Skip to content

ARC: Everyone is Beautiful by Katherine Center

October 17, 2008

Everyone is Beautiful
Web site for Katherine Center
Ballantine Books; February ’09
256 pages
Womens fiction
Book provided by Random House

This book is LOL funny in parts and tackles serious subject matter with a light hand and wisdom in others. The first 5 chapters had my spouse yelling down from upstairs for me to please ‘be quiet’ as he was trying to get some shut eye. The laughs don’t stop there as periodically these adorable boys would do something to have me in stitches. As anyone who reads this blog knows I’m definitely not a ‘kid’ person unless the ‘kids’ have four legs, fur and are of the feline variety. But Ms. Center writes with such humorous insight into the behavior of children that I couldn’t help but be enchanted by their antics as along as they were going home with Lanie and not me. These boys are rascals and into everything leaving no stone unturned.

Meanwhile not only does Lanie have her hands full of youngsters but she’s also coping with holding her marriage together and not losing herself in the process. Now the marriage and not losing yourself part I can relate to. I think everyone who has been married a number of years can see a bit of themselves in this story and relate to the some of the feelings and situations that Lanie and Peter find themselves falling victim to. This is where the book held the most interest for me. I felt like I was visiting with my girlfriends. We’re conversing, and commiserating, about our lives and loves. Our daily routines and the ruts we’ve fallen into. The grind of holding a family together and finding time for the ‘you and me’ in a marriage. Now don’t think that this book gets heavy and depressing because it doesn’t. It flows and takes the reader along for a satisfying journey.

This book is engaging, appealing and down to earth. No situation was unrealistic and out there. I could identify with pieces and parts of all the characters. Their flaws are what make them believable. This is not chick lit as defined by Wikipedia. Yes, I looked it up. I recommend this book to anyone looking to settle down for a nice, easy weekend read that doesn’t require massive amounts of deep thought but is looking for an entertaining story. I haven’t had the pleasure of reading her other book, The Bright Side of Disaster but it’s now on my ‘take along on vacation’ list.

X-posted: Book Club & Publishers Book Blog

5 Comments
  1. October 17, 2008 5:33 pm

    Your review had made me want to read this book. It sounds great!
    **********
    It’s on it’s way to you. Enjoy! šŸ™‚

  2. October 17, 2008 7:57 pm

    Hey there! It’s so fun to see your post about my book! This is the first blog review I’ve seen of Everyone is Beautiful, and I’m so glad to hear that you liked it! Thanks for the great review!
    **********
    Thank you for stopping by TPP. Katie, at Random House, sent me your book and I’m so glad she did. I really enjoyed the story and your writing style. I’m just thankful that those boys aren’t mine! I’ll be hosting a giveaway of ‘Everyone is Beautiful’ in February around the release date at Up For Grabs.

  3. October 20, 2008 7:20 am

    Sounds like a good book. I’ve saved your post so I can remember to buy a copy for the library.
    **********
    I’ll be giving away copies of this book around the time of it’s release date in February at Up For Grabs.

Trackbacks

  1. Friday Finds - October 31, 2008
  2. Great review for BEAUTIFUL! « katherine center

Comments are closed.

