Skip to content

Mailbox Monday ~ November 17th

November 17, 2008

Thank you to everyone who stops by Mailbox Monday. Whether you comment or visit I appreciate your taking the time to drop in.

Here’s what come into my house last week. I did a little more shopping for vacation and others were requested books.

Police mystery ~ Salvation in Death by J.D. Robb

Fiction ~ Matrimony by Josh Henkin. This is for my Raved-About Reads challenge. Might as well do a little ‘work’ while I’m poolside.

Non-fiction ~ Forever Lily: An Unexpected Mother’s Journey to Adoption in China by Beth Nonte Russell

Fiction ~ We Need to Talk About Kevin by Lionel Shriver. This is the book club selection at Every Day I Write The Book

Women’s fiction ~ Five Things I Can’t Live Without by Holly Shumas. Ms. Shumas’ tour is stopping by TPP on January 15th to promote her newest book, Love and Other Natural Disasters which I just know will be on the doorstep when I get back from vacation.

**********

Side note:
For those of you who asked last week how I like my Kindle ~ I love it and have since I got it last May. I’m not a traditionalist in the sense that I need to read a paper book. I don’t need the feel of a book in my hands nor do I need to turn pages. For me the story is more important than the package it comes in.

A major selling point was traveling. I’m able to take as many books with me as I want and they never weigh more than 10.8 ounces! No more traveling with heavy luggage or worrying about possibly being charged those nasty fees for overweight bags.

Another major selling point was bestsellers. I just bought the brand new J.D. Robb bestseller for $9.99 and had it downloaded to my Kindle in 30 seconds. Price point, no more library hold lists, no waiting for the paperback edition, no paper book to find a home for and lastly once I’ve bought the Kindle edition I have it forever. I can unload and reload to my Kindle as many times as I want for no additional cost.

**********

It will be quieter around The Printed Page for the first week or two of December as I’ll be on the beaches of Mexico. Mailbox Monday will post while I’m on vacation. Even though I won’t be able to visit your posts until we get back please be sure to stop by and visit the mailbox.

There will also be a book giveaway going on. Be sure to check for that.

**********

What books came into your house last week? Don’t forget to leave a link to your Mailbox post or a list of books if you don’t have a blog.

34 Comments
  1. November 17, 2008 12:29 am

    Great books – I really want to read We Need To Talk About Kevin, I’ve heard wonderful things about it.

    And you’re so lucky to be going to Mexico! Hope you have a fantastic holiday 🙂

    Here is my post for today

    Happy Monday everyone !

  2. November 17, 2008 1:44 am

    I read and reviwed Matrimony, I think you’ll like it. I’m jealous about Mexico because it’s getting cold here. have fun. My MM is up.

  3. November 17, 2008 5:59 am

    I also have Forever Lily, Matrimony, and We Need to Talk About Kevin. I’ll be looking out for your reviews!

    My Mailbox is here.

    Thanks again for hosting!

  4. November 17, 2008 6:01 am

    Oops! That link doesn’t work. Here’s the correct one:

    http://diaryofaneccentric.blogspot.com/2008/11/mailbox-monday-just-tad-early.html

    Sorry ’bout that!

  5. November 17, 2008 6:41 am

    Enjoy Mexico! My post is here!

  6. November 17, 2008 6:44 am

    I just left a comment but nothing showed up. My internet connection has been up and down all weekend. I’m going to try one more time. If it doesn’t work, I’m going to leave it alone!

    Enjoy Mexico! My post is here!

  7. November 17, 2008 6:55 am

    As usual, you got some good ones. I hope you have a great time in Mexico! I think a Kindle would be perfect for traveling, but I don’t go anywhere, so I guess I won’t be getting one. Here’s my post for today.

  8. November 17, 2008 7:08 am

    Marcia – What part of Mexico? Sounds WONDERFUL.

    I’m glad you’re enjoying the Kindle. It would be great to travel with!

    My Mailbox Monday is HERE or if that link doesn’t work, here:

    http://blog.literarily.com/2008/11/17/mailbox-monday.aspx

  9. November 17, 2008 7:27 am

    Here’s my post, lots of book came in!

  10. November 17, 2008 8:02 am

    YAY for vacation in Mexico! That sounds like where I should be! My MM post is up here.

  11. November 17, 2008 8:02 am

    Matrimony is good!

    I wish to read the Russell book!

    Here is mine:

    http://readingandmorereading.blogspot.com/2008/11/mailbox-mondaysmusing-monday-17-nov.html

  12. November 17, 2008 9:24 am

    I’m jealous about Mexico, too! A trip to somewhere warm would be nice, just for a change of pace (though normally I don’t mind the cold).

    Here’s my MM post for today.

  13. November 17, 2008 9:51 am

    I received a collectible I’d been coveting for some time!
    Here’s my post for this week

  14. November 17, 2008 10:10 am

    Have fun in Mexico, you lucky girl!

    Here’s the link to my post.

  15. November 17, 2008 10:19 am

    You got some good books there. I still have Matrimony to review one of these days. I’m really gemming over you going to Mexico especially as it’s snowing here again. I hope you have a great time! Anyhooooo, here is my mailbox for today:
    http://peekingbetweenthepages.blogspot.com/2008/11/mailbox-monday-nov-17.html

  16. Amy permalink
    November 17, 2008 10:39 am

    HERE is my post.

    Happy Monday! 🙂

    Amy
    http://readingtoolate.net

  17. November 17, 2008 10:46 am

    I read a review at a few sites, and it looks really good!

    Here’s my Mailbox!

    🙂 Wendi

  18. November 17, 2008 10:57 am

    Here’s mine.

  19. November 17, 2008 12:15 pm

    In case my link didn’t work:

    http://wendisbookcorner.blogspot.com/2008/11/mailbox-monday_17.html

    🙂

  20. November 17, 2008 1:02 pm

    This is my first time participating!!

    Here is my post:

    http://worldaccordingtobooks.blogspot.com/2008/11/mailbox-monday-is-hosted-by-marcia-at.html

  21. November 17, 2008 1:25 pm

    Here’s my post for Mailbox Monday at Redlady’s Reading Room.

    Your vacation to Mexico sounds wonderful! Sitting on the beach in December sounds so nice…I’m envious!!

    Thanks for sharing your thoughts about the Kindle. It sounds perfect for traveling. I am on the fence about this…It is pricey but sounds like a cool gadget and would definitely allow more space on the book shelves. I like to have a book in my hands so I would miss that. I have heard nothing but positive things about using it so that is good!

  22. November 17, 2008 2:58 pm

    Have a great time in Mexico! I’ll be curious to hear what you think of Forever Lily.

    My Mailbox Monday is here:
    http://shereadsandreads.blogspot.com/2008/11/mailbox-monday_17.html

  23. November 17, 2008 4:53 pm

    Great books! I want to read Matrimony at some point.

    Here is what I got this week:

    http://marireads.blogspot.com/2008/11/mailbox-monday-111708.html

  24. November 17, 2008 5:22 pm

    I actually got a book this week:

    Mailbos monday is here
    http://booksbooksthemagicalfruit.blogspot.com/

  25. November 17, 2008 5:43 pm

    I think in terms of traveling a kindle would be best, but I still love the feel of a book in my hands and turning the pages.

  26. November 17, 2008 6:51 pm

    The more I hear about the Kindle, the more wonderful it sounds. I’m still not sure I want to switch to e-books to that extent, but it’s tempting. It’s tempting.

    My mailbox post is here.
    **********
    I love, love, love your blog background. It’s beautiful. I would have left a comment over there but couldn’t figure out how ~ sorry.

  27. November 17, 2008 9:33 pm

    I hope that you have a wonderful vacation. Beaches in Mexico sounds so nice esp since Chicago had a little bit of snow today.

    I have been thinking about purchasing a Kindle, but the cost is still a little to high for me.

    Here is the link to my Mailbox Monday
    http://readingmama.blogspot.com/2008/11/mailbox-musing.html

  28. November 17, 2008 10:53 pm

    Been gone all day, Grandma had to take her granddaughter shopping at the Galleria. I was just the chauffeur.

    Anyway, mine’s finally up:

    http://texasbookwoman.blogspot.com/2008/11/mailbox-monday-nov-17.html

  29. November 18, 2008 2:58 am

    A bit late but mine’s here.

    I just got a copy of Forever Lily too. Have a fabulous time in Mexico!

  30. November 18, 2008 9:57 am

    A little late but mine’s up!

    http://msbookish.com/mailbox-monday-on-a-tuesday/

    I would love to get a Kindle, but I don’t think I can get one yet here in Canada …

  31. November 18, 2008 5:15 pm

    I just visited the MM posts for this week and there are some wonderful sounding books to be had. My MM wish list has some new additions.

  32. November 23, 2008 4:02 pm

    I’m doing the Let’s Talk About Kevin bookclub too. Hope you enjoy Mexico!

Trackbacks

  1. Mailbox Monday « Carol’s Notebook
  2. Mailbox Monday « Carol’s Notebook

Comments are closed.

