Skip to content

Reading Journal | We Need to Talk About Kevin by Lionel Shriver

December 15, 2008

We Need to Talk About Kevin
Harper Perennial, July ’06
432 pages
Fiction
Book provided by Every Day I Write the Book Blog as the book club read
DNF, 5 of 432 pages

**********
Gosh I hate it when I pick up a book and just know within the first few pages it’s going to be one I won’t finish. Unfortunately for this book I won’t even give myself for credit for starting it. I read the very first page and I just knew I wasn’t going to read it. I did manage five pages before calling it quits. I absolutely can’t stand the writing style.

Whatever you do don’t judge this book by my statement here. Over at Amazon it’s rated 4 stars so I’m definitely in the minority on this one. Check out the online discussion of We Need to Talk About Kevin.

7 Comments
  1. December 15, 2008 6:03 pm

    Sorry this book didn’t work out for you.

  2. December 15, 2008 7:49 pm

    I’m so sorry you were not able to get into this book. I loved it, but I can definitely see how it’s not for everyone.

  3. December 16, 2008 1:24 am

    I have read a lot of good reviews of this book. But i know when you say this books was not for you.

  4. December 16, 2008 8:36 am

    I’m sorry you didn’t like the book. It took me awhile to get into, so I can see where you’re coming from. I thought it was only okay at first and I kept reading so I’d have something to say for the book club. At about page 100, I was hooked. I ended up really liking the book and Shriver’s writing style. I will say the book was extremely disturbing…one of the most disturbing I’ve read to be honest.

  5. December 16, 2008 11:17 am

    wow, anna at Diary of an Eccentric read it and liked it, but she also told me it was disturbing. I can’t wait to check out her copy…though I will have to since I have too many others to read.

  6. December 17, 2008 12:05 pm

    I’m just curious (haven’t read or even heard of the book until seeing it here), but what was it about the writing style that made you decide it wasn’t a reader?

    One thing I try to do with the books whose writing style doesn’t call to me in the very beginning is flip to the center of the book and start reading at the top of the page to see if maybe the style changes somewhere along the lines. If it does, then I’ll try to stick it out (it was that way with a novel I read a couple months back), otherwise it’s a definitely no-reader. LOL

    **********
    My usual rule of thumb is 50 pages, give or take, before walking away from a book. In this case I knew before I was done with page 1 that I wasn’t going to read this book if I’m absolutely honest. You ask what it was about the writing style that made my decision? I’ve never really been able to describe it beyond knowing what it is I like to read, what appeals to me, a ‘go with my gut’ feeling. This story line captured my interest and still does but upon starting to read things changed. I guess the best way to describe it is the book is too literary for my tastes though I’m not really sure that is apt description. I’ll even hazard a guess that in the hands of a different writer I may have read this book because I’m still interested in the story especially after reading the discussion going on at Every Day I Write the Book.

    Another way to put it: I don’t want to have ‘think’ too hard when I read. I want to be entertained.

  7. December 17, 2008 2:49 pm

    Oh that sucks that you couldn’t get into this book, I hate when that happens. Sometimes I actually feel guilty when I cannot get at least a quarter way through a book 😦

Comments are closed.

