Skip to content

Book Review | Flirting with Forty by Jane Porter

November 11, 2008

Flirting with Forty (Amazon link)
Web site for Jane Porter
5 Spot, May ’08
368 pages
Women’s fiction
Book provided by Hachette Book Group USA
Book #102/08

I’ve found myself another new women’s fiction author that I adore ~ Jane Porter. Two in the space of month or so is unusual for me. The other being Katherine Center but this is Jane’s post so back to Flirting with Forty.

I went into this book with some hesitancy. I didn’t honestly think this would be my kind of book. I had this notion in mind that I wouldn’t like it but still it had been on my reading list for book club. Well I was so far off base with my shortsighted assumption that I laughed at myself, really laughed. Considering this is my birthday month and I’ll be seven years the other side of forty I had a great time reading this book.

The highs and lows, the ups and downs. We’ve all been there and done that many, many times. There were pieces and parts of this story that I identified closely with and others that I only wished for ~ from a far. The struggles to raise good kids, to be there for them and everyone else who wants a piece of your time. Juggling work schedules, a home, a marriage or divorce. Where’s the time for yourself when all is said and done at the end of the day? Girlfriends that have your best interest at heart but it feels like they’re your mother! For gosh sakes you just want to live your live on your terms everyone else be damned. You’re a big girl, you make adult decisions and can look out for yourself or can you?

So you go on girls’ weekend only it turns out to be you alone, by yourself, for your four-O birthday. Bummer but then maybe not. You meet an island surf instructor 10 years your junior. By god the man is beyond beautiful and you have fling. Only this fling turns into something more. You want the something more, you’ve earned it, you’re entitled. But then life and friends step in to derail you. 

There were laughs, big belly laughs. There were a few near tears. There was light-hearted everyday insight without the heavy feeling. And yes there was romance ~ sexy, fun, heated, goose bumpy for the 40+ crowd. And plenty of purely enjoyable moments between the pages of Flirting with Forty. If you’re looking to settle down for an enjoyable weekend read you most likely won’t go wrong with this book.

Another plus for me I feel like it was back in my home city and state. I knew the places, the roads, the sights, the sounds and the scenes. I got to go home again without all the hassles that some times brings.

6 Comments
  1. November 11, 2008 6:33 pm

    I just scanned over your review, because this one is near the top of my TBR pile, but I am really glad to see it’s so good.
    **********
    Miriam comes up with the best books to tour. I’ll be thinking of you all while I’m way down South.

  2. November 11, 2008 7:42 pm

    Thanks for the shout-out in this lovely post! So glad to be a new fave!
    **********
    You’re welcome. Feel free to pop in anytime you’re cruising blogs.

  3. November 11, 2008 9:59 pm

    This is a wonderful review, Marcia. I love the way that you wrote this and it definitely gives me a feel for what the book is like. As I am in my late 30s, 40 is definitely on my mind. I’m kind of excited about it. Why not?
    **********
    As soon as I can pry it out of the hands of the f2f book clubs gals I’ll drop it in the mail to you.

  4. November 13, 2008 9:29 am

    You will find with all of Jane’s books that you can identify. For me it was The Frog Prince.

    BTW, Flirting with 40 debuts on Lifetime TV on December 6th. Stop by at Jane’s blog for details should you want to host a party.
    **********
    Thanks for the heads up. Actually I’m part of an upcoming tour blog hosted by Hachette but had to start my posts a bit early as I’ll be on the beaches soaking up the sun on the tour date.

  5. November 13, 2008 5:00 pm

    I have this book set up to do as a blog tour on December 5th but I have read all 4 of Jane Porter’s books. I found this book the weakest for me and I preferred “Odd Mom Out”.
    They were all enjoyable reads though.
    **********
    I think it would be fun to run a poll among the tour participants and see which book comes out as the collective favorite.

  6. November 14, 2008 7:10 pm

    I love the description of this book. I had a great 40th bday celebration on a long weekend away with my husband, not the situation the protagonist finds herself in, but I’m betting there are still many ways I would identify with her!

    Thanks for sharing a great review!
    **********
    Welcome to your 40s. They’ve been my best years yet!

Comments are closed.

