Skip to content

Cover Attraction ~ April 1st

April 1, 2009

I’m a very visual person and love beautiful, or interesting, cover art. It entices, and invites, me to stop and take a peek instead of walking right on by. This week’s Cover Attraction is:

thesacredbloodTitle: The Sacred Blood: A Novel
Author: Michael Byrnes
Release date: April ’09

From Fantastic Fiction:
The dust has barely settled in the Holy Land after a terrible raid on Temple Mount when a group of archaeologists in the Judean desert stumble upon a secret room inside a cave. Its walls are covered in Egyptian hieroglyphs and other symbols, including the curious image of a dolphin wrapped around a trident. There they discover an old clay jar, also bearing this unusual symbol, and containing ancient scrolls…Meanwhile, a covert and ruthless sect called The Sons of Light are planning to turn the world upside down but they can’t do it alone. They need a very specific strain of DNA – the DNA from a human skeleton, 2,000 years old, stolen from beneath Temple Mount. When they discover that American scientist Charlotte Hennesy actually shares this DNA, the race begins to kidnap the girl and prepare for the final battle.thesacredblood2

Same book, different covers as often happens with US and foreign releases. I pick my covers at Fantastic Fiction is which is a UK based site. I love FF and browse it often. Because it’s a UK site more often than not I’m posting covers that are released outside the US and most times I find I perfer the cover on the foreign release. This week the cover up and to the right is the foreign release and the cover to the left the is US cover. I like elments from both covers. Combine the two and I might have the perfect book cover.

The plot line of this book made it an instant wish list selection along with his first book, The Sacred Bones.

♦♦♦

What’s your favorite cover attraction this week? Don’t forget to leave a link to your Cover Attraction post.

12 Comments
  1. April 1, 2009 2:14 am

    Both covers are attractive in its own way!

    Here’s mine. 🙂

  2. Kaye permalink
    April 1, 2009 6:24 am

    I like the cover with the dolphin. We took a city tour in Charleston and also in Savannah,so I can’t remember which city it was, but some of the houses in the historic district had dolphin downspouts and there was some superstition surrounding the use of them. Either they were considered just good luck or they kept away evil spirits. I wish I could remember precisely. It’s a stinker to get old and start forgetting all this stuff. Anyway, here are my covers

  3. April 1, 2009 7:53 am

    I like when covers are attractive, especially if I’m just browsing in a book store…it helps draw me in to particular titles.

  4. April 1, 2009 8:52 am

    I like both covers too Marcia. Mine is up here:
    http://peekingbetweenthepages.blogspot.com/2009/03/cover-attraction-april-1.html

  5. April 1, 2009 10:01 am

    Very interesting covers! They really draw you in.

    Here is mine.

  6. April 1, 2009 9:00 pm

    I love covers! I often pick up a book because I like the looks of it. I might not get it but I will notice it. I never seen either of those covers but they look very old world and interesting.

  7. April 1, 2009 9:04 pm

    Whoops! Here’s MINE.

  8. April 2, 2009 7:49 am

    I find the US cover more suggestive of a thriller; both have qualities I like.

    Mine can be found here.

  9. April 3, 2009 5:28 pm

    Ugh! There are days when Blogger commenting and I just don’t get along and I guess today is one of those days. I can see the covers I just can’t tell you how beautiful, intriguing, or interesting they are. Sorry!!!!

  10. April 5, 2009 3:11 am

    I have enjoyed your blog, and I love Mailbox Mondays 🙂
    So here is for you another award, and you do desrve them all.

    Premio

  11. April 6, 2009 6:57 am

    Good bunch of books — here’s my link: http://bookingmama.blogspot.com/2009/04/mailbox-monday-april-6-2009.html

Comments are closed.

