Skip to content

December ’08 Reading Wrapup

December 30, 2008

bookpilejpgDecember was a great month of reading for me but then it usually is. For the past several years our winter vacation has fallen the first 2 weeks of the month. We don’t do anything more strenuous than laze by the pool or hang out at the beach. That said I read 15 books and almost 5,5oo pages.

Mystery/Action/Thriller/Suspense
In the Bleak Midwinter (A Rev. Clare Fergusson and Russ Van Alstyne Mystery) by Julia Spencer-Fleming
Extreme Measures: A Mitch Rapp Thriller by Vince Flynn
Salvation in Death by J.D. Robb
Your Heart Belongs To Me by Dean Koontz

Historical fiction
The Lady Elizabeth: A Novel by Alison Weir
Mine Till Midnight (The Hathaways, Book 1) by Lisa Kleypas
When Gods Die: A Sebastian St. Cyr Mystery by C.S. Harris
Sunrise by Jacquelyn Cook
The Gates Of Trevalyan by Jacquelyn Cooktrificta
The King’s Daughter. A Novel of the First Tudor Queen by Sandra Worth

Memoir
Shattered Dreams: My Life as a Polygamist’s Wife by Irene Spencer

General fiction
Enchanted, Inc. (Katie Chandler, Book 1) by Shanna Swendson. It’s a delightful read. As described at Amazon it’s Sex and the City meets Harry Potter. There are 4 books currently in print and number 5 is on hold until sales of book 3 & 4 pick up. I literally stumbled across this book while browsing and I’m glad I took the chance.
Divorcing Dwayne: A Novel J.L. Miles
The Misadventures of Oliver Booth: Life in the Lap of Luxury by David Desmond

Women’s fiction
Five Things I Can’t Live Without by Holly Shumas

**********
I usually select a favorite book or two each month but I’m not going to this time because I purposely load up on favorite authors and genres when I go on vacation. So instead I’ve decided to choose a favorite new author for December. It’s a trifecta between Sandra Worth, Shanna Swendson and Julia Spencer-Fleming.

3 Comments
  1. December 31, 2008 7:09 am

    That’s almost 4 books a week!
    **********
    Ah the pleasure of vacation. It’s the only time I’m able to read a complete book in one day. It’s unusual for me to read that many in a month so don’t expect great things in 2009.

  2. December 31, 2008 3:24 pm

    In the Bleak of Midwinter seems an appropriate title for this time of year (although not at the beach I guess). Enchanted Inc sounds good.
    **********
    Enchanted was a delight. I wasn’t sure what to expect going into to knowing that it was a mix between Sex and the City and Harry Potter but it sure was a fun read. Admittedly I’m a big HP fan but have never seen an episode of SATC so some things are unknown.

  3. December 31, 2008 8:58 pm

    Good ones!

    I plan on reading more this year but one never knows!

    *grin*

    Wishing you a great reading 2009!
    **********
    I wish I could say I’d read more this year but my reading will decrease due to some projects I’ve taken on. Oh well they’re book related so that’s a good thing.

Comments are closed.

