Skip to content

Cover Attraction ~ March 25th

March 25, 2009

I’m a very visual person and love beautiful, or interesting, cover art. It entices, and invites, me to stop and take a peek instead of walking right on by. This week’s Cover Attraction is:

stilllifeTitle: Still Life
Author: Joy Fielding
Release date: March ’09

From Fantastic Fiction:
Beautiful, happily married, and the owner of a successful interior design business, Casey Marshall couldn’t be more content with her life until a car slams into her at almost fifty miles an hour, breaking nearly every bone in her body, and plunging her into a coma. Lying in her hospital bed, Casey realizes that although she is unable to see or communicate, she can hear everything. She quickly discovers that her friends aren’t necessarily the people she thought them to be–and that her accident might not have been an accident at all. As she struggles to break free from her living death, she begins to wonder if what lies ahead could be even worse.

***

Besides finding black and white images beautiful for their starkness this one caught my eye because the woman’s features are concealed in darkness. It speaks to me of deep mystery and closely guarded secrets. I haven’t read a Joy Fielding novel in quite a while but I think that is about to change.

***

What’s your favorite cover attraction this week? Don’t forget to leave a link to your Cover Attraction post.

17 Comments
  1. March 25, 2009 12:29 am

    Simple yet eye-catching!
    Here’s mine.

  2. March 25, 2009 2:08 am

    Hmm…. this is really odd. That is the exact same book cover (except the typeset) as Natasha Mostert’s new book The KEEPER of LIGHT and DUST. Makes me say “hmmmm….”

  3. March 25, 2009 7:53 am

    Wow, mine is black and white too! No, it’s not a penguin cover. Lol!

    Here’s my cover

  4. March 25, 2009 8:38 am

    Very eye-catching Marcia! Mine is up….

    http://pageafterpage-kim.blogspot.com/2009/03/cover-attraction-march-25.html

    Happy Wednesday everyone

  5. March 25, 2009 12:48 pm

    Is that a new header? It looks fantastic. I think that book cover is kind of eerie.

    • March 27, 2009 9:58 am

      Thank you. It is a new header and a new color scheme. It’s really cheap, like free :-), to make changes and this template lets me play around a bit. Don’t be surprised if the next time you stop in it’s changed again.

  6. March 25, 2009 1:13 pm

    I’m just reading that now Marcia. I love Joy Fielding. It’s yours when I’m done if you like. My cover attraction is here:

    http://peekingbetweenthepages.blogspot.com/2009/03/cover-attraction-march-25.html

    • March 27, 2009 9:59 am

      Gosh how can I turn down an offer like that. 🙂 Hmmmm let me think about … yes please.

  7. fleurfisher permalink
    March 25, 2009 2:44 pm

    That cover certainly would have caught my eye. Simplicity done well is absolutely wonderful.

    My cover attraction is here:

    http://fleurfisher.wordpress.com/2009/03/25/cover-attraction-2/

  8. March 25, 2009 7:04 pm

    I love that cover! It’s intriguing, for sure!

    Here’s mine!

  9. March 25, 2009 8:32 pm

    Definitely catches the eye.

  10. March 26, 2009 8:14 am

    The lines are exquisite, art students would love “her”!

    My Cover Attraction can be found here

  11. March 26, 2009 9:57 pm

    Not only is a really cool cover…its a really good book. I finished it last night, gotta get my review up soon!

  12. March 28, 2009 10:07 pm

    This is a cover that would make me stop for a peek inside – I love the black and white format.

  13. March 29, 2009 11:42 pm

    I’ve been wanting to do this meme and keep missing it each week. Hopefully I’ll get to it this time. I was going to add the comment about the cover being the same as Keeper of Light and Dust but someone else already mentioned it. I noticed on the book jacket it said the photo of the girl was from Stuart McClymont/Getty Images. So would this probably be an image that was purchased for this use and two books just happened to do it at the same time? Very interesting!

Comments are closed.

