Skip to content

Musing Mondays … Talk About Reading

September 29, 2008

MizB at Should Be Reading is the host of Musing Mondays.

Today’s MUSING is just going to be a simple one on reading…

WHAT ARE YOU READING RIGHT NOW?
I’m about 80 pages from finishing Home Girl: Building a Dream House on a Lawless Block by Judith Matloff. This has been a very entertaining read. Talk about location, location, location when buying real estate. She bought in a way less than desirable ‘hood but it makes for a really good story.

WHY ARE YOU READING WHAT YOU’RE READING? PLEASURE? FOR REVIEW? SOMETHING ELSE?
Home Girl is a review book I received from Julie at FSB Associates. Julie offered me 2 copies of this book so I will be giving them away sometime in October here at The Printed Page.

WHAT DID YOU RECENTLY FINISH READING?
I just finished Immortal by Traci L. Slatton for The Literate Housewife’s online book group. For most part I enjoyed Immortal though I thought it was a bit too long.

WHAT DO YOU THINK YOU’LL BE READING NEXT?
Either Buffalo Gal by Laura Pedersen or Wife in the North by Judith O’Reilly. Both are review books.

WHAT WAS THE BEST BOOK YOU READ THIS MONTH? WHY?
Absolutely no contest here, hands down it was Hotel on the Corner of Bitter and Sweet by Jamie Ford. This book has made my sidebar list of ‘Books You Shouldn’t Pass By.’ It’s a fabulous story about race, forbidden love, history, family and sacrifice set between WWII and present day. My humble review is here and you can check out what others are saying here. I’m giving away 15 copies of ‘Hotel’ here. A very close second was Tears of the Desert: A Memoir of Survival in Darfur by Halima Bashir with Damien Lewis. It’s another sidebar book.

WHAT WAS THE WORST BOOK YOU READ THIS MONTH? WHY?
Well I didn’t DNF any so that’s a good thing. I guess it would have to be The Fire by Katherine Neville. It was very confusing, uninteresting and didn’t live up to it’s predecessor, The Eight.
**********
So tell me how was your September in terms of reading? Any book you liked or didn’t? What are you currently reading and what’s up next?

2 Comments
  1. September 29, 2008 10:00 pm

    I’ve definitely got my fingers crossed for your giveaway. I don’t even want to think about my September recap. I’m so far behind…
    **********
    Your September recap is already posted ~ I saw it. 🙂 I still have to get mine done.

    BTW ~ if you don’t manage to snag a copy of the ‘Hotel’ I may have a surprise for you.

  2. September 30, 2008 8:16 pm

    Summarizing your month in reading is such a good discipline – but, not to be for me this month, I’m afraid!

    I’m looking forward to *Wife in the North*; she has a great attitude about a situtation that could be a real mess!

    Thanks, too, for the great write-up on *Hotel at the Corner of Bitter and Sweet* … sounds like I can’t miss this one.
    **********
    I love doing my monthly recaps because I always seem to accomplish so much more than I think I have. Just a little pat on the back for myself. If you get a chance to read ‘Hotel’ don’t pass it by. It is a really good book.

Comments are closed.

