Skip to content

Pondering the pages ~ Day 6

January 29, 2009

Today’s ponderings:

soulcatcherI’ve literally just turned the last page on Soul Catcher by Michael White. I’m contemplating what I’ll write in the post as my Kindle sits beside me on the table. For the most part this was a very good book but parts of the story line were a stretch of the imagination for me and I had trouble reconciling that some of the scenes could have happened as portrayed.

Soul catcher: That’s what blacks called men like them, as bad as it was to have their bodies brought back to bondage, it was a thing far worse that their very souls were being snatched from them. [Soul Catcher, Kindle section 643-48]

Cain and crew capture the runaways and start on the journey of returning them to their master. Along the way Cain and the other men go their separate ways because the male slave has run yet again. They decide to meet up at some point in time before making the last of the trek to the plantation. Cain and Rosetta set out on their own. From here on this becomes a personal journey for both. They have deeply troubling issues to struggle with, both alone and together. For Rosetta the issues are fundamental as the history of the institution of slavery has been well documented. For Cain the battle is within himself. He was raised with the acceptance of slavery as it is and what it will be but not with it’s moral implications. This will become a battle of deep seated emotions but for now he has a job a to do, and nothing more, for which he will be richly rewarded. Though he’s done this many times before, returning slaves to masters, this time is different. He finds that returning Rosetta to this particular master is more than he is willing to accept. He must face the demons. He must silence what torments him or risk his very existence. I won’t say any more as I don’t want to spoil this book for you, the readers.

Except for a few scenes, for realistic reasoning, I found it very enjoyable and interesting reading. I found Cain to be a complex and intriguing character. While I wasn’t fond of Preacher, and no one should be, I found him essential to the story. I actually missed him when the men parted ways as the flaws in Preacher highlight the best in Cain.

Title: Soul Catcher
Author: Michael C. White
Publisher: Harper Perennial
Publication date: September ’08
Pages: 448
Genre: Historical fiction
Challenges: New author/Ebook

***

true-colorsjpg1theridetombrandnerSo now it’s toss up between two books. The debate is between a favorite author, Kristin Hannah, and her new book True Colors or a new-to-me horror author, Tom Brandner and his new release, The Ride. Now if I pick Mr. Brander’s book I will have read two books in the same month with the exact same title but completely different story lines. Can’t say as I’ve ever done that before. I really enjoy good horror writing. I’m a big fan of both Dean Koontz, especially his older work, and Bentley Little. Dare I mention that the one Stephen King book I picked up years ago I put down and didn’t finish? Am I now doomed to book bloggers purgatory for this lapse in supposed good reading judgement?

***

Now for the giddy feeling I’m getting from feeling like I’m finally living in a book lover’s home. For years the entertainment center has held all the wonderful toys that make my spouse’s life a thing of joy. He has more remotes that Best Buy and on any given day he can’t remember where they all are or what blasted piece of equipment they’re supposed to turn off and on. When we bought this beautiful piece of furniture years ago I thought my books would live in harmony with the gadgets and gizmos. But alas that was not to be and they’ve been relegated to the back bedroom upstairs. For the last several months we’ve talked about buying me a bookcase to display my treasures – all talk, no action. So wandering through Target yesterday, dangerous behavior, I spied an almost matching 5-shelf bookcase. No second glances, no second thoughts. I promptly snagged a couple of strong but bored Target employees and had them load my shiny new bookcase in the SUV. I just knew that the gas hog would be good for something besides hauling me back and forth to work on my 9 mile commute. (No don’t tell me about your commute as I did my 3-hours a day for years so I deserve my measly little 15 minute luxury ride.) Back to the bookcase. Without one protesting murmur from said spouse my bookcase was put together with minimum of fuss and now resides in the corner beside my recliner. Upon entering the room I can see my books and feel like I’m home.

***

5 Comments
  1. January 29, 2009 5:27 am

    I want a nice big bookshelf too. all i have is a very very very small one where I have to use all my imagination powers to fit in all my books.

    I think True colors has a very pretty color.
    **********
    The cover on True Colors is very soothing and eye-catching even though pink isn’t my favorite.

  2. January 29, 2009 5:27 am

    oops…I meant cover 🙂

  3. January 29, 2009 1:08 pm

    Congratulations on the new bookcase! May you find many treasures to fill it to overflowing and be required to find it a mate.
    **********
    I’d run back over to Target right now and buy it some mates but they didn’t my have my color. 🙂

  4. January 30, 2009 5:53 am

    Oh, I love bookshelves! You’ll have to post a picture. =)
    **********
    Yes I’d say you do love bookshelves considering your blog title. 🙂 A picture, along with with a new post feature, is coming if I can get the spouse to download it for me.

  5. January 30, 2009 12:43 pm

    Oh a new bookshelf! Congrats, you know what’s more exciting than the shelf itself – playing with your books and finding the perfect organization for them 🙂
    **********
    Thank you. I’m not sure how much organizing I’ll actual do because I don’t keep my books, I pass them along. Though I admit I did kind of stack them by size.

Comments are closed.

