Skip to content

Book Review | Oblivious by Cyndia Depre

November 6, 2008

Oblivious
Web site of Cyndia Depre
Mundania Press LLC, February ’08
280 pages
Cozy mystery, chick lit, romance
Book provided by the author
Book #95

First off I’ll tell you I had fun reading this book. Normally that’s not a word I use to describe a book but it fits this book perfectly. And I typically wouldn’t read a book with a lead character written as beguilingly air-headed as Olivia but I did. I intend to read Ms. Depre’s first book, Amanda’s Rib, and her third book which she is currently working on that involves both Amanda and Olivia. I’ll also tell you that this book won’t be for everyone. Most people will find the female lead way too saccharine sweet and naive for their taste but therein lies the fun part. Olivia Chatham is unlike any character I’ve come across. She lives up to the book’s title, Oblivious, but I believe that was Ms. Depre’s intention in creating this character. She uses Olivia as a foil to the other characters in this book. I also don’t think I’ll ever come across anyone who is as engaging charming and genuine as Olivia. Now I’ll admit towards the end she did tend to wear on me a bit but not enough to put this book down. While I couldn’t take her in large doses which means ‘real life’ I did enjoy spending time with her and her fellow characters.

This book is peppered with the usual characters you’d find in a cozy or even, romantic, mystery. There is, of course, the victim with a bit of a shady history, the amature sleuth joined by friends and a love interest who not only want to help solve the mystery but protect their friend from any harm directed her way. You have the small town sheriff who actually knows his stuff but doesn’t let on, his deputies who need a little help from our amature sleuths and the assorted murder suspects.

If you’re looking for a fun, breezy, while away the day beach-style read this is the perfect book to stasify that need.

**********

Tomorrow, November 7th, I will have an interview with Cyndia and a signed copy of Oblivious to giveaway.

5 Comments
  1. November 6, 2008 7:17 am

    Sometimes this is exactly the kind of book I need.
    **********
    It was a nice change of pace from the hard core mysteries I seem to read so much of.

  2. November 6, 2008 10:14 am

    Thanks so much for hosting Cyndia on her virtual book tour. Glad you liked the book!
    **********
    You’re welcome. It’s been a great experience.

  3. Cyndia permalink
    November 6, 2008 12:21 pm

    Thanks so much for the lovely review! I’m having trouble with my computer (storms), so if this shows up twice, I apologize. I don’t know where Olivia came from because I usually read more serious mysteries. An exception is the late, great, Lawrence Sanders and his McNally series. Olivia just came to me from nowhere. Maybe as a reminder that people are basically good. It was fun to write her because I smiled as I worked! I sure wish Chatham, Wisconsin was real. I’d pack up and move there today!
    **********
    You’re welcome. Hosting the tour has been great fun. Lets get the moving trucks rolling! I, too, wish for towns like Chatham.

  4. November 7, 2008 9:50 am

    Sounds like an interesting character and story. Looking forward to your interview!

Trackbacks

  1. TSS/Review: Oblivious « Book Addiction

Comments are closed.

