Skip to content

Mailbox Monday ~ November 3rd

November 3, 2008

*** Please note The Printed Page has it’s own address now, printedpage (http://printedpage.us) I didn’t think I’d moving once let alone twice in the same year! Please update your links. Thank you ~ Marcia ***

Thank you to everyone who stops by Mailbox Monday. Whether you comment or visit I appreciate your taking the time to drop in.

Here’s what come into my house last week:

Fiction ~ Beside A Burning Sea by John Shors. This book was sent to me by the author. I read his other book, Beneath A Marble Sky and enjoyed it immensely. I’m looking forward to reading this one.

BTW – Mr. Shors signed this copy and it will be given away at over at Up For Grabs once I’ve read and reviewed it.

Historical fiction ~ Mr. and Mrs. Prince: How an Extraordinary Eighteenth-Century Family Moved Out of Slavery and into Legend by Gretchen Holbrook Gerzina.

In anticipation of Jane Porter’s tour stopping here at the end of November and, courtesy of Miriam at Hachette Books, I received the 4 books of Ms. Porter’s published by Hachette. She writes women’s fiction and the books are: Flirting with Forty, Mrs. Perfect, Odd Mom Out, and The Frog Prince.

As part of her tour stop I will be giving 3 sets of all four books. Be sure to mark your calendars for the end of November! I don’t have an exact date but most likely right after Thanksgiving and right before I leave on vacation.

Memoir/ebook ~ In the Land of Invisible Women: A Female Doctor’s Journey in the Saudi Kingdom by Qanta A. Ahmed

**********
Sidenotes:

My current giveaway here at TPP is Life After Genius by M. Ann Jacoby. My interview with Ms. Jacoby and giveaway are here.

November 6th and 7th Cyndia Depre tour’s will be stopping by TPP. 11/6 will be my review of her newest book, Oblivious. 11/7 will an author interview with Cyndia and giveaway of a signed copy of Oblivious.

**********
What books came into your house last week? Don’t forget to leave a link to your Mailbox post or a list of books if you don’t have a blog.

26 Comments
  1. November 3, 2008 5:40 am

    My post is up here.

    Another good week! I’m interested to see how you like the ebook – I’m still not sure if I really like that format.
    **********
    I love the ebook format. I transferred the .pdf file to my Kindle and I’m off to read.

  2. November 3, 2008 6:08 am

    Have a great week, everyone! Here’s my contribution.

  3. November 3, 2008 6:32 am

    I got the Jane Porter books, too. You can see my Mailbox Monday post here.

  4. November 3, 2008 6:35 am

    Oooh…I want to read Beside a Burning Sea! Looking forward to your review of that book and all the others. My Mailbox Monday post is here:

    http://diaryofaneccentric.blogspot.com/2008/11/mailbox-monday.html
    **********
    I started ‘Beside A Burning Sea’ last night (11/5) and it’s very good so far. I’m thinking this will be another winner from Mr. Shors.

  5. November 3, 2008 6:59 am

    That memoir of a woman doctor’s experience in Saudia Arabia looks fascinating. My Monday Mailbox is up.

  6. laura0218 permalink
    November 3, 2008 7:01 am

    Just one book in my mailbox this past week … from a recent give-away. Read about it here.

  7. November 3, 2008 7:11 am

    I really want to read In the Land of Invisible Women. My MM is up.

  8. November 3, 2008 8:30 am

    I got some great books this week! Check out the list here.

  9. November 3, 2008 9:21 am

    Wow, quite a haul, Marcia 🙂 Here is what arrived at my house.

  10. November 3, 2008 9:31 am

    Hi Marcia!! Congratulations on your domain! How exciting. 🙂

    I too received Jane Porter’s books – they look great!

    Here’s my
    Mailbox!

    🙂 Wendi

  11. November 3, 2008 10:59 am

    Joining in for the first time. You can see mine here.

  12. Amy permalink
    November 3, 2008 1:29 pm

    Here’s my post! Hope everyone had a good book week! 🙂

    http://readingtoolate.net/?p=1087

    Amy

  13. November 3, 2008 2:46 pm

    Oh those Jane Porter books look great! I got a copy of Qanta A. Ahmed’s book this week too, I can’t wait to get started on it.
    Here is my Mailbox Monday Post Have a wonderful week everyone 🙂

  14. November 3, 2008 3:12 pm

    Here’s my mailbox Monday! I’m participating for the first time. 🙂

  15. November 3, 2008 4:40 pm

    Joining for the first time today. You can find my list here.

  16. November 3, 2008 4:41 pm

    Wow, four books from one author! Hope you enjoy them.

    My post is here:
    http://shereadsandreads.blogspot.com/2008/11/mailbox-monday.html

  17. November 3, 2008 6:19 pm

    Oh today was an exciting book day! Here’s mine.

  18. November 3, 2008 6:42 pm

    sounds like some great books 🙂 I also received a copy of In The Land of Invisible Women this week. I really like Beneath A Marble Sky.
    heres my post
    http://thebookworm07.blogspot.com/2008/11/mailbox-mondays-113.html

  19. November 3, 2008 11:17 pm

    I am so late today but my post is finally up here:
    http://peekingbetweenthepages.blogspot.com/2008/11/mailbox-monday-nov-3.html

  20. November 3, 2008 11:44 pm

    Mine’s finally up, nothing really new:

    http://texasbookwoman.blogspot.com/2008/11/mailbox-monday.html

  21. November 4, 2008 9:18 am

    Only one book has come into my house this week: Cancer Vixen by Marisa Acocella Marchetto, from a trade on Swap-bot.com. I’m enjoying it.
    **********
    Thank you for stopping by the ‘mailbox’ this week.

  22. November 6, 2008 11:49 am

    I’m off to visit the ‘MM’ posts for this week.

Trackbacks

  1. Building Community Through Blogging | He Blogs, She Blogs

Comments are closed.

