Skip to content

Noontime Book Chat – Updates

January 6, 2009

nbc1jpg
Just a short note to let everyone know that I’ve updated the book list and created individual pages for everything NBC related. There maybe something in the new additions to spark your interest and sign up for a chat. Don’t forget you can always send me titles for consideration. Check out Noontime Book Chat on the left side bar under ‘Pages’.

In this economy buying books to participate in book events such as Noontime Book Chat is something of a luxury. One, or some of the books, may interest you but not be in your TBR piles. It’s hard to justify buying books, even used ones, when you have other financial obligations. Or if you live in area like I do with a very small library system  there may be a limited number of copies of a book, books may simply unavailable or the wait list, for popular books, is long and your name is near the bottom. I’ve been pondering this for the last few days and I’m thinking of asking a couple of my contacts in the publishing industry if they would be willing to supply books occasionally for NBC. I realize this isn’t the best of times for them either but then one never knows. I don’t what titles might be available to us but I’m sure we’d find something to spark a discussion.

If nothing else I’ll hold NBC even if it’s just me. It’ll give me an opportunity to work on reading challenges, shrink the TRB piles, avoid writing reviews which aren’t my most favorite thing, babble without a care in the world and legitimatize those conversations I’m already having with myself. At least then when I answer myself I’ll know that I’m no longer certifiable. Really I don’t mean to sound frustrated, patience is not a strong point for me. The day patience was handed out I was no where to be found. Now I’m thinking out loud and you’re reading my thoughts. You may not be able to read your spouse’s mind after all these years but you can read mine.

One Comment
  1. January 10, 2009 3:10 pm

    I’m glad you’re posting the NBCs in advance, Marcia. I hope to “chat” with you (informally!) on some of them.

Comments are closed.

