Skip to content

Raved-About Reads Challenge

November 4, 2008

rave_reads4
I think the Raved-About Reads Challenge will be interesting. I’m taking this challenge a bit more personally than I might some others that interest me. I don’t usually tend to read what everyone else is reading or talking about unless it suites me to do so. Usually I find myself disappointed by a book that’s considered a ‘must read’ as in ‘you really must read this book’. My reply is ‘why must I read it’? What is it about the book that makes it so good? Will it really live up to all the hype it’s gotten? Will I feel let down and disappointed?

Come on convince me!

I’m thinking my list will have books that won’t necessarily appeal to me but if I’m not breaking the bank to get my hands on them I’ll give ’em a try, maybe. There maybe a book or two that will never move from unread to read but they’re raved about so they make the list.

1 ~ The Shack by William P. Young. With 1,700+ reviews on Amazon someone’s raving about it.
2 ~ Twilight by Stephenie Meyer. I absolutely don’t ever read books with vampires in them. This is a hard and fast rule of mine but with 2,600+ reviews on Amazon and the books every where I turn it’s got to make the list but I’m betting myself it won’t get read. If you want to see it move from unread to read you’ll need to convince me.
3 ~ The Lace Reader by Brunonia Barry. This one is loaded on the Kindle and ready to go.
4 ~ Matrimony by Josh Henkin. I’ve seen this one all over the book blogs this summer and fall.
5 ~ Sarah’s Key by Tatiana Rosnay. Already in the TBR pile.
6 ~ Edgar Sawtelle by David Wroblewski. It isn’t on the list because of Oprah. I knew about it before she selected it.
7 ~ The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society by Mary Ann Shaffer and Annie Barrows.

3 Comments
  1. November 4, 2008 4:30 pm

    What a fun challenge! The only one of the books I’ve read is Guernsey and I loved it. Good luck.
    **********
    See I knew there a good reason ‘Guernsey’ made my challenge list. You and I seem to read a lot of the same books. I like this challenge because it’s perpetual so I don’t feel rushed to get books read.

  2. November 4, 2008 5:16 pm

    I’ve read 3 of the 7 on your list (The Shack, The Lace Reader, and The Guernsey Literary…). They are REALLY different books. The Shack is so controversial but it can promote fantastic discussion about theology. Even if you don’t like it, it gets people talking about very deep issues/beliefs. It can be quite hokey and downright annoying, but in my experience, the conversations it sparked were excellent. I hated the Lace Reader (It’s on my books that should’ve been better list). I was really disappointed- the main character drove me insane. BUT, I’m the only person who seems to think this. I was genuinely surprised to like The Guernsey Literary…. It had been so hyped but I did find it to be a little gem. It’s not Tolstoy, but hey, it’s an enjoyable read with compelling characters and it will be an excellent film. Can’t wait to hear how you do on this challenge. I’ve got Edgar Sawtelle on my list, too. We’ll see.
    **********
    Well ‘The Shack’ came and went the first day. I dislike panning a book but this one just was not for me. Like you I read books that everyone else is raving about and seem to be only person to dislike it. I tend to run contrary to popular opinion. We’ll see how ‘The Lace Reader’ fares. I’m taking it on vacation but I several other books lined up so if it doesn’t go well I won’t be without something to read.

  3. November 6, 2008 9:37 am

    I’ve read *Matrimony* and *The Lace Reader*. I want to read *Guernsey …*

    I didn’t get *The Shack*, thinking it might be too preachy. I just read your review, above, and believe I made the right choice (for me).
    **********
    These 3 posts go to show that some of the books I picked for my challenge were good choices just because people are talking about them. I see I’m going to need to carve out some time to get to them along with my other reading but I’m hoping they’ll be worth the effort.

    ‘The Shack’ ~ well if someone wants God front and center then this is book for them. Or if someone is going through a really rough time then this might be the book for them. It just was not the book for me.

Comments are closed.

