Skip to content

Pondering the pages ~ Day 10

February 6, 2009

Today’s pondering:

true-colorsjpg1February is off to a great start. I’ve read two really great books. The Good Good Pig which I wrote about in Pondering the pages ~ Day 9. Last night I turned the final page on Kristin Hannah’s newest, True Colors. She is one of my favorite women’s fiction authors so naturally I was expecting good things going in to this one and I wasn’t disappointed. She has written another winner.

True Colors is all about family. The good, the bad and the ugly. There are times when family can be plain just not nice, downright mean and nasty. Other times you want nothing more than to surround yourself with these people, your family. You lock the doors, shutter the windows and settle in for the siege.

The Grey family is a bit broken and battered. The sisters rely on each other to get them through whatever comes their way. They haven’t always had the easiest of times with their father. It showcases the vast differences in the way each one views their father. He’s one man yet different to each of them. Win struggles for acceptance, Aurora sees him for what he is, and, isn’t. Vivi Ann wants to believe in the inherent goodness of human nature.

An undeclared love, a marriage, and a murder test their love for each other. This reliance is torn apart and mended with faulty promises and hidden agendas. It stretches the boundaries of sisterhood. It colors their best intentions. Their individual beliefs of what is best for family, each other and, most of all, themselves. They must face the hardest test of the all – the truth. What tore them apart will ultimately bring them back together.

While my family doesn’t have much of anything in common with the Grey’s it didn’t lessen my enjoyment of this family saga. Ms. Hannah has a way of writing that draws in a reader. You start to care about these characters before you’re much beyond the first chapter or two. There were traits in each sister I admired and deplored. Most of all I could envision this story playing out this way. It could be your family, the next door neighbors or strangers on the other side of the world.

Check out Ms. Hannah’s guest post.

Title: True Colors
Author: Kristin Hannah
Publisher: St. Martin’s Press
Publication date: February ’09
Pages: 400
Genre: Women’s fiction
Challenges: ARC/’09 Pub

***

Today was blog maintenance day. I’m trying to kill some available reading time before picking up my next book, Sarah’s Key by Tatiana de Rosnay. Sarah’s Key is the featured book of By the Chapter hosted by Dar and myself starting Monday. I don’t have enough time between now and Sunday to finish a book with work getting in the way and I don’t read more than one at a time so I’m stuck. Consequently I took care of some blog chores. 

I started some new pages. The main one is titled The Reading Room.

readingroom
Here you can find selected book reviews, check out how I’m doing on my series reading, follow my reading challenge progress, Ponder the pages, find out what I’ve been reading past years, favorite books and just about anything else related to my reading.

Some pages are still in the working stages.

underconstructionjpg

***

A good book on your shelf is a friend that turns its back on you and remains a friend.
~ Author Unknown
 
***

2 Comments
  1. February 6, 2009 5:19 pm

    Great review of True Colors Marcia. It really does sound like a wonderful story. I can’t wait to read it.

    I had to slap my hand this morning to keep myself from grabbing Sarah’s Key. lol.

    Hope you have a wonderful weekend!

  2. February 6, 2009 5:21 pm

    I’m so glad to see True Colors is good – I almost picked it up the other day.

Comments are closed.

