Skip to content

Cover Attraction ~ March 17th

March 18, 2009

I’m a very visual person and love beautiful, or interesting, cover art. It entices, and invites, me to stop and take a peek instead of walking right on by. This week’s Cover Attraction is:

underthelemontreesTitle: Under The Lemon Trees
Author: Bhira Backhaus
Release date: March ’09

From Fantastic Fiction:
A beautifully written debut novel of a young Indian woman struggling between embracing her heritage and fitting in as an American.

In Oak Grove, California, 1976, there are as many Sikh temples as Christian churches, the city council has prints announcements in both English and Punjabi and the large Indian immigrant community is gracefully coexists with the old farming families. But for 15-year-old Jeeto, figuring out where she fits best – and what she must do to find that fit – isn’t so easy.

Jeeto soon realizes that the women around her do far more than drink tea on balmy California afternoons – their traditions and religion give shape to fortune and destiny in a world of arranged marriages and strict family politics that force Jeeto to struggle with reconciling the possibilities of freedom and love.

In the tradition of Jhumpa Lahiri and Arundhati Roy, Under the Lemon Trees is poised to speak to this same audience in an historically successful market. A stellar debut from an acclaimed writer, this is a story about finding love and discovering a true home while navigating traditions, family and faith – part Bend it Like Beckham, part Monsoon Wedding, this is a cultural and romantic tour de force.

***

What’s your favorite cover attraction this week? Don’t forget to leave a link to your Cover Attraction post.

12 Comments
  1. March 18, 2009 8:03 am

    Love that cover. I’ve done my first cover attraction post here: http://thewrittenword.wordpress.com/2009/03/18/cover-atttraction-march-18th/

  2. March 18, 2009 8:36 am

    I agree – that is a great cover!

    • March 20, 2009 12:56 pm

      Puts me in a Spring frame of mind.

  3. March 18, 2009 11:29 am

    That is a really great cover Marcia. Mine is here:

    http://peekingbetweenthepages.blogspot.com/2009/03/cover-attraction-march-18.html

  4. March 18, 2009 6:12 pm

    Wow, that’s a great cover.
    Here’s mine.

  5. March 18, 2009 6:45 pm

    Beautiful cover!

    Here’s my first one.

  6. March 19, 2009 6:49 am

    I meant to get this post up yesterday – oh well. I think this will be a great addition for me! My post is here.

  7. March 19, 2009 11:45 pm

    That is a wonderful cover! It actually makes me crave lemony things (lemon bars, lemonade, etc.) 🙂 I love the design in the yellow background too.

    • March 20, 2009 12:54 pm

      Usually yellow is a color I pass right by but ‘something’ about this one struck me. Maybe the color reminded me that spring is right around the corner.

  8. March 20, 2009 1:45 pm

    This is such a beautiful and eye catching cover. The book looks wonderful as well. Thanks for sharing it, it’s going on my wishlist!

    • March 24, 2009 3:43 pm

      It went right onto my wish list. Now if I could just find the time to read the books on it!

Trackbacks

  1. Cover Atttraction - March 18th « Stephanie’s Written Word

Comments are closed.

