Skip to content

Noontime Book Chat – looking for hosts and book selections

January 4, 2009

Good morning all,

I’m feverishly working to get something posted before I leave for work today. For right now I’m going to throw out some book titles I have sitting in various places throughout the house just begging to be read. Some of these many of you have already read but for some of you, like me, they may be sitting in a TBR pile and you just need a little incentive to get moving on them. If you’d like to host one of these titles let me know by filling out the Contacting Marcia page. Please be sure to include which title(s) and date(s) you’d like. I will do my best accommodate all requests but they will be filled on a first come, first serve basis so be sure to include alternate titles and dates. If none of these books appeal to you please feel free to send me a title for consideration.

If you’re new to NBC you can find participant guidelines here.

**********

NBC Schedule
February 9th-13th
Book: Sarah’s Key
Hosts: Dar at
Peeking Between the Pages

February 23rd-27th
Book:
Hosts: up to 4 slots available

March 9th-13th
Book:
Hosts: up to 4 slots available

March 23rd-27th
Book:
Hosts: up to 4 slots available

**********
Available book titles

This is by no means a comprehensive list, just what I had in my line of sight. I have some ARCs and mystery/thriller/suspense to add. Don’t forget if none of these books appeal to you please feel free to send me a title for consideration. This list is subject to change at any given moment.

Fiction (some might have historical elements to them)
People of the Book by Geraldine Brooks
The Virgin of Small Plains by Nancy Pickard
Nineteen Minutes by Jodi Picoult
The Eyre Affair: A Thursday Next Novel by Jasper Fforde
The Lace Reader by Brunonia Barry
The Sonnet Lover by Carol Goodman
The Reincarnationist by M.J. Rose
The Camel Bookmobile by Masha Hamilton
Sarah’s Key by Tatiana de Rosnay

Women’s/contemporary fiction
Matrimony by Josh Henkin
Mrs. Perfect by Jane Porter
Bitter Sweets by Roopa Farooki
The Wednesday Sisters by Meg White Clayton
Souvenir by Therese Fowler
Girl’s Guide to Witchcraft by Mindy Klasky
Love the One You’re With by Emily Griffin

Historical Fiction
The Whiskey Rebels by David Liss

Memoir
From Harvey River: A Memoir of My Mother and Her Island by Lorna Goodison

One Comment
  1. January 4, 2009 10:49 pm

    Could you please tell me how this works. I don’t want to commit myself until I get the full details. If you would reply either to my blog or you can email me that would be great. It sounds very interesting but I don’t know what is involved.

    Thank You,
    Susan of Seaside Book Worm

    **********

    Hi Susan,

    Thank you for asking about hosting a Noontime Book Chat. Actually it’s pretty simple and very, very laid back.

    When 2 Bloggers Participate:
    We alternate days. I usually take Monday, which is the introduction post, and Wednesday. The co-host of the chat will take Tuesday and Thursday. On our days, we post about what section we are reading. Since we do have a life outside of blogging, usually kids and work, I’ve found it better not to assign pages. Then we both do a wrap up post on Friday.

    I look forward to hosting with you. Please let me know if there is a book on the selection list that sparks your interest.

    Complete guidelines can be found on the Noontime Book Chats page.

Comments are closed.

