Skip to content

Musing Mondays … Favorite author or genre?

October 23, 2008

Miz B at Should Be Reading hosts Musing Mondays. I’m a bit behind so I’m playing catch up ~ this being my 2nd Musing Monday of the day.

The topic posed for Monday, October 13th: can I narrow down my reading to a favorite genre and author? Why, or why not?

Heck no! Talk about a nearly impossible task for an avid reader. My reading tastes vary so far and wide that I’m all over the board. There’s always some new book or author that catches my eye and then I’m off wandering down another reading path. I try not to narrow my reading so that I don’t miss out on a good book. Occasionally I’ll come across a ‘dog’ of a book but by far the good out weigh the bad.

Without peeking at my Librarything account I would have listed my top reading genres as: adult popular fiction, memoirs, historical fiction, mystery, crime, travelogues, and women’s fiction. Just to see how well I know myself I visited my LT account as came up with: suspense, romance, general fiction, romantic suspense, legal thriller, mystery. I know myself pretty well I’d say. The major differences are my LT tags are very specific and the syntax varies a bit plus I’ve found my reading tastes in the last couple of years have changed to include more memoirs, travelogues and historical fiction.

Favorites authors ~ these are authors who work I read consistently. Authors whose books I find a way to get my hands on come hell or high water. They are listed in no particular order: David Baldacci, Michael Connelly, Nora Roberts/J.D. Robb (main stream fiction & the In Death series), Jeffrey Deaver, Vince Flynn, Philippa Gregory, John Grisham, Bentley Little, Phillip Margolin, Brad Meltzer, Erica Spindler, Lauren Willig, Sandra Brown, Barbara Delinsky, Tess Gerritsen, Tami Hoag (main stream fiction). I’m sure this isn’t complete but it is comprehensive.

**********

How about you? Any favorite genres or authors? Or are you bit daring and adventurous with your reading?

2 Comments
  1. October 24, 2008 6:28 am

    I’ll read just about any genre, except horror and romance. I’m not crazy about sci-fi and fantasy, but I do read them for a change of pace from time to time.
    **********
    I read a limited amount of horror and romance. I stick to my favorite authors and don’t usually branch out from there.

  2. October 24, 2008 9:34 am

    I’m the same. I couldn’t pick a genre. I like too many different books and like you I don’t want to miss out on something good because I’m stuck on only one genre or author although I definitely have my faves too.
    **********
    Half the fun of reading is exploring all the wonderful books and authors. The variety is tremendous.

Comments are closed.

