Skip to content

The State of The Bookcase – February ’09

March 3, 2009

2009_0130books0004It’s time once again for The State of The Bookcase. Not much progress this month in clearing the shelves. Four books were added while 5 were read and found new homes. I’m holding steady and not tipping the scales either direction. February was a rather slow reading month as I only read seven books total but no DNFs.

thegoodgoodpigTitle: The Good Good Pig: The Extraordinary Life of Christopher Hogwood
Author/website: Sy Montgomery
272 pages
Publisher: Ballantine Books
Publication date: April ’07
Genre: Memoir
I really liked this one. A treat for animal lovers.

true-colorsjpg1Title: True Colors
Author/website: Kristin Hannah
400 pages
Publisher: St. Martin’s Press
Publication date: February ’09
Genre: Women’s fiction
Ms. Hannah is one of my favorite women’s fiction authors and she’s written another great book.

sarahskeyTitle: Sarah’s Key
Author/website: Tatiana de Rosnay
320 pages
Publisher: St. Martin’s Griffin
Publication date: September ’08
Genre: Contemporary/historical fiction
I can’t say enough about this book. Sarah’s story is one that you’ll remember long after you turn the last page.

the-assoicateTitle: The Associate
Author/website: John Grisham
384 pages
Publisher: Doubleday
Publication date: January ’09
Genre: Fiction
Not one of his best but another one of my favorite authors and I’m still a fan.

theeyreaffairTitle: The Eyre Affair: A Thursday Next Novel
Author/website: Jasper Fforde
384 pages
Publisher: Penguin
Publication date: February ’03
Genre: Fiction
Interesting concept. Though not the book for me I did finish it.

finefeathereddeathTitle: Fine Feathered Death (Kendra Ballantyne, Petsitter Mysteries, No. 3)
Author/website: Linda O. Johnson
272 pages
Publisher: Berkley
Publication date: May ’06
Genre: Mystery
A light-hearted cozy mystery series I read purely for fun.

peonyinloveTitle: Peony in Love
Author/website: Lisa See
320 pages
Publisher: Random House Trade Paperbacks
Publication date: February ’08
Genre: Historical fiction
I loved it. If you’re a fan of Snow Flower and the Secret Fan you might also enjoy this book.

***
Favorite book: Sarah’s Key
Least favorite book: The Eyre Affair

***
Genres:
Memoir – 1
Women’s fiction – 1
Contemporary/historical fiction – 2
Fiction – 2
Mystery – 1

Total pages -2,249

Challenges
eBook – 2
New author – 3
ARCs/Review copies – 3
’09 Pub – 1

***
2009 progress
Total pages: 6,092
Books read: 17
DNFs: 3

Challenges
eBook – 6/10
New author – 14/65
ARCs/Review copies – 11
’09 Pub – 5/9

9 Comments
  1. March 3, 2009 1:13 pm

    You had a pretty good month and the thing is you got to read a few really good ones which always makes it worthwhile.

    • March 4, 2009 4:11 pm

      The good ones I read did make my month. I’m especially proud of not DNFing any.

  2. March 3, 2009 1:24 pm

    You are so organized! I really like how you put this post together. Informative, but easy to read.

    I’ve got to read Sarah’s Key and Peony in Love….heard really great things about them!

    • March 4, 2009 4:12 pm

      Thank you. It comes from working a job for 12 years that requires attention to detail. And, yes, you must read Sarah’s Key and Peony in Love. Both are excellent books.

  3. March 3, 2009 2:37 pm

    I also like the format. I love that you keep track of everything and set goals. I keep a running tally of a few of those things (number of books read, new authors), but I don’t set goals. Hummm. Something for me to think about. 🙂

    • March 4, 2009 4:13 pm

      I’m not really much of a goal setter it just appears that way. Maybe the boss will let me use this for work and then I get off easy. 🙂

  4. March 3, 2009 2:38 pm

    You are such a generous blogger! I appreciate the books you’ve sent me so so much. It looks like you had a great month for the most part.

    • March 4, 2009 4:14 pm

      You’re most welcome. They needed a good home and I knew they’d be appreciated, loved and welcomed at your house.

  5. March 4, 2009 8:10 am

    “The Hong Kong Connection” is a legal thriller about a gutsy female attorney who takes on high ranking International officials. It’s a taut, rollercoaster of a ride from New York to Palm Beach to Washington D.C. to Hong Kong. The plot is expertly woven, the characters persuasive, and the dialogue snappy and spot on.
    http://www.StrategicBookPublishing.com/TheHongKongConnection.html

Comments are closed.

