Skip to content

Cover Attraction ~ February 25th

February 25, 2009

Jill at Breaking the Spine hosts Waiting on Wednesday. I love Waiting on Wednesday but find that I don’t always have something to post. Just as publishing runs in cycles so do the books that I’m eagerly anticipating. So when I don’t have a Waiting on Wednesday book I’d thought I’d post Cover Attraction. I’m a very visual person and love beautiful cover art. It doesn’t necessarily mean I’ll read the book but at least I might stop and take a peek instead of walking right on by. This week’s Cover Attraction is:

bleedingheartsquartTitle: Bleeding Heart Square
Author: Andrew Taylor
Publication date: March ’09

From Fantastic Fiction:
‘If Philippa Penhow hadn’t gone to Bleeding Heart Square on that January day, you and perhaps everyone else might have lived happily ever after…’ It’s 1934, and the decaying London cul-de-sac of Bleeding Heart Square is an unlikely place of refuge for aristocratic Lydia Langstone. But as she flees her abusive marriage there is only one person she can turn to – the genteelly derelict Captain Ingleby-Lewis, currently lodging at no 7. However, unknown to Lydia, a dark mystery haunts 7 Bleeding Heart Square. What happened to Miss Penhow, the middle-aged spinster who owns the house and who vanished four years earlier? Why is a seedy plain-clothes policeman obsessively watching the square? What is making struggling journalist Rory Wentwood so desperate to contact Miss Penhow? And why are parcels of rotting hearts being sent to Joseph Serridge, the last person to see Miss Penhow alive…? Legend has it the Devil once danced in Bleeding Heart Square – but is there now a new and sinister presence lurking in its shadows?

**********

What’s your favorite cover attraction this week?

5 Comments
  1. February 26, 2009 1:56 pm

    I like your new look Marcia. I also like the idea of cover attraction. I think I may join this one next week if that’s ok by you. This cover is gorgeous. I can’t tell you how many times I pick up a book just because of the cover. Of course I’m sure most of us are like that.

    • March 4, 2009 3:43 pm

      Thank you for the kind compliment on my new look. The WP Gurus keep enticing me with new templates.

      Of course you are welcome to join Cover Attraction. I know it will be fun to see what kinds of book art we all find attractive and inviting.

  2. February 26, 2009 3:34 pm

    I read an ARC of this book and really liked it! The U cover is even better, though.

    • March 4, 2009 3:46 pm

      I think I’ve seen the US cover and it was a toss up for me between the two. I use Fantastic Ficiton because it’s such a wonderful site to find upcoming releases. Also seeing the difference between US cover releases and those in other countries is very interesting.

  3. February 26, 2009 3:35 pm

    Ooops, I meant “US cover.”

Comments are closed.

