Skip to content

Mailbox Monday ~ October 20th

October 20, 2008

** I apologize ~ the ‘Mailbox’ was held hostage this morning by ‘publish on date & time’ gremlins. **

Thank you to everyone who stops by Mailbox Monday. Whether you comment or visit I appreciate your taking the time to drop in.

Last week was another good week for my TBR pile.

Historical fiction ~ Shades of Gray by Jessica James. Thank you Ms. James for contacting me and offering me a copy of your book. I’m really looking forward to reading this one and shuffling has commenced on the TBR pile.

Totally forgetting that Christina from Harper Collins had contacted me and offered books I was happily surprised when the UPS driver knocked on the door last week. I had no idea what books I’d be receiving having told her to send whatever she had on hand. My surprise package held 5 books, those being:

Fiction ~ The Air Between Us by Deborah Johnson

Fiction ~ The King’s Rifle Biyi Bandele. This is the first novel to depict the experiences of African soldiers during WWII.

Memoir ~ From Harvey River: A memoir of My Mother and Her Island by Lorna Goodison

Memoir ~ The Legs Are The Last To Go: Aging, Acting, Marrying & Other Things I Learned The Hard Way by Diahann Carroll

Biography ~ Deconstructing Sammy: Music, Money, Madness and the Mob by Matt Birkbeck

**********

If you’re a Michael Connelly fan or enjoy a good legal thriller I’m currently giving away my hardcover copy of his newest book, The Brass Verdict just released last Tuesday. Check here for details.

**********
What books came into your house last week?

19 Comments
  1. October 20, 2008 9:12 am

    Oh, wow! It must have felt like Christmas when that box from Harper Collins came. I love surprises like that. My Mailbox Monday post is here.

  2. October 20, 2008 9:18 am

    Great list of books APOOO rec’d all of the ones you have except for the fiction title.
    Books I received last week include:
    Secret Life of Bees by Sue Monk Kidd
    House at Sugar Beach by Helene Cooper
    Love’s Revenge by Nicole Bailey-Williams
    hmmm and one I’m forgetting…dang can’t think of the title now. 😦

  3. October 20, 2008 9:55 am

    Wow! You received a lot of book last week, Marcia! Looks like a bunch of great titles, too.

    My list is here:
    http://diaryofaneccentric.blogspot.com/2008/10/mailbox-monday_20.html

  4. October 20, 2008 10:04 am

    Yeah!!! I’ve been watching your blog all morning!! 🙂

    Wow! I haven’t seen any of the books you received – can’t wait to see reviews 😉

    I’ve got my mailbox posted ~ Wendi
    http://wendisbookcorner.blogspot.com/2008/10/mailbox-monday_20.html

  5. October 20, 2008 10:15 am

    Marcia, I love WWII fiction so The King’s Rifle is definitely going on my TBR list. I just read Killing Rommel recently – listened actually – and it was the first time I’d read about the war in North Africa. It was however from the perspective of a British soldier stationed there.

    My list is HERE or

    http://blog.literarily.com/2008/10/20/mailbox-monday.aspx

  6. October 20, 2008 10:28 am

    Looks like you got some good ones, Marcia!! Here’s mine!

  7. October 20, 2008 10:40 am

    And Here is the list: http://cherryblossommj.blogspot.com/2008/10/mailbox-monday.html I’m not sure I want to think about it. I mean I do, because I love books and it makes me smile… but then there are the reviews and the review deadlines… and the move next week… *sigh*

  8. October 20, 2008 10:48 am

    That is some list! I am envious!

    😀

    Read mine here!

  9. October 20, 2008 11:33 am

    Here’s my list of goodies. Now I’m off to see everyone else’s!

  10. October 20, 2008 1:34 pm

    You can find my list here at Redlady’s Reading Room.

  11. October 20, 2008 1:54 pm

    Wow, five books from one place. I look forward to your reviews since they’re all new to me.
    My Mailbox Monday is now posted: http://freshinkbooks.blogspot.com/

  12. October 20, 2008 2:57 pm

    Here’s my post:
    http://shereadsandreads.blogspot.com/2008/10/mailbox-monday_20.html
    I finally added images this time!

  13. October 20, 2008 3:19 pm

    Wow – I think I’ve made it to everyone’s mailbox postings (through #11) – my wish list is increasing!!

    ~ Wendi 🙂

  14. Susan L. permalink
    October 20, 2008 5:50 pm

    My list is here:

    http://susanlovestoread.blogspot.com

  15. October 20, 2008 6:00 pm

    You got some good stuff! I love boxes of surprises like that. My list is up here.

  16. October 20, 2008 8:27 pm

    I received:

    Fiction: Sweet Life by Mia King

    Fiction: Good Things by Mia King

    Fiction: Until We Reach Home by Lynn Austin

    http://kindredthought.blogspot.com/search/label/books

    Fun post! 🙂

  17. October 21, 2008 12:01 pm

    Well i gues I need to get going and try to win some books so I can start posting

  18. October 21, 2008 2:23 pm

    I’m off to visit this week’s ‘Mailboxes’ and see what goodies everyone else got. I started my new Amazon MM wish list last week and I’m sure I’ll be adding to it. 🙂

Comments are closed.

