Skip to content

Castle, a new TV show | did anyone else watch it this week?

March 11, 2009

castle1

OK my normally books only blog is taking a slight detour to rave about Castle a new ABC series. It’s book related! And I guess it doesn’t hurt that I’m a litte bit in love with Nathan Fillion. He’s the hunky lead actor from Firefly. 

It hooked me from the very start. It’s smart, sexy, funny and has great cast chemistry. Even my hubby, a tough self-stylized TV show critic loved it. We plan to tune in every week as long as ABC airs it.

What’s it about:

Wildly famous mystery novelist Richard Castle (Nathan Fillion) is bored with his own success. Then he learns that a real-world copycat killer has started staging murder scenes depicted in his novels. Castle is questioned by NYPD Detective Kate Beckett (Stana Katic), a bright and aggressive detective who keeps her investigations under tight rein. Though they instantly clash, sparks of another sort also begin to fly, leading both to danger and a hint of romance as Castle steps in to help find the killer. And once that case is solved, he and Beckett build on their new relationship as they look to solve more strange homicides in New York – as much fun as one can have with death and murder. 

Castle is kept grounded by his Broadway diva mother, Martha Rodgers (Susan Sullivan), and quick-witted teenage daughter Alexis (Molly Quinn). Also starring in the series are Ruben Santiago-Hudson as NYPD Captain Roy Montgomery, Tamala Jones as Medical Examiner Lanie Parish, Jon Huertas as NYPD Detective Javier Esposito and Seamus Dever as NYPD Detective Kevin Ryan. 

“Castle” is produced by ABC Studios. Andrew Marlowe (writer, “Air Force One”) serves as executive producer/writer, along with executive producers Armyan Bernstein, Barry Schindel, Rob Bowman (who also directed the pilot) and Laurie Zaks.

***

Richard Castle is playing poker with James Patterson and Stephen J. Cannell

castle

***
Did you watch it? Please let me know what you thought.

28 Comments
  1. March 11, 2009 1:07 pm

    It was a lot of fun. I really liked it. 🙂

    • March 11, 2009 10:26 pm

      It was fun. It’s not often I like a new TV shows from the very 1st episode.

  2. March 11, 2009 1:42 pm

    I told myself I wasn’t going to watch it, since I don’t need any more TV shows each week – takes time from my reading! But I have a raging crush on Nathan Fillion as well, so I watched it online yesterday. I thought it was pretty darn entertaining, considering I don’t really read crime novels and don’t normally watch police procedurals. I don’t know if I’m going to be staying up late enough to watch it most Mondays, but I’ll definitely catch the episodes online after the fact.

    • March 11, 2009 10:28 pm

      I’ve sworn off the most TV ever this year dropping several shows from my schedule because like you it was taking up too much of my reading time. But I knew I had to make an exception for this one.

  3. March 11, 2009 3:13 pm

    I did watch it and loved it too! Nathan is definitely a cutie. Also, I was reading at one point, looked up and there was James Patterson. Nice touch.

    • March 11, 2009 10:29 pm

      It was a great start to a new series. Here’s looking forward to next week’s episode and guest stars whoever they may be.

  4. March 11, 2009 6:20 pm

    I Agree!! I loved “Castle. It has all my favorite flavors rolled all into one!!! Great review!!!!

    • March 11, 2009 10:30 pm

      All I have to say is yummy! 🙂

  5. March 11, 2009 7:41 pm

    It’s waiting patiently for me on my DVR, I hope I get to watch it soon!

    • March 11, 2009 10:31 pm

      We DVR everything as we can’t stand watching commercials unless it’s the Super Bowl. I’m so glad my hubby made it last night’s selection.

  6. March 11, 2009 9:29 pm

    I just watched it (DVR), and I was pleasantly surprised. I adore Nathan Fillion too but wasn’t too sure about the show from the previews I’d seen. I’m glad my husband talked me into giving it a try.

    • March 11, 2009 10:34 pm

      Like you I was pleasantly surprised. I’m always leery of new series as it seems the first couple of episodes have awkward moments. This one worked from start to finish. I’m already looking forward to next week.

  7. March 11, 2009 11:21 pm

    I totally forgot to set my DVR!! I really wanted to watch it. Is it online?

    • March 12, 2009 10:49 am

      It’s online Amy so fire up the computer. 🙂

  8. Lee permalink
    March 12, 2009 7:55 am

    I discovered Nathan Filion on Firefly and looked forward to Castle strictly because of his involvement. He’s a delight to watch, and this show looks pretty good!

    • March 12, 2009 10:52 am

      We have something in common besides family! Someday I knew it was bound to happen. He is a delight and oh so easy on the eyes but then I know you’re not going there. LOL 🙂 Check back next week when we’ll see whose still watching and whose not.

  9. March 12, 2009 8:39 am

    I watched it because of the book-related topic. Cough, cough. No, really, I watched it because of Nathan Fillion. 🙂 I really liked it and I think it has a lot of potential.

    • March 12, 2009 10:54 am

      Exactly. I justified it because of the being book related but when I saw one of my favorite men on screen I was totally hooked – line and sinker. Here’s looking forward to Mondays. 🙂

  10. March 12, 2009 9:52 am

    I remembered to set the DVR because (1) I like Nathan Fillion and (2) I love reading mysteries. My husband and I both watched it, enjoyed it, and plan to continue watching it. I got a kick out of Castle playing poker with Cannell and Patterson!

  11. March 12, 2009 10:56 am

    I saw their names in the credits and wondered how they were going to work them into the script. It was perfect. Even though I knew the books were fakes the cover looked so enticing I wanted to reach into the TV screen and snag a copy.

  12. March 12, 2009 11:11 am

    I have not watched this yet, but I have it in the DVR waiting for me. I got an email alert about the new show from James Patterson’s email list. LOL

    • March 12, 2009 11:25 am

      It’ll bet you were all kinds of excited thinking it was a new book only to find out it was TV show. 🙂

      • March 12, 2009 11:27 am

        Actually no! Lol he has a ton of stuff in his newsletters that is not book related. He does movie reviews, etc. Its funny. I can’t wait to see the movie.

  13. March 18, 2009 1:58 pm

    Found your site looking up info on “Castle.” I love the show, too! There hasn’t been much on TV for quite a while that I really enjoy and look forward to, but “Castle” is great! I can only echoe what everyone has already said about the characters, cast, chemistry, script, etc. I liked the movies “Her Alibi” and “Romancing the Stone” in large part because the protagonists were authors of books. Hope the show stays fresh and on the air a long time!

    • March 19, 2009 2:32 pm

      Hi Gary,

      Welcome to The Printed Page. Castle is an outstanding show. Here’s hoping they can keep the momentum going. Come back and visit again as I’ll be posting about Castle next week.

  14. March 18, 2009 3:01 pm

    We love Castle, its awesome. Of course I wish the books existed.
    I also am a total fan of Nathan Fillion, so that is a major perk.

  15. March 19, 2009 2:33 pm

    I wanted to reach through my TV screen last week and pull those enticing books off the shelves. Yep, Nathan Fillion is a major perk. Makes Monday a day worth having in the week.

Trackbacks

  1. castle tv show | 4BLOGGER

Comments are closed.

