Skip to content

Reading Journal | Seduce Me at Sunrise by Lisa Kleypas

January 16, 2009

seducemeatsunriseSeduce Me at Sunrise (The Hathaways, Book 2)
Web site for Lisa Kleypas
St. Martin, September ’08
384 pages
Historical fiction/romance/bodice ripper
Book #4/09
Challenges: Ebook
**********

From Amazon:
Kev Merripen has longed for the beautiful, well-bred Winnifred Hathaway ever since her family rescued him from the brink of death when he was just a boy. But this handsome Gypsy is a man of mysterious origins—and he fears that the darkness of his past could crush delicate, luminous Win. So Kev refuses to submit to temptation…and before long Win is torn from him by a devastating twist of fate.

Then, Win returns to England…only to find that Kev has hardened into a man who will deny love at all costs. Meantime, an attractive, seductive suitor has set his sights on Win. It’s now or never for Kev to make his move. But first, he must confront a dangerous secret about his destiny—or risk losing the only woman he has lived for…

Amazon rating: 65 reviews/4.5 stars
**********

Me: I was suffering from a fairly serious case of reading doldrums to start this year. Some of my readers suggested that a trashy novel might be just what I needed to get me out of my funk or maybe something light-hearted and fun. Thank you readers! I’m officially over the doldrums. I discovered Lisa’s books last year and I’ve been hooked ever since. While I won’t necessarily classify them as ‘trashy’ they do have their heated, scandalous bedroom moments which I won’t deny I enjoy. And even though the boy always gets the girl there’s usually a surprise or two along the way. This was the perfect book to put me back in a reading frame of mind.

4 Comments
  1. January 16, 2009 1:51 am

    Oh…please don’t call her books trashy 🙂

    I love Lisa Kleypas and i loved this book. I so want to read it again…
    **********

    But I mean ‘trashy’ in fun, entertaining way. 🙂 The toe curling, sparks flying, spine shivering way!

  2. January 16, 2009 3:59 pm

    I’m glad you’re out of your doldrums and enjoyed this one. You made me laugh out loud with your bodice ripper tag-love it!
    **********
    I have a co-worker who calls them Nickel Nasties which always draws a smile around the office.

  3. January 16, 2009 4:02 pm

    I enjoyed this book a lot. I can’t wait to find out who the next one in the series is going to be about! Can’t wait to read Leo’s book although I assume that it is going to be the last one written.
    **********
    I actually thought Leo’s book might be next because she set him up with Miss Marks. Whoever it ends up being it will be enjoyable. I love the Rom storyline but I suspect that might be coming to an end though being landed and titled gentry adds an interesting twist.

  4. January 20, 2009 11:07 am

    I always use romance novels (I call them trashy too) to get over reading boredoom and the work so well. Sometimes it takes a couple but they are so interesting and quick to read.

Comments are closed.

