Skip to content

Noontime Book Chat | The Ride by Jane Kennedy Sutton

January 20, 2009

First of I’m offering my sincere apologies to J. Kaye and all Noontime Book Chatters here on my blog as I did tonight over at J. Kaye’s blog. I take the blame for totally being inept and messing up the book event this week. I’m letting J. Kaye decide whether she’d like to continue, in some abbreviated format, or discontinue the chat. Unfortunately I didn’t complete my homework before offering to participate and the blame fully rests on my shoulders. While I can’t undo what’s been done I can try to make amends for the error of my ways. I won’t be here at Noon MST today (Tuesday) as I have to work and therein lies the problem. I’ve posted my thoughts about the book so far and responded to J. Kaye’s post from Monday.

**********

therideWhat I found most interesting as I sat and read her comments tonight is that to a degree we feel the same about this book. I’ve read 13 of the 40 chapters or almost a 1/3 in one sitting. At times I found myself wanting to put this book down and walk away it.Yet there’s another part of me that keeps compulsively turning pages. For me I think it’s the expectation I have that this marriage will turn around, right itself or at the least that Barbie will ‘wake up and smell the roses’ so to speak. While sometimes that isn’t the case this is fiction and I’d like to write a happy ending. I believe the author will do that eventually. We just have to the get through all the burdensome stuff along the way. There isn’t one character yet in the book I like.

**********
Barbie is in a disastrous marriage. Actually it’s beyond a disastrous marriage. Then due to a death in the family she acquires the financial means to leave but is paralyzed by fear, lack of self-confidence, and very, very low self-esteem. I want drag this woman from her life and save her even as she refuses to save herself. Another major issue for Barbie is the estrangement from her daughter due to a parental disagreement over lifestyle choices. Then to stir the story some more throw into the mix the tiny tidbit about Barbie’s aunt and/or mother and you start to envision where we might be headed.

The very same day that she learns about her new wealth she meets a handsome, intriguing stranger who offers her the attention and affection she’s starved for. In typical fiction fashion things heat up fast and she’s off and running to grab the golden key before someone slams on the brakes. Mr. Handsome and Ditzy Barbie form a tentative friendship/relationship. But hold on a second there are things in Mr. Handsome’s past and some of his actions that leads one to believe he may not be what he appears. I haven’t gotten far enough into the story to find out where this plot line is headed.

**********
If you missed the Monday post and comments be sure to check out J. Kaye’s blog here.
P.s. I live in a mountain time zone.

5 Comments
  1. January 20, 2009 11:02 am

    This might be bad of me to say, but I don’t want their marriage to work out. Ken is beyond likable in my eyes. I understand there are reasons why women stay in abusive relationships. Of course, she doesn’t view this relationship as abusive. Many who are in one don’t, so I get that too. I agree…I want to shake the mess out of her. With Ken, I’d prefer to take a bat to…lol!

    I went passed the halfway mark last night. I am finding it hard to pace myself. I want to read it all now and find out what happened. The story is so off the wall, so insane and I can’t put it down. It’s almost like bizzaro fiction.

    I agree about the handsome fellow who has the hots for Barbie. Something is up with him. I don’t think he has any relationship with her hubby or I didn’t think so, but who knows at this point.

    I’ll try to pace myself. We still have two days and I want to read until the end…it’s hard not to! πŸ˜‰

  2. January 20, 2009 11:58 am

    Somehow this book is addictive when it really shouldn’t be. It’s so far out there in some aspects. I really wanted to pick it up last night but wanted to make sure I had comments and posts ready to go.

    I think the characterizaton of Ken is overboard. I think she’s intentionally written him to be this unlikable. Yes there are spouses that he could fit to a ‘T’ but she may have gone around the bend with him in this book. It don’t think it helps that she’s written such a weak female lead.

    The thing with Mr. Hansom that leads me to believe there is more going on then meets the eye is the meeting was too convenient, too easy. And they keep meeting almost every day. He shows up at the house and offers to find out what her husband is up to in the back yard. He knew her car in the parking lot w/o her telling him. He’s in the Witness Protection Program, isn’t supposed to talk about it and tells all to a woman he really doesn’t know. Things with him just don’t add up.

    I know I’ll have trouble pacing myself and expect I’ll finish sooner than Friday. It’s a short book, only 228 pages, now I’m where I just have to know how this mess turns out. It’s a fast, if not a totally satisfying, read.

  3. January 20, 2009 12:55 pm

    Oh yeah, I forgot about him knowing her car! Telling Barbie about being in the Witness Protection Program wasn’t even real. No one would do such a thing, especially to someone they didn’t know. Yes, there is more to him. I’m just not sure what. I am going to try and not read it all. Luckily I have another book I am reading too. When I feel I’m not going to be able to stop, I switch…lol! I’ll let you know tomorrow what page I stopped at. πŸ˜‰

    One thing for sure, this is an exciting read…at least for me.

  4. January 20, 2009 12:59 pm

    It’s an unrealistic, addictive, fairly entertaining read which is why it’s called fiction! πŸ™‚

Trackbacks

  1. Noontime Book Chat | The Ride by Jane Kennedy Sutton « The Printed Page

Comments are closed.

