Skip to content

Reading Journal | The Shack by William P. Young

November 5, 2008

Web site for The Shack
Windblown Media; 1st edition July ’08
Hachette Book Group USA; Windblown Media
256 pages
Christian fiction
Raved-About Reads Challenge
DNF; 114 of 256 pages

This book has been the ‘talk of the town’ so it made my Raved-About Reading Challenge list. This book is way outside my usual reading genre. I knew it would be a stretch beyond my comfort zone to finish. I knew going into this book that there would be strong christian themes. I was prepared for them. But this book is way over the top. It’s so ‘in my face’ and overbearing that I put it down. This book is exactly the reason I don’t attend organized church services. I don’t need my belief system feed to me. The characterizations of God, Jesus and the Holy Spirit are just too new age to for me. Not that I’m a traditionalist but this is out in left field.

I have a relationship with my God and faith and it works for me. In the end it’s between my God and me and no one else.

Comments are closed.

