Skip to content

Pondering the pages ~ Day 9

February 3, 2009

Today’s pondering:

thegoodgoodpigAnother great book. Last night I finished The Good Good Pig: The Extraordinary Life of Christopher Hogwood by Sy Montgomery and, yes, I cried my way through the last two chapters just as I predicted. In the first several pages I laughed, cried, sympathized, emphasized and found a soul mate. This book is filled with love. All sorts of really sloppy, gooey animal love. I don’t often read these kinds of books even though I adore, love and admire animals purely because I become a big sloppy teary mess. I think most people who are animal lovers would enjoy this book but then again maybe the author will be too over the top about animals for some people.Ms. Montgomery’s life since she was a child has revolved around animals. Her profession is centered on understanding and writing about all sorts of creatures.

I didn’t really know anything about pigs, or hogs, before reading this book except I love to visit the petting zoo at the fair and check out the cute piglets and, yes, I enjoy bacon. She mixes pig/hog/boar antidotes and historical facts in with her memoir of Chris’ life. From all appearances Christopher Hogwood, the star of The Good, Good Pig, was extraordinary as pigs go. She chronicles Chris’s life from bringing him home as a very young, sick piglet not expected to live up to his death at a very old age for pigs (early teens). Chris had an endearing way about him and charmed everyone he came in contact with. He touched human lives in ways one might not expect an animal could. He taught valuable lessons about accepting others as they are. Living life to its fullest and enjoying the smallest pleasures. He most certainly had his share of adventure and could often be found visiting friends and neighbors. My only regret – that I didn’t have the privilege of personally meeting Christopher Hogwood.

Title: The Good Good Pig: The Extraordinary Life of Christopher Hogwood
Author: Sy Montgomery
Web site: The Good Good Pig
Publisher: Ballantine Books
Publication date: April ’07
Pages: 225
Genre: Non-fiction
Challenges: New author/ARC

***

true-colorsjpg1Up next is Kristin Hannah’s newest, True Colors. She is one of my favorite women’s fiction authors so I’m really looking forward to reading this one. She has written a guest post for my blog which I’ve have the pleasure of reading and will share once I finish True Colors. Over the past several weeks I’ve been posting Waiting on Wednesday hosted by Jill at Breaking the Spine and this is one of my WoW books.

From Ms. Hannah’s web site: The Grey sisters have always been close. After their mother’s death, the girls banded together, becoming best friends. Their stern, disapproving father cares less about his children than about his reputation. To Henry Grey, appearances are everything, and years later, he still demands that his daughters reflect his standing in the community. Winona, the oldest, needs her father’s approval most of all. An overweight bookworm who never felt at home on the sprawling horse ranch that has been in her family for three generations, she knows that she doesn’t have the qualities her father values. But as the best lawyer in town, she’s determined to someday find a way to prove her worth to him. Aurora, the middle sister, is the family peacemaker. She brokers every dispute and tries to keep them all happy, even as she hides her own secret pain. Vivi Ann is the undisputed star of the family. A stunningly beautiful dreamer with a heart as big as the ocean in front of her house, she is adored by all who know her. Everything comes easily for Vivi Ann, until a stranger comes to town…

In a matter of moments, everything will change. The Grey sisters will be pitted against one another in ways that none could have imagined. Loyalties will be tested and secrets revealed, and a terrible, shocking crime will shatter both their family and their beloved town. True Colors is an unforgettable novel about sisters, rivalry, forgiveness, redemption—and ultimately, what it means to be a family.

***
And last for today is my January wrap up which becomes The State of The Bookcase at the end of February. January started out and ended rocky in the reading department. I DNF’d the first and the final books of the month with another one sandwiched in between those. Overall it was a better month than I anticipated and I ended up reading some gems. I finished 10, DNF’d 3 and read 3,507 pages.

General fiction
The Lost Five Days by William Petrick
The Scent of Oranges by Joan Zawatzky
The Ride by Jane Kennedy Sutton

Memoir/Non-fiction
Honeymoon in Tehran: Two Years of Love and Danger in Iran by Azadeh Moaveni
Regina’s Closet: Finding My Grandmother’s Secret Journal by Diana M. Raab

Historical
Seduce Me at Sunrise (The Hathaways, Book 2) by Lisa Kelypas
Silent on the Moor: A Lady Julia Grey mystery (book 3) by Deanna Raybourn
Soul Catcher by Micheal White

Women’s fiction
The Life Plan by Sybil Baker

Horror
The Ride by Tom Brandner

DNF
This One Is Mine by Maria Semple
Fifty Is Not A Four Letter Word by Linda Kelsey
Beat the Reaper by Josh Bazell

Challenge status:
eBook: 4 (goal is 10)
New author: 11 (goal is 65)
Review/ARC: 8; I read only one non review/ARC in January and didn’t count the DNFs
’09 Pub: 4 (goal is 9)

***

2 Comments
  1. February 3, 2009 6:14 pm

    I love a book that can make me cry – that means the characters are so well written that I’m emotionally involved with them. The Pig book sounds good.
    **********
    Your package might hold more than just Grisham *grin*

  2. February 4, 2009 2:17 pm

    I’d love to read True Colors. I’ll be watching for your review. The cover is just beautiful.
    **********
    It’s your. Keep an eye on your mailbox!

Comments are closed.

