Skip to content

Mailbox Monday

October 6, 2008

Thank you to everyone who stops by Mailbox Monday. Whether you comment or visit I appreciate your taking the time to drop in.

Here are the books that came into my house last week:

Womens fiction ~ Off the Menu by Christine Son

Historical fiction ~ Bedlam South by Mark Grisham and David Donaldson. I spotted this one at Wendy’s blog on one of her ‘Mailbox’ posts.

Katie, from Random House, has partnered with me to bring ARC giveaways to Up For Grabs offering books like Hotel on the Corner of Bitter and Sweet by Jamie Ford. The giveaway for ‘Hotel’ closes Thursday, 10/9. So my mailbox last week brought a wealth of ARCs for me to review before hosting them in giveaways.

Womens fiction ~ Everyone is Beautiful by Katherine Center/release date February ’09

Non-fiction ~ Bounce Back: Secrets of the Bulletproof Spirit by Azim Khamisa and Jillian Quinn/release date February ’09

Thriller/fiction ~ Fault Line: A Novel by Barry Eisler/release date February ’09

Historical Fiction ~ Etta by Gerald Kolpan/release date March ’09. Etta Place joined Butch Cassidy’s notorious gang and carried on a legendary romance with the Sundance Kid.

and finally this week

Non-fiction ~  Izzy & Lenore: Two dogs, an Unexpected Journey and Me by Jon Katz

**********
What books came into your house last week?

24 Comments
  1. October 6, 2008 4:59 am

    Wow! Looks like you got a lot of good books last week!! I’m waiting on “Off the Menu” myself. Can’t wait to read that one. Looking forward to your review.

    My Mailbox Monday list is here:
    http://diaryofaneccentric.blogspot.com/2008/10/mailbox-monday-day-early.html
    **********
    Don’t you love it when the mailbox has lots and lots of books? You got quite a collection this week.

  2. October 6, 2008 5:14 am

    Hi Marcia! I am really looking forward to reading The Gifted Gabaldon Sisters. It looks interesting and like it should be fun too.

    Hotel on the Corner of Bitter and Sweet has such a great cover that I want to read it without knowing anything about it.

    I played along this week and posted, here.
    **********
    My ARC of ‘Hotel’ doesn’t have that beautiful cover 😦 but the story was wonderful.

  3. October 6, 2008 5:16 am

    I’m on time this week!! =) Here’s my post.
    **********
    The package that birdie told you about well it’s in the mail! 🙂

  4. October 6, 2008 6:13 am

    What a great idea with Random House. I hope that works out for you.
    You got a really big haul this week.

    Here’s my post:
    http://thethingsweread.blogspot.com/2008/10/mailbox-monday.html
    **********
    Katie at Random House has been so receptive to every idea I’ve run past her. I can’t thank her enough for providing some great books for the UFG giveaways. The reaction to the ‘Hotel on the Corner of Bitter and Sweet’ has been very encouraging though I know not every giveaway will draw that kind of response.

    Keep an eye on your mailbox as a little somethin’ is headed your way.

  5. October 6, 2008 6:20 am

    Wow…I’m the first! You can find mine here.
    **********
    We might be running neck and neck for who got the most books this week but then I haven’t stopped by all the ‘Mailboxes’ yet.

  6. October 6, 2008 6:44 am

    Last week was a slow week for me book-wise. I’m trying to put a positive spin on it and think about the fact that it gave me a chance to make a dent in my TBR pile.
    **********
    Keep one eye on your mailbox as you should have little somethin’ in the week or two. 🙂

  7. October 6, 2008 7:06 am

    Here’s mine … just one book this week but I know more are on the way 🙂
    **********
    Beautiful cover art on your book this week.

  8. October 6, 2008 9:11 am

    Wow, very exciting about Random House, Marcia!! Thanks for the link back to my blog 🙂

    <A HREF=Here’s what arrived this week at my house.
    **********
    It is isn’t it? I loved that first book I had to give was ‘Hotel on the Corner of Bitter and Sweet’ by Jamie Ford. I’m hoping that some of the upcoming giveaways will be just as promising.

  9. October 6, 2008 9:12 am

    Whoops – let’s try that link again: Wendy’s Mailbox Monday.

  10. October 6, 2008 9:16 am

    I hope I’m doing this in the right place. My Monday mailbox post is now up here:
    http://freshinkbooks.blogspot.com/2008/10/this-is-my-first-foray-into-mailbox.html

    Thank you. I enjoy reading the posts in this feature very much.
    **********
    Welcome to the ‘Mailbox’. ‘Traffic’ is now officially on my Amazon wish list to make sure I buy it for my traffic engineering spouse. I honestly think he does his best to mess it up, the traffic that is, just to watch me sit in a jam through his magic traffic cams. 🙂

  11. October 6, 2008 11:54 am

    Here’s my post: http://alessandrasplace.blogspot.com/2008/10/mailbox-monday-secrets.html
    **********
    Thanks for mentioning Tree Swing Reading in your post. Though not my usual genre I did come across a book, ‘Robin Hood: The Legend Begins Anew’ by Stephen Lawhead that I’ll be checking out on Amazon.

  12. October 6, 2008 12:02 pm

    Wow – you guys are busy, busy.

    Marcia that’s a great looking line-up. I’ll be reading Off the Menu later this month too.

    Etta, Bedlam South, Home Girl – those all look GREAT. I think Home Girl is winging its way to me as I write this.

    My MM post is HERE. I can’t wait to read everyone else’s.
    **********
    My wish list just toppled as I knew you’d have something of interest. I just added ‘Tethered’. I think I’m going to start a new wish list just for MM selections. 🙂

  13. October 6, 2008 1:12 pm

    Wow-You have a great list..your mailbox was packed this week!

    I love to read Mailbox Mondays…it’s so fun!

    Here’s mine:
    http://redladysreadingroom-redlady.blogspot.com/2008/10/mailbox-monday.html
    **********
    Another book on the wish list. Thanks!

  14. October 6, 2008 4:54 pm

    Lots of fun books for you! yay! I keep meaning to particpate in this…..
    **********
    Welcome to the ‘Mailbox’. Watch out though just like ‘Friday Finds’ at Should Be Reading your TBR will be danger of growing exponentially

  15. October 6, 2008 6:55 pm

    You got some great books. Check out what I received in the mail at
    http://readingmama.blogspot.com/2008/10/mailbox-monday.html
    **********
    Historical fiction is one of my favorite genres.

  16. October 6, 2008 9:46 pm

    Yeah! This looks like so much fun! You have received some great books! Is there a main site to sign up for this, or do I just hi-jack the logo from one of you and start posting my own Monday Mailbox?

    🙂 Wendi
    http://wendisbookcorner.blogspot.com
    **********
    I got a bit nostalgic because Seattle is my home city. I’ve been in Idaho for 12 years now but I still call Seattle and Washington state home.

  17. October 7, 2008 9:34 am

    My post is here:
    http://shereadsandreads.blogspot.com/2008/10/mailbox-monday.html
    **********
    I hope you enjoy ‘The Heretic’s Daughter’ as much as I did.

  18. October 7, 2008 5:29 pm

    I picked up your meme along with Yasmin this week! I just got Bedlam South and Off the Menu today. It’ll be on my report next week. Are you on LibraryThing? Bedlam South is the first book I’ve gotten that couldn’t be added there. Strange. I’ve received much more obscure books than this.
    **********
    I am on LT. I had to manually add ‘Bedlam South’ to both LT and GoodReads.

    BTW – I’ve finished it already and loved it.

  19. October 8, 2008 6:00 pm

    You got a lot of good books last week. I really enjoyed stopping by.
    Toni
    **********
    Welcome to the ‘Mailbox’. I’m glad there’s something here for you to enjoy. I know I love peeking into everyone else’s ‘Mailboxes’.

  20. October 9, 2008 2:09 pm

    I’m off to visit all the ‘Mailbox’ posts for this week. It was a busy at the ‘Mailbox’ so my wish list and TBR piles are sure to topple over.
    🙂

  21. October 9, 2008 4:29 pm

    Ok, so it’s official ~ I’m starting a new Amazon wish list just for MM. 🙂

  22. October 10, 2008 7:49 am

    My response can be found here. I’m sorry I’m so late!

  23. October 12, 2008 11:16 pm

    I guess I’m early but I’ll post my link because I won’t be near the computer until late today. My Mailbox Monday post for today is here:
    http://freshinkbooks.blogspot.com/2008/10/mailbox-monday.html

    Thank you.

  24. October 12, 2008 11:18 pm

    It’s already Monday, October 13 where I am, I guess we’re in different time zones. Sorry if I caused confusion.

Comments are closed.

