Skip to content

Cover Attraction ~ April 8th

April 8, 2009

I’m a very visual person and love beautiful, or interesting, cover art. It entices, and invites, me to stop and take a peek instead of walking right on by. This week’s Cover Attraction is:

Title: In the Courts of the Sun
Author: Brian D’Amato
Release date: March ’09
inthecourtsofthesun

From Fantastic Fiction:
A mind-bending, time-bending, zeitgeist-defining novel about the days leading up to December 21, 2012 – the day the Maya predicted the world would end 

December 21, 2012. The day time stops. Jed DeLanda, a descendant of the Maya living in the year 2012, is a math prodigy who spends his time playing Go against his computer and raking in profits from online trading. (His secret weapon? A Mayan divination game – once used for predicting corn-harvest cycles, now proving very useful in predicting corn futures – that his mother taught him.) But Jed’s life is thrown into chaos when his former mentor, the game theorist Taro, and a mysterious woman named Marena Park, invite him to give his opinion on a newly discovered Mayan codex.

Marena and Taro are looking for a volunteer to travel back to 664 AD to learn more about a ‘sacrifice game’ described in the codex. Jed leaps at the chance, and soon scientists are replicating his brain waves and sending them through a wormhole, straight into the mind of a Mayan king.

Only something goes wrong. Instead of becoming a king, Jed arrives inside a ballplayer named Chacal who is seconds away from throwing himself down the temple steps as a human sacrifice. If Jed can live through the next few minutes, he might just save the world.

For the past several years my hubby and I have vacationed in the Mexican Riviera area. We’ve became fascinated with the Mayan civilization and have had the opportunity to visit a couple of preserved ruins such as Chichen Itza and Coba. We’ve even have our wedding date translated into the Mayan calendar format. It’s a beautiful piece of art but impossible to read. So it comes as no surprise that this cover and plot line caught my attention and instantly went on the wish list.

And as a added bonus I absolutely couldn’t resist including a cover tribute to the late Paul Newman.
Title: Paul Newman: A Life
Author: Shawn Levy
Release date: May ’09
paulnewman1

From Amazon:
Paul Newman, the Oscar-winning actor with the legendary blue eyes, achieved superstar status by playing charismatic renegades, broken heroes, and winsome antiheroes in such revered films as The Hustler, Cool Hand Luke, Butch Cassidy and the Sundance Kid, The Verdict, The Color of Money, and Nobody’s Fool. But Newman was also an oddity in Hollywood: the rare box-office titan who cared about the craft of acting, the sexy leading man known for the staying power of his marriage, and the humble celebrity who made philanthropy his calling card long before it was cool.

The son of a successful entrepreneur, Newman grew up in a prosperous Cleveland suburb. Despite fears that he would fail to live up to his father’s expectations, Newman bypassed the family sporting goods business to pursue an acting career. After struggling as a theater and television actor, Newman saw his star rise in a tragic twist of fate, landing the role of boxer Rocky Graziano in Somebody Up There Likes Me when James Dean was killed in a car accident. Though he would joke about instances of “Newman’s luck” throughout his career, he refused to coast on his stunning boyish looks and impish charm. Part of the original Actors Studio generation, Newman demanded a high level of rigor and clarity from every project. The artistic battles that nearly derailed his early movie career would pay off handsomely at the box office and earn him critical acclaim.

He applied that tenacity to every endeavor both on and off the set. The outspoken Newman used his celebrity to call attention to political causes dear to his heart, including civil rights and nuclear proliferation. Taking up auto racing in midlife, Newman became the oldest driver to ever win a major professional auto race. A food enthusiast who would dress his own salads in restaurants, he launched the Newman’s Own brand dedicated to fresh ingredients, a nonprofit juggernaut that has generated more than $250 million for charity.

♦♦♦

What’s your favorite cover attraction this week? Don’t forget to leave a link to your Cover Attraction post.

33 Comments
  1. April 8, 2009 12:13 am

    Hi Marcia, my cover attraction is here

  2. April 8, 2009 12:57 am

    Here’s mine. 🙂

  3. April 8, 2009 2:12 am

    Love the cover! There is so much detail to look at. Your Mexican vacation sounds amazing. I can see why the Mayan civilization would hold so much interest. Thanks for hosting this meme. My cover is HERE.

    • April 10, 2009 2:28 pm

      As soon as I saw the Mayan temple I knew what my Cover Attraction would be for this week.

  4. April 8, 2009 2:26 am

    I posted the cover of a forgotten book:

    A Walk i the Hills of the Dreamtime

  5. April 8, 2009 6:02 am

    I have to say the Paul Newman cover really blows me away. I feel like crying all over again for his loss to us. He was soooo macho and handsome, all that.

    • April 10, 2009 2:27 pm

      One look at the Paul Newman cover and I just knew it would be making this week’s post.

  6. April 8, 2009 6:04 am

    Wendy, your cover art is beautiful. Nothing like the bonding of mother and daughter while reading together. So beautiful. It took my breath away.

  7. April 8, 2009 6:07 am

    Melody,

    I love your cover art too. It looks so comfy, cozy , where everyone would be a friend and passionate about gardens, books, music, etc. I would like to read this one. I like books with the word “garden” in the title. Now to find my cover art.

  8. April 8, 2009 6:37 am

    I’m having a trouble to linking my cover art. Any suggestions? To put it bluntly, I don’t know how to do it. (tears)

  9. April 8, 2009 6:48 am

    Finally, I made a link. It might seem lopsided. I really tried hard. Here is my cover art.

    Right as Rainhttp://ilovelovebooks.blogspot.com

  10. April 8, 2009 6:50 am

    Cover Art
    http://ilovelovebooks.blogspot.com

    This is going to work. I’m sure. Please don’t be angry with me. I’m learning.

  11. April 8, 2009 6:52 am

    Cover Art
    http://ilovelovebooks.blogspot.com

  12. April 8, 2009 7:19 am

    What a great cover on that courts of the sun book! very eye-catching!

    • April 10, 2009 2:29 pm

      The time clock and Mayan temple instantly caught my attention.

  13. April 8, 2009 8:02 am

    In The Courts of the Sun sounds so good and that is a great cover – I’m going to have to read that.

    My entry for the week is here.

    • April 10, 2009 2:32 pm

      You’ll probably beat me to reading it as I’m thinking I’ll save it for our Mexican vacation coming up in December. 🙂

  14. April 8, 2009 8:41 am

    Nice picture of Paul, there!

    Here’s my link. http://www.myfriendamysblog.com/2009/04/waiting-on-wednesday-and-cover.html

    • April 10, 2009 2:33 pm

      Not only was he a beautiful individual to look at but he was truly beautiful deep down where it counts.

  15. April 8, 2009 10:50 am

    What an amazing choice of photo for the Paul Newman bio. I believe it’s from my favorite Newman movie Cool Hand Luke. Definitely be keeping a lookout for that book.

    • April 10, 2009 2:36 pm

      I the hope the bio lives up to the amazing cover. Truly an eye-catching shot of Mr. Newman.

  16. April 8, 2009 3:51 pm

    Marcia: Wonderful picture of Paul, so sad he won’t be gracing the silver screen anymore. In the Courts of the Sun — could a title and cover fit each other more perfectly?!

    Blogger was giving me grief earlier but I finally was able to edit — my cover attraction for this week is here.

    • April 10, 2009 2:38 pm

      Just from looking at the cover of In the Courts of the Sun lets me know what going on inside.

  17. April 8, 2009 3:53 pm

    Not my day I guess … let’s try it this way then: http://aseasontoread.blogspot.com/2009/04/cover-attraction.html

  18. April 8, 2009 8:50 pm

    Paul Newman was so incredibly handsome and generous. I hope his legacy will continue on. Great photo!

    • April 10, 2009 2:41 pm

      There aren’t many today that can match him in looks and generosity.

  19. April 9, 2009 12:40 am

    Mine is up. Late. But up. 🙂
    http://pageafterpage-kim.blogspot.com/2009/04/cover-attraction.html

  20. April 9, 2009 6:26 am

    Late comment, In The Courts of The Sun is a very striking cover. It makes me want to open the book and read. Thanks.

    • April 10, 2009 2:42 pm

      Me too but I’m waiting for my December Mexican vacation.

  21. April 9, 2009 8:55 am

    That’s a cool cover Marcia especially with your connection to the concept. I got mine up a day late–sorry.

    http://peekingbetweenthepages.blogspot.com/2009/04/cover-attraction-april-8.html

    • April 10, 2009 2:45 pm

      I can’t always go for the beautiful ‘art’ covers. Changing things up some this week.

  22. April 9, 2009 1:44 pm

    Love the cover!!!

  23. April 10, 2009 2:43 pm

    It makes me want to leave for vacation (Mexico) right now and it’s only April! December is a long way off.

Comments are closed.

