Skip to content

Pondering the pages ~ The State of The Bookcase – January ’09

January 30, 2009

2009_0130books0004The President has The State of the Union, Governors have The State of the State, Mayors even have The State of the City. Me, I have The State of The Bookcase. Yes folks here it is the brand spanking new, most loved piece of the furniture in the Larsen home. Behold The Bookcase. Most of you are laughing right now because it holds a pitiful number of books compared to your toppling TBR piles. These are not all the books in house just the ones honored enough to make The Bookcase their home. Currently it’s offering shelter to my ARCs, requested books and those I deem worthy. As of Tuesday night it held 60 books. One, The Ride, is now off The Bookcase and looking for a new home. Today I’m starting Regina’s Closet: Finding My Grandmother’s Secret Journal so it’s temporarily housed here and will be moving soon to another, undisclosed location.

The State of The Bookcase will become a regular feature here at The Printed Page every month. So be sure and stop by checking out whether the books have increased or decreased.

***

9 Comments
  1. January 30, 2009 1:50 pm

    I love it when bloggers post pics of their bookshelves! I your bookshelf’s warm color and shelf thickness. I want one just like it!! Great idea for regular feature.
    **********
    It is prutty isn’t it? *grins*. The State of the Bookcase is replacing my monthly wrap up posting.

  2. January 30, 2009 2:57 pm

    I thought for sure your bookcase would be overflowing like mine is.
    **********
    You *grin* should know by now that I pass my books along.

  3. January 30, 2009 6:22 pm

    It’s a beautiful bookcase! Most of mine are cheapo pressboard shelves. 🙂
    **********
    It will soon become almost the most expensive cat toy we own. They seem to be taking possession of the bottom shevles. Beautiful for about a month. Then who knows.

  4. January 31, 2009 11:42 am

    Lovely bookcase! Is your goal to fill or empty its shelves (of ARCs and other books to be reviewed)?
    **********
    Yes, the cats think it’s lovely also. I’ve been watching them eye it. As I don’t keep many of my books perferring to pass them along to new homes it will house mainly ARCs and review books. Come April I’ll be moving of some my series books hidden away upstairs so that they’ll be handy. April for me will be ‘catch up on series’ reading month.

  5. January 31, 2009 12:17 pm

    That is a gorgeous bookshelf. I’m jealous! Looks like it has some nice, sturdy shelves to hold the book bounty. My el cheapo shelves are starting to bow!
    **********
    Target! I love that store and right at the hundred $ mark. It won’t look this pretty for long as the cats will discover what a great scratching post it makes.

  6. February 2, 2009 4:41 am

    I LOVE Target bookshelves! I might have a few at my house, too. =) It looks beautiful – congrats!
    **********
    Thank you. I’ll freely admit that I’m unashamedly proud of my new bookcase.

  7. February 2, 2009 8:14 am

    Very nice! I can only dream of having empty shelves to fill! LOL. Way too many books in my house and no where to put them.
    **********
    If I remember didn’t you on a bit of buying spree in January?! I’d rather have too many than beautiful shelves.

  8. February 2, 2009 9:32 am

    What a great feature idea! I love the idea. It’s fun to see what others bookcases look like. I’t will be interesting to watch your shelves get full. Mine is overflowing as I only have one. I desperately need more. I’ll have to check out Target, you’re bookcase is very pretty!!
    **********
    It is gorgeous isn’t it?! I’d love to be able to fill up it up but have to leave room for the kitties. The Larsen felines have claimed the very bottom shelf as theirs. Heaven forbid we should deny them their space. At least it hasn’t become the most expensive scratching post in the house, yet.

    As to The State of The Bookcase it will be interesting to see if more come in or go out.

  9. February 2, 2009 11:27 am

    May I say I’m jealous? I just got a new 5 shelf bookcase, but it’s nothing quite like yours. Functional? Yes. Beautiful? That’s questionable. LOL

    Glad to see I wasn’t the only one thinking about posting up pictures of my new addition, now I need to get on the ball and just do it (to shameless borrow the slogan).

    Now I’m secretly wishing to see more book bloggers’ bookshelves…say that three times fast.
    **********
    You may. I’d like another one but I don’t have the books to fill it, yet.

Comments are closed.

