Skip to content

Pondering the pages ~ Day 8

February 1, 2009

Today’s pondering:

Second book in a row I blew through before having time to post a starting or mid-point Pondering. 

reginasclosetjpgI finished reading Regina’s Closet: Finding My Grandmother’s Secret Journal by Diana M. Raab Friday night. It’s a non-fiction work based on Ms. Raab’s grandmother Regina’s diary found after her death. Around Regina’s diary entries the author weaves bites and pieces of her own life, both as a child and an adult. Regina was a young girl living in Europe during and after the First World War eventually immigrating to the United States with her husband and small daughter. Her diary covers her life starting at age 5 until her arrival in the States. The best way to describe this work is with simple words such as heart-breaking, sobering, affecting, powerful, harrowing and, most of all, real.

Even as a child Regina’s writing is poignant. Never having lived in a country ravaged by war I can only begin, in some very small way, to imagine the suffering inflicted on these people. Nightmarish lives as the fabric that makes a family is ripped apart at the seams. Living becomes a continual struggle of survival. When soldiers march through the city I can envision them as they burn and pillage homes striking fear into hearts of the citizens. Then there is the fear known only by children when parents are missing and something must be horribly wrong. Regina struggles to understand and make sense of the world she now inhabits versus the one she was living in the day, or maybe even mere hours, before.

Regina’s life was never particularly easy. Her childhood leaves deep scars that color her adult world. Her marriage wasn’t exactly harmonious nor was she easy to live with. She battled depression off and on until her death in 1961. Even through all this she loved her granddaughter, Diana, and showered her with affection. In return Diana loved her grandmother without conditions,  as only a child can love, and her world is richer because of this love.

Though this journey is not always smooth nor without its faults it is worth it in the end.

Title: Regina’s Closet: Finding My Grandmother’s Secret Journal
Author: Diana M. Raab
Publisher: Beaufort Books
Publication date: September ’07
Pages: 166
Genre: Non-fiction
Challenges: ARC/New author

***

I finished the month with a DNF. Once again this will land me in book blogger purgatory but it can’t be helped. It just wasn’t a book for me. Because I know I’m in the minority on this one here a widget’s so you can take a peek inside for yourself.

***

thegoodgoodpigThe start of the new month means a new book. So next up is The Good Good Pig: The Extraordinary Life of Christopher Hogwood by Sy Montgomery. As with all animal stories they’re never written until after a life has ended so I know I won’t be finishing this one at work. It’s not a healthy work environment for my co-workers to witness the tears as they drip down my face. It’s sure to be a tear jerker. Please take pity on my non reading co-workers having to watch me get all worked up over some book. It’s never good to frighten them as they’re skittish enough without me blubbering all over my desk. 

***

5 Comments
  1. February 1, 2009 10:05 am

    Marcia…Regina’s Closet looks like I would really want to read it. I’m going to write this one down. Great review!
    **********
    Thank you. Keep an eye on your mailbox it will be arriving in the next week or two.

  2. February 1, 2009 12:15 pm

    Hi Marcia, boy are you speedy. I’m about halfway through Regina’s Closet. I’ll be back to read your review when I’ve finished.

    Have a great Sunday!
    **********
    My spouse was watching ‘man’ movies last night which meant I got to curl up with my book and he wasn’t complaining. Consequently I had lots of reading time.

  3. February 1, 2009 3:05 pm

    Great review! This is one of the first books I won when I started blogging, and it’s still sitting in my TBR pile. I must say, your review is making me want to move it up and get it read. Especially since you blew through it!
    **********
    Thank you.

  4. February 1, 2009 7:07 pm

    Regina’s Closet does sound very moving. I really liked Beat the Reaper, but can understand why it’s not for everyone.
    **********
    I don’t really know how to describe it but it was a little too much for my tastes.

  5. February 2, 2009 8:58 pm

    Regina’s Closet is a beautiful tribute. I can’t say enough about it. I’m glad that you liked it as well.
    **********
    I still think Regina’s diary pages written during her childhood. They’re very haunting.

Comments are closed.

