Skip to content

Pondering the pages – Day 6-1/2

January 29, 2009

Today’s pondering:

This pondering is a continuation of yesterday’s hence the 1/2. Like many people I recorded the presidential inauguration a week ago Tuesday. Though I work surrounded by TVs, a call center for satellite entertainment, I felt this was defining moment in our nation’s history that I couldn’t miss.

soulcatcherYesterday was the first opportunity I’ve had to sit down and watch this momentous event. What made it even more poignant was I reading the second half of Soul Catcher. A book about slavery, it’s moral implications and profound impact on this nation as viewed by two individuals on either side of the issue – Cain, a soul catcher and Rosetta, a runaway slave. As I watched then President-elect Obama I was struck over and over by how far we’ve come and how far we still have to go. One minute I’m reading about a repressed segment of our society, the next I’m watching a man with repression in his family background take the oath of the highest office in this country.

Once upon a time the nay sayers said we’d never elect an Irish Catholic to White House and we did. Now we’ve elected an American of ethnic origin and watching the crowds on the Mall made me believe that this is still the greatest country in the world and I’m proud to live here.

***

Comments are closed.

