Skip to content

Pondering the pages ~ BoneMan’s Daughters by Ted Dekker

March 25, 2009

Today’s pondering:

bonemansdaughters1 Wow!

I had a few spare moments of uncommitted reading time so I picked up Boneman’s Daughther by Ted Dekker. This is the first Ted Dekker novel I’ve read and it won’t be the last. I’m officially a big fan of this man’s work after reading one book. From the first page I was hooked. If you want heart clutching, powerful, edge of your seat suspense look no farther than this author. I’m fairly tough on the books I read and don’t give many books high marks. It’s rare that I rate a book more than average. But this book, oh man, it gets those high marks, five stars all the way. The first night I read a 140 pages and didn’t want to stop but it was 1AM and I headed off to bed for some much needed shuteye. That is if I’d be able to sleep at all. It’s a good thing stories like this don’t haunt my dreams otherwise I’d have been up all night. This is not a book for the faint hearted. I have a pretty high tolerance level for unsettling story lines but even I squirmed occasionally as things heated up.

Normally I might not have picked up Mr. Dekker’s work because he work has been labeled Christian fiction. Labeling fiction Christian isn’t good or bad it simply is. The reason I usually shy away is because it can become too preachy for my tastes. I’m so glad I made an exception to the rule for Mr. Dekker. You won’t find any preaching here just good, solid storytelling. Yes the forces of good and evil are at work continually battling one another but that’s to be expected when one of your lead characters has a God complex and another lead character believes he will do anything to save the child he so desperately loves.

The action builds, your heart is hammering in your chest and, at times, the outcome is in doubt. Every corner you turn leads you into another living hell. You struggle with hidden agendas and moral beliefs. Could you, would you do everything within your power to save others? Do you choose to commit atrocious acts of violence in order that right prevails in the end? I’m not telling. You need to read the BoneMan’s Daughters and find out for yourself.

If you love well written, engrossing suspense novels with an edge to them I highly suggest you check out Mr. Dekker’s novels. I know I will be.

***

***

A good book should leave you…slightly exhausted at the end. You live several lives while reading it.
~William Styron, interview, Writers at Work, 1958

***

26 Comments
  1. March 25, 2009 1:09 pm

    I was just going to start this one sometime today. You’re making me really anxious to get to it now. I’m definitely in the mood for some edge of my seat suspense.

    • March 27, 2009 9:21 am

      This is book to read if you’re looking for some really good suspense. Enjoy!

  2. March 25, 2009 3:16 pm

    Yes, I have’t really read any Christian fiction, but this one seems like a good one to start with. Good review.

    • March 27, 2009 9:21 am

      Thank you. I haven’t either but this was a very good introduction to the genre.

  3. March 25, 2009 3:59 pm

    I’ve never read any of Ted Dekker’s work either, but I’m anxious to read this one. I can read some pretty graphic scenes that I could never stand to watch.

    • March 27, 2009 9:26 am

      Same as you I can read pretty graphic scenes that I’d never be able to watch. Take Nicholas Cage’s new movie Knowing. There were a couple of scenes in that movie that I couldn’t stomach and had to close my eyes for. Yet if they’d been part of a written storyline I’d have been fine. Easier to handle when it’s not quite so visual.

  4. March 25, 2009 4:56 pm

    I am getting this book soon and I’m looking forward to it. It’s interesting that you posted about Christian fiction today, because I did, too! We both feel the same way. Jane Austin Ruined My Life wasn’t preachy, either. I can’t wait to get this book! Thanks for the great review!

    • March 27, 2009 9:27 am

      Thank you. Actually this has prompted me to conduct a bit of an experiment and then write my perspective. It’s coming soon.

  5. March 25, 2009 5:36 pm

    Thanks for the write up on this Marcia. I tend to avoid fiction labeled Christian … and I’m a Christian! This one sounds like a book I would really like to read.

    • March 27, 2009 9:28 am

      You’re welcome. It’s a very good suspense/thriller with analogies of good/evil thrown into the mix. Nothing heavy-handed just thought provoking in a general way.

  6. March 25, 2009 6:40 pm

    I’ve not read anything by this author but I want to get this book now after reading your review!

    • March 27, 2009 9:30 am

      I’d heard very good things about his work before picking up the book which intrigued me. It most certainly was a satisfying read and a good introduction to his suspense/thriller novels.

  7. March 25, 2009 7:28 pm

    I’ve read this one too!! I really enjoyed it. I will post my review on Monday.

  8. March 25, 2009 8:31 pm

    I understand what you mean by Christian Fiction, but wow. Love this. Thank you.

    • March 27, 2009 9:31 am

      It’s headed your way. 🙂 Now I’m waiting to see if you’ll enjoy as much as I did. Enjoy!

  9. March 25, 2009 9:27 pm

    Yay, I’m so glad you liked it! I like a lot of Dekker’s stuff including his more overtly Christian series, the Circle Trilogy b/c it kind of changed my life a little. 🙂

    I have this to read and can’t wait!

    • March 27, 2009 9:33 am

      I can’t say that I’ll enjoy all his work. Mostly I was thinking about his fantasy work but I’m willing to give most anything a try once.

  10. March 26, 2009 8:51 am

    You’d think with having nightmares after reading ‘Carrie’, I would have learned my lesson. Years later though, I went on to read a Dean Kontz novel. I can’t remember the title but I sure wish I could forget the story that still haunts my dreams on occasion. Happy to hear ‘Boneman’s Daughter’ was a read you could rave about but I’m afraid it sounds like one I should probably avoid.

    • March 27, 2009 9:37 am

      Admittedly you have to have a strong stomach and nerves of steel to read these types of novels. This genre isn’t for everyone. I’m a big fan of Dean Koontz’s classic novels and have thought lately about re-reading some of them which I almost never do. There’s plenty out there to choose from so you won’t be lacking for good reading selections.

  11. March 26, 2009 8:33 pm

    I’ve not read any of Ted Dekker’s books but you have my interest piqued now after reading your wonderful review! Very thought provoking discussion about Christian Fiction. I don’t read that much as well for similar reasons and I am a Christian. I think that I may need to keep more of an open mind.

    BTW, I’ve given you an award for all that you do supporting Mailbox Monday! Check out the details on my blog.

    • March 27, 2009 9:43 am

      Thank you for the award. I’ll be stopping by today and picking it up. I always try to keep an open mind before starting a genre that, frankly, I’m leery of. In this case it was a good choice for me.

  12. March 27, 2009 10:02 am

    I read my first Dekker last year, and I’m hooked. I’ve already got this one on hold at the library!

    • March 27, 2009 10:31 am

      So which one did you read? I gotta know! 🙂

  13. March 29, 2009 4:15 pm

    I’ve tried to read Dekker in the past, and couldn’t get through the one that I tried. Maybe I should attempt him again with this one… your review definitely intrigued me! Thanks.

    • March 30, 2009 12:12 am

      As I’ve only read the one book I could be biased right now. I say ‘go for it’ if you’re inclined to give an author another try.

Trackbacks

  1. Pondering the pages ~ Faith-based fiction: is it for me or not? and what about you? «

Comments are closed.

