Skip to content

Reading doldrums…

January 10, 2009

This dedicated bookie has the doldrums. This year is starting off kind of rough around the book edges. I know we’re only 10 days into 2009 but I have yet to find a book that really captures my attention. I’m currently reading what is book 3 for the year and admittedly it’s the best of the 3.

What could have been book 1 I didn’t even finish. Now that’s not usual for me. I’ll give a book about 50-70 pages before chucking it but to the start the year that way ugh! So books 1 and 2 I found to be disappointments. I always go in anticipating great things. Why not?

One of the books in my disappointment category is an award winning book. Me, it must be me. Maybe I’ll take a break but the thought of being bookless sends me into withdrawals. Maybe I’ll alternate what I read. For every book that has a commitment I’ll read purely for me.

OK I’m moving on now. Thanks for letting me ramble…

9 Comments
  1. January 10, 2009 5:14 pm

    I don;’t feel like I am in the doldrums, but as of this time yesterday I had only finished one book for the year! I managed to finish two more yesterday but still it is a very slow start to the year for me.

  2. January 10, 2009 5:29 pm

    I’ve been reading trashy romance novels to get me through my reading doldrums. Everything I’ve started so far has been so sad. So I read a few sad pages then read a romance. I’ll work through it 🙂

  3. January 10, 2009 5:53 pm

    Don’t worry, soon enough you’ll find a gem of a book. I go through phases like this too. Sometimes it helps me to re-read an old favorite.

  4. January 10, 2009 7:28 pm

    Sorry to see that you’re in a reading funk. Maybe something short and light would help.

  5. January 11, 2009 1:05 am

    That can be so frustrating! I totally think you should go for something that is all for you…even something light and fun. Reading should be fun! 🙂 I hope you find something to lose yourself in soon!

  6. January 11, 2009 10:06 am

    Thanks all. I see some light at the end of the tunnel and I have a sneaking suspicion that a Lisa Kleypas novel is in the offering.

  7. January 11, 2009 11:16 am

    I hope you are able to find something more engaging to read soon. I know what it’s like to feel like to be stuck like that. And as much as I hate not having a book going, sometimes what works best for me is stepping away from the books for a brief moment. Maybe it’s the withdrawals that eventually draw me back into the fold. LOL

  8. January 11, 2009 2:44 pm

    Hey! I have the schedule with the remaining book chats posted here: http://j-kaye-book-blog.blogspot.com/2009/01/reminder-noontime-book-chats.html

  9. January 11, 2009 7:49 pm

    I am dying to know which award winning book you pitched before finishing. I’m either right on board with those or wondering who picks the winners. I hope things improve for you. I like the advice about reading trashy novels to get you through.
    **********
    It was The Scent of Oranages and I actually finished it but it wasn’t an award winner for me. I’m still tossing around that idea that I expect too much or that I’m too critical of what I’m reading. I’m finding more and more that my view/opinion/thoughts seem to place me far apart from everyone else quite often. I’ll finish a book, put my thoughts to blog and then go peek at Amazon or around the blogging community and everyone but me thinks it was it was a good, or even great, read. So then I start questioning what I thought I got out the of the story versus what others are saying. I’m still mulling over my thoughts about what is available to read in today’s market. Maybe there are certain genres that are no longer for me and I should make a very concious decision to stay away completely even though it sounds tempting.

Comments are closed.

