Skip to content

Pondering the pages ~ Day 1

January 21, 2009

I’m pondering, hence the title, trying something new here at The Printed Page. Mostly this comes from a strong dislike of writing books reviews. Ugh! Writing reviews kind of reminds me of homework, not one of my fonder memories. Those nights of sitting at the table struggling through math are better left in the far corners of my mind. I’m finding I’d rather talk about what I’m reading and how I feel about it in snippets rather than waiting until the end. No stress book blogging. And blogging itself is another driving force behind Ponderings. I’m not the writer in my family but I’ve found that I really enjoy putting words down on virtual paper. Even if it’s only a jot or two for the day.

I expect Ponderings will be a mishmash of things, all book related. Ponderings may appear daily or every couple of days. I don’t really have a plan right now so I’ll just go off and ponder.

**********

Today’s ponderings

therideJ. Kaye and I just finished up our Wednesday portion of Noontime Book Chat. Boy do we both feel the same way about the book we’re reading this week, The Ride. It’s a short one, only a little over 200 pages so we’re finishing a day early and will post our final thoughts at both on our blogs on Thursday instead of Friday. It got our book juices flowing. Stop by tomorrow and I’ll have links so that you can follow the chat.

***

silentonthemoorAs I don’t do very good reading more than one book at a time I set aside my ARC of Silent on the Moor by Deanna Raybourn to read the NBC book. I have to admit I’m not finding this one nearly as interesting as I did the first 2 Lady Julia Grey mysteries. There doesn’t seem to be much of a ‘draw’ to hold me to it though I’m only 1/2 way through with another 1/2 to go. While the give and take between Julia and Brisbane is there it’s minor compared to the rest of the story and I feel their relationship is integral to this series. Actually Brisbane hasn’t been around much and Julia has spent a great deal of time filling her days with busy work. They aren’t working together to solve mysteries as they did in books 1 & 2. Brisbane fills more like a minor character than a major player.

***

Though I love series reading I sometimes find it difficult to follow story lines that cross books. This was main reason I didn’t want to read HP until all 7 books were published. But my spouse, being the good spouse that his is, bought me books 2 and 4 once upon a time. Naturally having them in house meant books 1 & 3 needed to join them. So as Harry’s story progressed with announced delivery dates I found myself going back and reading the previous book to reacquaint myself with plot lines and characters. I’m not big on rereading as there’s so much out there I want to read. If I reread to keep up with story lines I’d be denying myself the pleasure of some other really great books. Besides I don’t keep books so I’ve had to hunt up the last book in the series just to read the current one.

A good example is the story line between Julia and Brisbane. I was able to follow it without any gaps before because I read books 1 & 2 in a row. Now book 3 is here and due to writing/publishing lags I can’t recall in detail their issues because I’ve read so many other books between books 2 and 3 in this series. I know they left things rocky at the end of book 2 but the finer points escape me. I find I do better with characters that repeat but not particular story lines. Take Lt. Dallas, Rouke and the cast of characters from the In Death series. While it’s nice to know the cast of characters and some of the background you don’t to have to have with started with book 1 to read book 15 or even book 20. They can be read stand alone. The same for Vince Flynn’s Mitch Rapp series. I love Mitch and have followed him from the start but I could pick up the next in line and feel I’m not missing any of the story line if I haven’t read the other books.

***

Another pondering that you’re reading here first is I’m taking a hiatus from Up For Grabs. This is the first I’ve written about it. My mini hiatus in December opened my eyes to how much time it takes to maintain that site. While I’ve enjoyed it, for most part, other book things are calling to me and the time spent at Up For Grabs means less time devoted somewhere else. I’ve notice that my reading time is fast disappearing and that is one aspect of my live that I won’t let slip away.

***

From Wikipedia Did You Know

…that in English language works the table of contents is at the beginning of a book, but in French and Spanish ones it is at the back, by the index?

***

6 Comments
  1. January 21, 2009 4:32 pm

    I think that when what you’re doing on your book blog feels like a job that it’s time to take stock and reevaluate what you’re doing. I like your first Pondering post. I did not know that the French and Spanish put their TOCs in the back. I wonder what the thought on that is?
    **********
    I had a lot of fun writing Ponderings yesterday and I feel there might be one coming today.

  2. January 21, 2009 8:08 pm

    I agree with LH above! If it starts to seem like work, then it needs to be re-evaluated (for me, anyway!)

    Your review style should be comfortable for you — if that’s short snippets, so be it 🙂

    Will “Up for Grabs” run itself with people leaving comments in the appropriate month, or is that still a lot of upkeep?
    **********
    As for Up For Grabs it will be self-sufficient in the foreseeable future. Approving comments takes next to no time and I can check throughout the day so that there isn’t much lag time. I might even open comments up and just clean out the nasty spam that sneaks through every once in a while.

    I’ll also be listing some places to list and find book giveaways.

  3. January 22, 2009 6:57 am

    I totally understand, I am a librarian so sometimes my reading becomes more work than pleasure and I hate it. It is difficult to keep a balance of what I must read and what I want to read. I appreciate all the reading and work you put into this for us.
    **********
    LOL! Whenever I’m having a bad day at work I’ll come home and tell my spouse that all I want to really do is shelve books at the library or the local bookstore. I’d probably become the nightmare employee because I’d spend my time reading instead of shelving. 🙂

  4. January 23, 2009 10:19 am

    I really like your Ponderings post – it seems like the perfect way to organize all those little thoughts that don’t really call for a post of their own.

    Loved the fact about Tables Of Contents, I’m a sucker for trivia like this. 🙂
    **********
    Thank you. I really enjoy writing Ponderings. I’ve only written a couple of them but I’ve already noticed that it’s making a difference. I’d rather ponder a bit as I go along instead of spending time looking at my computer screen wondering how I’m going to put my feelings into a full blown book review.

  5. January 23, 2009 11:07 pm

    Hi Marcia, I have been thinking the same thing for sometime now.. planning on writing thoughts as I go along. Like you, I rather dislike writing reviews. I think after reading this I will go ahead and do just what you are doing.. I hope you don’t mind?? 😀
    **********
    Of course I don’t mind! I can’t wait to check your Ponderings.

  6. January 24, 2009 11:20 am

    On second thought.. I think it won’t be soon.. I realized I might not be able to keep up with posting as often.. but I really love this idea and will be visiting often to read your ponderings.. 🙂
    **********
    I started Ponderings with no idea how often I’d post. It
    just so happens that the last few books have been shorter than most I read so I’ve finished them over a day or so. I expect there will be times when I won’t post every day but every couple of days. That’s what Ponderings is for … to post as I please and nothing more.

Comments are closed.

