Skip to content

Mailbox Monday ~ January 5th

January 4, 2009

giftbooksjpgThank you to everyone who stops by Mailbox Monday. Whether you comment or visit I appreciate your taking the time to drop in.

Mailbox Monday will be a bit different over the next few weeks. Because I’m the curious type when it comes to books (yours) and all things related feel free to show off those books, gift cards, bookmarks, book lights and covers, Amazon Kindles, Sony eBook Readers or anything else book related you may have gotten. To give everyone time to share your holiday stash all things book related may be through Monday, January 12th.

A bit of breathing room this week.

General fiction ~ Yellowknife by Steve Zipp

Christian thriller ~ Collision of Angels by Michael Carver

General fiction ~ People of the Book by Geraldine Brooks

**********

Side notes:

Lorraine Kleinwaks, VP, Book Wish Foundation sent me a note asking if I’d spread the word about a holiday book campaign for the refugees in Darfur. As reading is an important part of my life I wanted to pass this along to my all my visitors. For every two MM comments left on this blog over the next 3 weeks I will donate $1 to the holiday book campaign. MM last week raised approximately $10 for this charity. We have two weeks of fund raising to go.

Review copies available: Mainline to the Heart and Other Poems by Clive Matson. Check it out here.

Review copies available: Fiction by Ara13. Check it out here.

Come February Noontime Book Chat (NBC) previously hosted by J. Kaye is moving here to The Printed Page. You can read the moving announcement here. If you’d like to host a Noontime Book Chat please check out the NBC page.

**********

Need a break from the snow piled up outside your front door? Why not take a trip to Mexico. It won’t cost you a dime and you can come back and visit any time. (Psst … I’ve posted our vacation pics)

**********

What books came into your house last week? Don’t forget to leave a link to your Mailbox post or a list of books if you don’t have a blog.

24 Comments
  1. January 4, 2009 8:24 pm

    This is the second time I’ve come across Yellowknife on a book blog this week so I might check it out! Plus it will be good to get a Y book for the A to Z challenge I am undertaking!

    I look forward to seeing your review.

    Here is my link to my Mailbox Monday: http://findyournextbookhere.blogspot.com/2009/01/mailbox-monday-january-5-2009.html

  2. January 5, 2009 2:09 am

    I really liked The People of the Book. And I have Yellowknife and hope to read it for the Canadian Book challenge. Enjoy. I’ve posted my Mailbox Monday here:

    http://freshinkbooks.blogspot.com/2009/01/mailbox-monday.html

  3. January 5, 2009 4:21 am

    Jenners, Yellowknife is a good book. Do read it. You won’t be disappointed.

    Now for my link:

    My MM post!

  4. January 5, 2009 5:25 am

    People of the Book sounds good every time someone mentions it – I ‘m gonna have to read it soon. My mailbox is here.

  5. January 5, 2009 5:51 am

    You think you had breathing room last week – I only got one book – you can see it here.

  6. January 5, 2009 6:20 am

    Two stragglers from the holiday gift-giving season…here’s mine!

  7. January 5, 2009 6:33 am

    I have “People of the Book” on my TBR shelves. I haven’t heard of the other books you got this week. I had a bit of a break this past week as well.

    My Mailbox is Here.

  8. January 5, 2009 7:20 am

    Not one book arrived this week. I’m almost relieved – although I love to get books in the mail! Thanks for hosting this meme.

  9. January 5, 2009 7:30 am

    People of the Book sounds interesting. Hope you enjoy these.

    My Mailbox Monday is here:

    http://diaryofaneccentric.blogspot.com/2009/01/mailbox-monday.html

  10. January 5, 2009 8:00 am

    Happy New Year! I hope you had a good holiday.
    My Mailbox Monday this week is all the books I bought or acquired while I was in Canada over the holidays.
    http://tanabata.blogspot.com/2009/01/mailbox-monday-canadian-book-buying.html
    **********
    Blogger sure has a mean streak today as it won’t let me leave a comment on some blogs and others no problem. I remember the days of hauling bunches of books home and we were only crossing state lines not traveling around the world.

  11. January 5, 2009 8:39 am

    Here’s my post. Hope you have a terrific week, Marcia!

  12. January 5, 2009 8:55 am

    It’s good to have some breathing room with the ARCs every now and then. 🙂

    Here’s my post:

    http://athomewithbooks.blogspot.com/2009/01/mailbox-monday-january-5.html

  13. January 5, 2009 9:18 am

    I received Collision of Angels – it sounds interesting!

    Here’s my Mailbox!

    🙂 Wendi

  14. January 5, 2009 10:42 am

    I see someone else was going to use Yellowknife for a Y book and I was thinking of using it for a Z author!

    My post is up here: http://booksandneedlepoint.blogspot.com/2009/01/mailbox-monday-1-5-2009.html

  15. January 5, 2009 11:04 am

    My mailbox is up, here.

  16. January 5, 2009 11:05 am

    Hmm. My link dosen’t seem to be there. http://bookthoughtsbylisa.blogspot.com/2009/01/mailbox-monday.html

  17. callista83 permalink
    January 5, 2009 12:32 pm

    I got Yellowknife back during the 1st Canadian Challenge.

    Here’s my post: http://smsbookreviews.blogspot.com/2009/01/mailbox-monday-jan-5.html

  18. January 5, 2009 1:06 pm

    My post is here:
    http://shereadsandreads.blogspot.com/2009/01/mailbox-monday.html

    I cheated a little and posted about all the books I’ve received over the holidays.

  19. January 5, 2009 2:12 pm

    Hi, wonderful new blog look 🙂 Happy reading.
    **********
    Thank you. I’ve always wondered what it looks like on someone else’s computer.

  20. January 5, 2009 2:53 pm

    I was going to say the same thing as Jenners about Yellowknife!

    Here is my post.
    **********
    Blogger isn’t liking me much today so I’ll respond here. Yep you have a lot of books there but personally I think it’s good thing. Me, I’m not sure I can ever have too many.

  21. January 5, 2009 9:11 pm

    Hi, it’s my first time to join. Here’s my post: http://kissacloud.blogspot.com/2009/01/bookmooch-and-holiday-stash.html

  22. January 5, 2009 9:35 pm

    I received 3 books. Here the link to my post:

    http://teddyrose.blogspot.com/2009/01/mail-box-mondays.html

  23. January 6, 2009 8:36 pm

    I just discovered “Mailbox Monday” on another person’s blog. What a fun idea. I books and may just start joining in.

Comments are closed.

