Skip to content

Author Interview & giveaway: Cyndia Depre

November 7, 2008

cyndiapic2Today it’s my pleasure to welcome Cyndia Depre to The Printed Page. Ms. Depre is the author of Amanda’s Rib and Oblivious. Ms. Depre graciously took time from her writing schedule to answer some questions.

TPP: When and why did you begin writing?
CD: I didn’t start until my mid-forties. It was something I’d always wanted to do, and it hit me that I better get started! I had no idea what I was getting into. Writing is much, much more than putting words on paper.

TPP: When did you first consider yourself a writer?
CD: I’m not sure I do even now. There’s so much to learn, so many ways to keep trying to be better. I was at a party recently and someone said, “Oh, the author!” I got excited and asked who? Where? She meant me! LOL

TPP: What inspired you to write your first book?
CD: Oprah. Or her show. I saw another victim being blamed by the audience for something they clearly didn’t understand or empathize with, and it made me kind of irritated. I’d seen and heard it all before, but this was the last straw, so to speak. So I decided to write a book about how difficult it is to be a victim and feel helpless to change your situation. We all deal with problems differently, so I chose one way and went with it.

TPP: What was the hardest part of writing your book?
CD: It’s very difficult putting emotions into words in a clear, concise way. I want readers to feel they hear and see the characters. To identify with them in some way. To care about them. Self-editing is extremely important because it’s easy to give useless information. Decide what matters and get rid of the rest. Learning the seemingly endless rules is another hurdle.

TPP: What do you see as the influences on your writing?
CD: I really care about people. When they hurt, I feel so bad for them. And when they’re happy, I am, too. If I see something I consider wrong, I like to address it. In Amanda’s Rib I did so in a serious way. In Oblivious I explored an issue in a humorous (I hope) way. I think it’s important to avoid judging people, because we’re all flawed. Seeing some kind of injustice or inequity inspires me to write a story about it.

TPP: Who is your favorite author and what is it that really strikes you about their work?
CD: I really love Dennis Lehane. He writes characters I want to hug. Or slap. Or give a good talking to. Or make tomato soup and grilled cheese sandwiches for. In other words, I love deep characters, good and bad, and he’s super at writing them.

TPP: Can you share a little of your current work with us?
CD: A woman is missing and everyone assumes she’s off on one of her frequent vacations. Everyone but Olivia and Amanda, characters from the first two books. They think she was murdered, and set about proving it. This is a stand-alone, even though it has characters from previous books. New protagonists are the focus in this one.

TPP: What book(s) are you reading now?
CD: The Brass Verdict, Michael Connelly’s newest. So far it’s super. He’s another favorite author.

TPP: Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest?
CD: Funny you should ask. I just came across a great new one. New to me, at least. Chelsea Cain. I was in the mood to read a new author and saw Heartsick. It grabbed me right away, and when I finished I was delighted to see she has a new one out. Sweetheart. I ordered it immediately.

TPP: Do you have anything that you want to say to your readers?
CD: I love hearing from readers, and think most writers do. Never think dropping an author an email is bothering them. Heck, an email can be the most inspiring thing in my day!

**********
I recently read and reviewed Oblivious and now I’m giving away a signed copy to one of my readers.

All you have to do is follow the entry guidelines. You must answer a simple question for your entry to be included. If you don’t include the answer in your comment you will be excluded.

1~ Who is Cyndia’s newest ‘favorite’ author?

2 ~ Please include your answer and contact information in your comment. No answer, no entry.

3 ~ US and Canadian mailing addresses only please.

4 ~ Important dates: Giveaway closes Thursday, November 13th with winner announced Friday, November 14th.

**********

You can check Cyndia’s other tour stops by visiting Pump Up Your Book virtual tour page.

Thank you Tracee for setting up this tour stop.
pumpupbanner1112

28 Comments
  1. lindymc permalink
    November 7, 2008 6:07 am

    I’d love to win a copy of Oblivious. Cyndia’s newest favorite author is Chelsea Cain. You can reach me at lcbrower at cableone dot net.

  2. November 7, 2008 9:51 am

    I’d love to be entered. Her newest favorite author is Chelsea Cain.

    diaryofaneccentric[at]hotmail[dot]com

  3. Darby Lohrding permalink
    November 7, 2008 10:05 am

    Cyndia’s favorite author is Dennis Lehane, I’m not sure if he is “new” to her or not, sounds like she has read alot by him (I’m going to check him out now, per her recommendation). The latest book she is reading is Michael Connelly’s newest “The Brass Verdict” (on my tbr….I love his books).
    Nice interview..please enter me,
    Thanks
    Darby
    darbyscloset at yahoo dot com

  4. November 7, 2008 10:24 am

    There’s nothing I like better than a good interview, and this certainly qualifies. Thanks Marcia, for being part of Cyndia’s tour!

  5. Becca permalink
    November 7, 2008 2:46 pm

    Please enter me! Cyndia’s newest favorite author is Chelsea Cain.
    rebecca.bradeen(at)verizon(dot)net

  6. November 7, 2008 3:31 pm

    I’d love to be entered! (Cyndia’s new favorite author is Chelsea Cain.)

    Thanks!

    bookopolis at live dot com

  7. amandasue permalink
    November 7, 2008 4:08 pm

    Chelsea Cain is Cyndia Depre’s newest favorite author. Which I am now interested in too! And Cyndia’s book sounds really good thanks for endering me.

  8. Cyndia permalink
    November 7, 2008 5:26 pm

    Thanks to all who enter the contest. I sincerely wish I could give you each a signed copy! Darn budget. Wouldn’t it be lovely to have unlimited funds and you could give things to people just for the asking?

    Cyn

  9. November 8, 2008 6:39 am

    Her newest favorite author is Chelsea Cain. Thanks for the giveaway. lauren.m.delacruz at gmail.com

  10. Yan permalink
    November 8, 2008 3:39 pm

    That would be Chelsea Cain =) Love to be entered~

    ylin.0621[at]yahoo.com

  11. November 8, 2008 4:18 pm

    Cyndia’s new fav author is Chelsea Cain. Thanks for the great interview!

    shelcowsATgmailDOTcom

  12. Angela permalink
    November 8, 2008 5:40 pm

    Her newest favorite author is Chelsea Cain. Maybe Cyndia will become my newest favorite if I win a copy of her book!

  13. November 9, 2008 8:37 am

    She likes Chelsea Cain. Thanks for the interview and giveaway. fourkidsrgreat(at)gmail(dot)com

  14. November 9, 2008 1:51 pm

    Great interview! Cyndia’s book sound so good and I love a touch of humor. I look forward to reading all of her books. Cyndia’s new favorite author is Chelsea Cain (I want to read hers too!). Best wishes to her for much success.

  15. Jeanette Jackson permalink
    November 9, 2008 3:59 pm

    It sounds like a great book to read. Her newest is Chelsea Cain

  16. Darby Lohrding permalink
    November 9, 2008 9:54 pm

    Whoops, I goofed in my earlier entry! I guess once I thought I had commited the above mentioned authors to memory I didn’t register the author “Chelsea Cain”!.
    Since my first entry I have taken her recommendation and ordered one of Dennis’s books from Amazon!
    Thanks
    Darby
    darbyscloset at yahoo dot com

  17. Theresa N permalink
    November 10, 2008 5:16 am

    Sounds like a book I’d enjoy. Her newest favorite author is Chelsea Cain. Thanks:)
    Theresa N
    weceno(at)yahoo(dot)com

  18. November 10, 2008 9:50 am

    Chelsea Cain is her newest favorite author. Thanks for entering my name!

  19. November 10, 2008 11:23 am

    She likes Dennis Lehane, but her favorite new author is Chelsea Cain.

    akreese (at) hotmail (dot) com

  20. Daisy permalink
    November 10, 2008 11:31 am

    It’s Chelsea Cain.

    Wow! This sounds like a good read. Hope I can get it!
    Thanks for entering my name!

    dsym_06 AT yahoo DOT com

  21. November 10, 2008 12:47 pm

    Her new favorite author is Dennis Lehane, and I would love to start reading his books too! I love characters that you either want to slap or hug! Fantastic.

    I’d love to be entered win this book as well.

    savvyverseandwit AT gmail DOT com

  22. Carol permalink
    November 10, 2008 3:37 pm

    Chelsea Cain for new authors.

    I’d love to ve entered.

    djecse at yahoo dot com

  23. Carol M permalink
    November 10, 2008 7:36 pm

    Chelsea Cain is her new favorite author.
    Thanks for the chance to wina copy of Oblivious !
    Carol M
    mittens0831 AT aol.com

  24. November 11, 2008 3:21 pm

    Chelsea Cain is the newest author on her faves list. Thanks!

    jgbeads AT gmail DOT com

  25. Sarah S permalink
    November 12, 2008 2:08 pm

    Cyndia Depre says she really loves Dennis Lehane. Chelsea Cain is just a new author that has caught her interest. Thanks!

    adamnsarahsmall@yahoo.com

  26. November 12, 2008 6:08 pm

    Well this really kind of confused me. Although she put Dennis LeHane as a favorite author she listed Chelsea Cain as a new author that she really liked (grasped her interest)…I loved the interview. I found it inspiring that Cyndia began writing in her 40s! Way to go!

    kalea_kane(at)yahoo(dot)com

  27. Jess Bair permalink
    November 12, 2008 8:00 pm

    I’d looove to read this book! Though Cyndia loves Dennis Lehane, her interest has been caught by Chelsea Cain.

    sweetiejb@hotmail.com

  28. Lori Barnes permalink
    November 13, 2008 9:29 am

    okay a little tricky here Cyndia says she loves Dennis Lehane and that was how she responded to the question for a favorite author. So… I’m going with that answer wonderful interview and the book sounds wonderful I would love my name entered in the drawing, Thanks!
    photoquest(at)bellsouth(dot)net

Comments are closed.

