Skip to content

Cover Attraction ~ March 4th

March 4, 2009

I’m a very visual person and love beautiful cover art. It doesn’t necessarily mean I’ll read the book but at least I might stop and take a peek instead of walking right on by. This week’s Cover Attraction is:

roseofsebastopolTitle: The Rose of Sebastopol
Author: Katherine McMahon
US Re-release: March ’09

From Fantastic Fiction:
Russia, 1854: the Crimean War grinds on, and as the bitter winter draws near, the battlefield hospitals fill with dying men. In defiance of Florence Nightingale, Rosa Barr – young, headstrong and beautiful – travels to Balaklava, determined to save as many of the wounded as she can. For Mariella Lingwood, Rosa’s cousin, the war is contained within the pages of her scrapbook, in her London sewing circle, and in the letters she receives from Henry, her fiance, a celebrated surgeon who has also volunteered to work within the shadow of the guns. When Henry falls ill and is sent to recuperate in Italy, Mariella impulsively decides she must go to him. But upon their arrival at his lodgings, she and her maid make a heartbreaking discovery: Rosa has disappeared. Following the trail of her elusive and captivating cousin, Mariella’s epic journey takes her from the domestic restraint of Victorian London to the ravaged landscape of the Crimea and the tragic city of Sebastopol, where she encounters Rosa’s dashing stepbrother, a reckless cavalry officer whose complex past – and future – is inextricably bound up with her own. As her quest leads her deeper into the dark heart of the conflict, Mariella’s ordered world begins to crumble and she finds she has much to learn about secrecy, faithfulness and love. But, in the thick of a war fought on more fronts than one, she also discovers a strength and passion she never knew she possessed.

**********

What’s your favorite cover attraction this week?

16 Comments
  1. March 4, 2009 6:53 am

    I’m so with you on this one – a good cover really can attract me to a book.

    • March 4, 2009 3:48 pm

      A good cover can entice me to pick up and browse a book I might not otherwise have had any interest in.

  2. March 4, 2009 8:27 am

    A beautiful cover will always get me.

  3. March 4, 2009 2:13 pm

    I noticed this cover too. It’s beautiful isn’t it. I’d like to read this one too. I’m going to do this on my blog today-as a matter of a fact I’m going now before I forget. lol. You always come up with the best ideas.

    • March 4, 2009 4:08 pm

      Please do. I can’t wait to see what book you pick.

  4. March 4, 2009 2:39 pm

    that cover is gorgeous!

    • March 4, 2009 4:09 pm

      Makes me want to go right over to Amazon and pick up a copy.

  5. March 4, 2009 3:03 pm

    Told you I was going to swipe your idea…lol. Here’s mine…

    http://peekingbetweenthepages.blogspot.com/2009/03/cover-attraction-march-4.html

    • March 4, 2009 4:10 pm

      You picked a good one. The colors are very soothing to the eye.

  6. March 5, 2009 4:29 pm

    Hi Marcia, Popped over from Darlene’s…. Had to see who Marcia was.

    Well, I’m with you about being visual and loving beautiful cover art. And the one you selected today would jump right off the shelf and into my hand for a peek.

    And, anything with roses in it would probably captivate me as well.

    • March 5, 2009 6:55 pm

      Hi Brenda,

      Thanks for stopping by today. It immediately captured my attention when I first saw it. Stop by next week and see what captures my eye.

  7. March 5, 2009 8:44 pm

    I almost always judge books by their covers. i know it’s cliche, but it does play into whether I pick it up or not. The title needs to be appealing too, but beautiful covers go a long way.

    • March 7, 2009 11:47 pm

      I know they say never to judge a book by it’s cover but that’s where a reader draws their first impression from. If the cover isn’t appealing most likely it won’t jump off the shelf and into my hands.

  8. March 6, 2009 1:45 am

    I really liked this cover as well. I have read the book but I am not going to say anymore! This is a good idea too Marcia

    • March 7, 2009 11:49 pm

      Darn now I’m curious. Dar and I are making it an April By the Chapter selection. It know it rates 3 stars on Amazon but like movies I’ve learned not to judge too harshly by reviews.

Comments are closed.

