Skip to content

The coolest thing on vacation yesterday – 12/4/08

December 4, 2008

My hubby forgot we are traveling with a laptop so he didn’t bring the camera USB cable silly man. We did look at the turtle pictures on the camera last night and they are pretty cool so as soon as we get home and settled I’ll upload some to site.

So yesterday’s adventure was totally unexpected and not one I’d say in hindsight I was looking forward to. We needed to go into Playa del Carmen to the Walmart. Yep you’re seeing that correctly. Playa has a Walmart. And yes they have a Starbucks also. On the way we had an unexpected stop – the military police.

We hitched a ride on the local collectivo (shuttle bus) and we’re minding our own business going down the highway when we see the military people pulling over random vehicles at a checkpoint. These guys are in full gear including machines guns! So, of course, our ride is flagged over. I gently reminded my smart mouthed hubby to keep his comical thoughts to himself. We all piled off and stood by the side of the road while they inspected our ride and then sent us on our way.

I’m thinking today we’ll stick to the beach and snorkeling this afternoon.

BTW – I am getting some reading done. I’ve read The Bleak Mid Winter by Julie Spencer-Fleming(?) and I’m almost done with The Lady Elizabeth by Alison Weir. I enjoyed The Bleak Mid Winter but must admit I’m slogging my way through The Lady Elizabeth and really can’t wait to move on to something else. I enjoyed Innocent Traitor by Ms. Weir so I was looking forward to The Lady Elizabeth. I’m finding it really slow going and repetitive.

2 Comments
  1. December 5, 2008 8:17 am

    Wow, talk about an adventure. Sounds like you are having a great time though.

  2. December 5, 2008 12:56 pm

    Okie dokie-that would have scared the poop out of me. lol. Glad you’re having fun. Can’t wait to see some pics.

Comments are closed.

