Skip to content

Castle, week 2 | Are you still watching?

March 19, 2009

castle1

So I fired up the DVR and watched week 2 of Castle a new ABC series. While still a very strong episode it was just a smidgen under enjoyable as week 1. There wasn’t as much book related material this week but I think that would be the hardest part of the show to sustain. Authors can only write so much unless of course your James Patterson and churn out books at a ridiculously fast pace with a lot of help from your friends. We’d probably plow through Richard Castle’s ‘books’ pretty fast and then where would we be? Well we’d be right where we are now shadowing a police detective and her fellow officers for a new Richard Castle ‘book’ series. Now here’s the teaser part: I want to pull those Richard Castle books right off the bookcase and plow my way through them. The TV studio art department did a great job of mocking up those enticing covers. Then I went to read his new series. But alas that isn’t possible – it’s all TV smoke and mirrors.

It’s still just as smart, sexy and funny as it was last week. This show doesn’t appear to suffer from new show jitters. There aren’t any of the awkward moments I associate with new shows. No stilted dialogue or mismatched casting. It holds my interest start to finish. This show started out on a high note and continued it this week. My only hope is that ABC realizes it has a winner and gives it time to take hold. It’s not that I need more TV as it takes away from my reading. But I’m willing to sacrifice for quality TV and Castle fits that billing. We’ll be firing the DVR and tuning in next week.

And I get to feed my TV crush on Nathan Fillion.

If you missed the first two episodes you can catch them online at ABC.com

What’s it about:

Wildly famous mystery novelist Richard Castle (Nathan Fillion) is bored with his own success. Then he learns that a real-world copycat killer has started staging murder scenes depicted in his novels. Castle is questioned by NYPD Detective Kate Beckett (Stana Katic), a bright and aggressive detective who keeps her investigations under tight rein. Though they instantly clash, sparks of another sort also begin to fly, leading both to danger and a hint of romance as Castle steps in to help find the killer. And once that case is solved, he and Beckett build on their new relationship as they look to solve more strange homicides in New York – as much fun as one can have with death and murder.

Castle is kept grounded by his Broadway diva mother, Martha Rodgers (Susan Sullivan), and quick-witted teenage daughter Alexis (Molly Quinn). Also starring in the series are Ruben Santiago-Hudson as NYPD Captain Roy Montgomery, Tamala Jones as Medical Examiner Lanie Parish, Jon Huertas as NYPD Detective Javier Esposito and Seamus Dever as NYPD Detective Kevin Ryan.

“Castle” is produced by ABC Studios. Andrew Marlowe (writer, “Air Force One”) serves as executive producer/writer, along with executive producers Armyan Bernstein, Barry Schindel, Rob Bowman (who also directed the pilot) and Laurie Zaks.

***

Richard Castle is playing poker with James Patterson and Stephen J. Cannell

castle

***
Did you watch it? Please let me know what you thought.

11 Comments
  1. March 19, 2009 6:56 pm

    I watched both episodes. I was very amused by the glamorous portrayal of Castle’s book signing. Of course, I’ve never been to a really famous author’s book signing event, but something tells me that Stephen King or Dean Kootz isn’t signing women’s breasts. Maybe I’m wrong.

    I adore Nathan Fillion, and watch just because he was in it. I don’t think I’ll continue to watch, though. It didn’t have quite enough to keep me. I can’t even pinpoint “enough” what, but I know it didn’t have it.

    • March 20, 2009 12:48 pm

      Just like every book isn’t for every reader every TV show won’t be for every watcher. While I thought this week wasn’t quite as good as the first week there’s still ‘enough’ to keep me tuning in for right now. Besides I’ll need my weekly Nathan fix until ABC decides otherwise.

  2. March 19, 2009 8:25 pm

    My husband and I have watched both episodes and enjoyed them, so we’ll keep on watching!

    • March 20, 2009 12:50 pm

      Yay! I’m not surprised you’d be fan considering you have to the biggest fan of mystery writers I’v seen. 🙂

  3. March 21, 2009 9:47 am

    I really liked both episodes, but the second was a smidge less entertaining than the first. I can’t wait to see the next episode though. I wonder if we’ll see more of other authors on the show…like Patterson. 🙂

    • March 24, 2009 3:38 pm

      So I watched week #3 and our wish for more authors seems to have been ignored. I still enjoy the show and don’t mind taking away from my reading time for it. I surely do love seeing Nathan Fillion every week.

  4. March 21, 2009 8:38 pm

    That’s one thing that I did enjoy in the first episode–Castle playing poker with the other writers. Denis didn’t recognize them, so I helped him out. 🙂

    • March 24, 2009 3:40 pm

      My hubby would never have been able to pick out Jame Patterson and Stephen Cannell in the poker scene if I hadn’t helped him. He’s not a ‘reader’, only picking up a book when we vacation in December. I really got a smile from him when I ventured to the bookcase and showed off books by both authors.

  5. March 22, 2009 1:43 am

    I finally watched these Marcia and I was surprised by just how much I enjoyed it!!! I really love the sharp and witty dialogue and my gosh how could I not adore Castle? Thanks for the heads up on how much fun this show is!

    • March 24, 2009 3:41 pm

      You’re welcome for the heads up on the great new show. The writing is very good and eye candy casting doesn’t hurt either.

Trackbacks

  1. Hot News » Castle Abc

Comments are closed.

