Skip to content

Book Review | Odd Mom Out by Jane Porter

November 13, 2008

Odd Mom Out (Amazon link)
Web site for Jane Porter
5 Spot, September ’07
432 pages
Women’s fiction
Book provided by Hachette Book Group USA
Book #103/08

While I didn’t enjoy this book quite as much as I did Flirting with Forty I still found this a very entertaining read. I actually identified more with the 4th grader in this book than I did with the mom. It took me back to my latter elementary school and early junior high years. Those days of yearning to be a part of the popular crowd. To fit in and hang out with the cool kids.

I found the stereo-typical descriptions of the ‘Bellevue Moms’ to be laugh out funny. I lived on the ‘East side’ for several years surrounded by McMansions and Microsoft millionaires. Having to be groomed to the nines before leaving the house, driving the status vehicle and attending only the most coveted, invitation only functions. You see plenty of women, and families, who fit this mold perfectly. That’s not say they all do because a vast number of them don’t but the ones that do fit it to a ‘T’. And just like school if you weren’t part of the ‘in crowd’ then you’re on the outside looking in, pressing your nose up against the glass.

While I have been out of the dating scene for a number of years (20+) I could understand the cold feet feeling and the wanting to protect yourself from hurt.

Where I couldn’t identify was parenting, single or otherwise. I don’t have children. Ask my nephews and they’ll most likely tell that’s good thing because I can be mighty scary to small children. I also work for a large company so working for myself doesn’t figure into the mix.

But this was still a very funny, insightful read and I truly enjoyed the story overall. Any mother, or father for that matter, will easily understand the ups and downs of this story ~ a 10 year old going on 30, being there for family and employer ~ and commiserate with our main characters.

Once again it felt like going home to the Pacific Northwest. It made me realize how much I miss some of my life over there but not enough to move back and change the life I have now.

3 Comments
  1. November 13, 2008 5:17 pm

    I can’t wait to start the Jane Porter books. It looks like they’re pretty quick reads.
    **********
    They are a quick read but fun. I’m just starting ‘The Frog Prince’.

  2. Lori Barnes permalink
    November 14, 2008 3:25 pm

    I really enjoyed this book, my interest was held threw out . I also have flirting with 40 and her newest one Mrs. Perfect( i think the title is) i haven’t read those 2 yet.
    **********
    I did enjoy this just not quite as much as ‘Flirting with Forty’. Still a good read though.

Trackbacks

  1. Odd Mom Out « Jackets & Covers

Comments are closed.

