Skip to content

ARC: Bedlam South: A Novel by Mark Grisham and David Donaldson

October 9, 2008

Bedlam South
Web site of Mark Grisham and David Donaldson
State Street Press; October ’08
322 pages
Historical fiction/US Civil War
Book provided by Author Marketing Experts, Inc.. Thank you Penny and Paula for graciously responding to my request for this book after spotting in it on Wendy’s blog in one of her ‘Mailbox Monday’ posts.

I’ll start by telling you that I love reading good historical fiction based before, after, and during the time of the American Civil War. The mystique of that period in our nation’s history has a pull on me that I’ve never been able to explain. While there is some romance attached to that period of time I truly love reading about the lives of those who were directly involved, and most affected, by those gripping events ~ the soldiers and their families, the slave trade and it’s subsequent fallout and consequences, the battles and prison life.

From the moment I cracked the cover on Bedlam South I was transported back to a riveting time in our Nation’s history. Richly textured with stunning detail the daily struggle to survive, dramatic battle field scenes and unimaginable, harrowing prisons and asylums are brought to life. You meet Dr. Bryarly who is returning from England to run the Wingate Asylum, better known as Bedlam South and his nemesis, Captain Percy. Then there are the Gibson brothers – Billy and Zeke and their fellow comrades in arms. We also follow the story of Mary Beth Green who, as a lady of the night, harbors secrets of her own. Weaving a tale of heartache, passion and triumph the lives of these characters intersect in the most unlikely of circumstances.

This book has something for every reader and never hits a slow spot. It covers a range of human emotion. There is love, loss, grief, romance, redemption, betrayal and faith. I couldn’t put this book down taking only 2 days to read it. I highly recommend this book as a must read. It’s one of my top picks this year. These gentlemen have more books in the publishing pipe line and I’m looking forward to reading them.

X-posted: Book Club & Publishers Book Blog

2 Comments
  1. October 10, 2008 1:13 pm

    Marcia – I love your reviews, so readable and informative! I can’t wait to read this book!
    **********
    Thank you for the compliment. The book is packaged and ready for mailing this week. 🙂

  2. October 12, 2008 7:44 pm

    Good God, woman! You finished it already? I’m so glad that I trusted my instincts on this one and requested it. Great review! I’m so happy that Shana is getting in on the fun, too!
    **********
    I am! I work a job that has lots of down time in the evenings so guess where I get all my reading done. 🙂

    I’m betting that both of you will really enjoy this one.

Comments are closed.

