Skip to content

October ’08 Reading Wrapup

October 31, 2008

The leaves have turned and so do the pages. Another typical month with nothing outstanding. Once again I read 11 books for 3,870 pages, only 6 pages short of September.

My Favorites
Divine Justice by David Baldacci/Hachette
Bedlam South: A Novel by Mark Grisham and David Donaldson/Author Marketing Experts
The Brass Verdict by Michael Connelly/Hachette
Shades of Gray by Jessica James/author sent

Book clubs/groups
Comeback by Claire and Mia Fontaine/f2f bc

ARCs/Publisher Provided
Buffalo Gal by Laura Pedersen/Authors on the Web
Divine Justice by David Baldacci/Hachette
Bedlam South: A Novel by Mark Grisham and David Donaldson/Author Marketing Experts
A Civil General by David Stinebeck & Scannell Gill/author provided
Everyone is Beautiful by Katherine Center/Random House
Oblivious by Cyndia Depre/Pump Up Your Book tours
Deconstructing Sammy by Matt Birkbeck/Harper Collins
The Brass Verdict by Michael Connelly/Hachette
Life After Genuis by M. Ann Jacoby/Hachette
Wife In The North by Judith O’Reilly/FSB Associates

To Be Continued… (series reading)
The Queen’s Cure by Karen Harper (Elizabeth I mysteries, book 4)
The Brass Verdict by Michael Connelly/Hachette (Harry Bosch)

New to me authors
Laura Pedersen
Mark Grisham and David Donaldson
David Stinebeck & Scannell Gill
Katherine Center
Cyndia Depre
Jessica James
Matt Birkbeck

Did Not Finish
Life After Genuis by M. Ann Jacoby/Hachette
Wife In The North by Judith O’Reilly/FSB Associates

**********
How was your October? Did you read more or less than usual? Discover some new authors? What was your most, or least, favorite book this month?

One Comment
  1. November 1, 2008 8:15 pm

    I loved *The Brass Verdict*, I read/reviewed it back at the beginning of the summer as an ARC. It’s the first Michael Connelly I read, as I don’t read a lot of crime fiction, but I’d check out his other Mickey Haller / Harry Bosch books.

    I’m glad to see you don’t finish books that don’t grab you … I should do that more readily.
    **********
    I’ve read all of Michael Connelly’s ‘Harry Bosch’ novels and his other stand alone work. He’s one of my favorites.

    My rule of thumb with a book: Start with 100 pages as your goal if it’s a book you’re iffy about. Then take away your age from 100. If the book hasn’t caught your interest by then put it down and move on. I do bend my rule if it’s for a review or challenge but even then if I just can’t get into the story I move on.

    Life is too short and there are too many good books for me to saddle myself with one that doesn’t hold my interest.

Comments are closed.

