would have started this week but I have no memory of which books arrived in the past week. I’m enjoying seeing what others are reading

  17. April 13, 2009 6:18 am

    A Lucky Child is in my TBR pile. It sounds like a good one. Enjoy your new books.

    My mailbox post is here:

    http://diaryofaneccentric.blogspot.com/2009/04/mailbox-monday-april-13.html

    –Anna

  18. April 13, 2009 6:27 am

    You can find mine here!

  19. April 13, 2009 6:33 am

    Mine is up!

  20. Kaye permalink
    April 13, 2009 6:37 am

    I just loved The Physick Book of Deliverance Dane. Once I started it, I couldn’t put it down.Hope you enjoy it!

    My mailbox is here

  21. April 13, 2009 6:38 am

    There we go, forgettful as ever *sigh* I am curious to hear more about For The Love Of Pete and A Lucky Child.
    Kathrin

  22. April 13, 2009 6:50 am

    I have the Lucky Child in my TBR pile as well. Looks like you got a bunch of other great books too. Happy Reading.

    Here’s my mailbox: http://savvyverseandwit.blogspot.com/2009/04/mailbox-monday-25.html

  23. April 13, 2009 7:04 am

    You got some good ones! I got The Wish Maker and just finished reading Katherine Howe’s book. Here is my mailbox for this week.

  24. April 13, 2009 7:09 am

    A few books made their way to me last week. My list is here.

  25. April 13, 2009 7:23 am

    You got a bundle this week, didn’t you?! Color me jealous. I got The Wish Maker too. Looks fascinating, doesn’t it? My mailbox is here: http://booknaround.blogspot.com/2009/04/mailbox-monday.html and includes a link to a few giveaways, because everyone should have a chance to participate in your wonderful Mailbiox Mondays! 🙂

  26. April 13, 2009 7:26 am

    I got The Wish Maker this week as well.

    My Mailbox is HERE.

  27. Missy permalink
    April 13, 2009 7:40 am

    Mine are up!

    http://missysbooknook.blogspot.com

  28. April 13, 2009 8:05 am

    I had a good week.

  29. April 13, 2009 8:07 am

    Wish Maker sounds interesting. Would love to read your review.

  30. April 13, 2009 8:37 am

    Your list looks great!! I want to read several of them!!!

    Here’s what I got this past week:

    http://lifeinthethumb.blogspot.com/2009/04/mailbox-monday-april-13.html

  31. April 13, 2009 8:50 am

    I had a great week thanks to my mailbox!

    http://southernsassythings.blogspot.com/2009/04/mailbox-monday.html

  32. April 13, 2009 9:11 am

    Good ones again this week Marcia. As you know I’m drooling over the Deliverance-lol. I did put my name in for Picking Cotton so we’ll see. My books are beginning to push me out of my house. Anyhow, here’s mine for the last few weeks. Sorry.

    http://peekingbetweenthepages.blogspot.com/2009/04/mailbox-monday-april-13_13.html

  33. April 13, 2009 9:13 am

    I share one of your books..
    My embarassing haul is up
    at The Burton Review..

    (*blushes, smiles slyly)

  34. April 13, 2009 9:18 am

    I got two of these. My Mailbox is up.

  35. April 13, 2009 10:27 am

    I’m supposed to be receiving “Deliverance Dane,” too. It’s been getting a lot of notice lately – sounds good. Here’s my very first Mailbox Monday post!

    http://jlshall.blogspot.com/2009/04/mailbox-monday-and-its-monday-what-are.html

  36. April 13, 2009 10:48 am

    I’m going to be reading A Lucky Child soon too! Here’s my mailbox post.

  37. April 13, 2009 11:20 am

    Happy Monday!

    Here is mine: http://mindingspot.blogspot.com/2009/04/mailbox-monday.html

  38. April 13, 2009 11:57 am

    What a great list of books. Lucky Child looks intriguing – I have a thing for Holocaust literature. We just got Picking Cotton here at the library and all ready have several reserves on it, so I’ll have to get my nmae on the list. I got a couple of books at my house. http://mholles.blogspot.com/2009/04/mailbox-monday-april-13-2009.html

  39. April 13, 2009 12:15 pm

    Here’s my mailbox post. I’m going to try and be more consistent with these but I’ll likely be adding my links on Tuesdays.

  40. Carol permalink
    April 13, 2009 12:18 pm

    Great list. Mine’s up, too.
    http://carolsnotebook.wordpress.com/2009/04/13/mailbox-monday-3/

  41. krin permalink
    April 13, 2009 12:26 pm

    Here’s my post:

    http://krinek.blogspot.com/2009/04/mailbox-monday-april-13th.html

  42. April 13, 2009 12:49 pm

    You got some great-sounding books this week! My MM post is here:
    http://shereadsandreads.blogspot.com/2009/04/mailbox-monday-april-13.html

  43. April 13, 2009 1:07 pm

    Nice books!
    I only got one book this week but thats okay because I have been waiting on it 😉
    http://bookslovejessicamarie.blogspot.com/2009/04/mailbox-monday.html

  44. April 13, 2009 2:30 pm

    Finally got mine up, here.

  45. April 13, 2009 2:34 pm

    THE WISH MAKER is on my TBR, and A LUCKY CHILD is on the wish list!

    I had an interesting assortment of books this week, and all different ways of coming into the house (purchases, gifts, winnings, etc.)!

    My Mailbox Monday is here

  46. April 13, 2009 3:21 pm

    My Mailbox is here

  47. April 13, 2009 5:43 pm

    Royal Blood is a must read.

    Here’s mine:

    http://thebookresort.blogspot.com/2009/04/i-love-mail.html

  48. April 14, 2009 8:09 am

    You got some really good books last week. I am waiting to see if i get the second book. I have been eyeing the first one for a little while now. Its on my TB list

    My mailbox is up:

    http://cindysloveofbooks.blogspot.com/2009/04/blog-post.html

    • April 20, 2009 12:02 pm

      For the love of Pete looks really good. Its been on my rador for awhile now and last week you posted the Outcasts that looked good too.

      Great idea you have to give away your books. I do that too.

  49. April 14, 2009 8:58 pm

    I have been redeeming all the free books for my Sony Reader. The list is here.

  50. April 15, 2009 12:12 pm

    I’m sorry I’m just now getting around to commenting so here is my stash! http://boosbookshelf.blogspot.com/2009/04/mailbox-mondayserr-mailbox-tuesdays.html I’ve actually gotten these in the last couple weeks and Wanted to share. I’m going to be MIA for awhile but will still be blogging about my book finds and my monday mailbox so feel free to check my site out. I’m fairly new at the book blogging world so bare with me. I’m planning on having some reviews up soon.

  51. April 17, 2009 7:04 am

    Mailbox Monday on Friday – just a few things to share this week :-).

  52. April 21, 2009 10:12 pm

    I just left a comment on your blog for the week of 4/19th. If I understand you.
    If we like one of the books you recieve we are to leave a comment of which book. I have been eyeing, Lucky Child. Thank you . It is a nice and generous idea to give books to recycle to other bloggers and readers that contribute to your mailbox monday.

Trackbacks

  1. Mailbox Monday - April 13, 2009
  2. Mailbox Monday « Carol’s Notebook

Comments are closed.

