Skip to content

Mailbox Monday

September 22, 2008

Thank you to everyone who stops by Mailbox Monday. Whether you comment or visit I appreciate your taking the time to drop in.

Here’s what I found in my mailbox last week:

General fiction ~ Hotel on the Corner of Bitter and Sweet. An ARC I received from Random House. This is one of my favorite books this year and makes my ‘must read’ list. My review is here and check out what others are saying about the wonderful book. Release date is January ’09.

Historical fiction ~ Guernica by Dave Boling

Historical fiction ~ The Lady Elizabeth: A Novel by Alison Weir

Thriller/mystery ~ The Night Villa: A Novel by Carol Goodman

**********

What books came into your house last week?

12 Comments
  1. September 22, 2008 5:35 am

    I am interested in hearing about Guernica. I have read The Lady Elizabeth, and I am slowly working my way through the books from Carol Goodman so I will be getting to this one eventually!

    **********
    I’m not sure when I’ll actually get around to reading ‘Guernica’ as I have other commitments. I know that Wendy at Caribousmom has it and it may be that she’s already read and reviewed it. I found a new one for my wish list while visiting your blog, ‘The Traitor’s Wife’ by Higginbotham.

  2. September 22, 2008 9:34 am

    Hotel on the Corner of Bitter and Sweet sounds wonderful! I hope you like Guernica as much as I did! Here is what I got this week.
    **********
    Another one for the Amazon wish list. You get the best books ~ I’m a tad bit jealous. 🙂

  3. September 22, 2008 9:44 am

    Thanks for hosting this great meme! I just started my blog a few months ago and I just added this meme to my blog today. Please check it out here:

    http://redladysreadingroom-redlady.blogspot.com/2008/09/mailbox-monday.html

    I’ve added your blog to my blog list and google reader! I hope that you check out my blog and add it to your google reader as well.

    Thanks,
    Bonnie
    **********
    I stopped by to visit and comment but Blogger isn’t playing nice today. I have ‘Queen of the Road’ on the selections list for my f2f book club. Who knows we might actually get around to reading it some time in the next year. 🙂

  4. September 22, 2008 11:25 am

    http://1morechapter.com/2008/09/22/mailbox-monday-92208/
    **********
    So I’m seeing more and more of ‘Home’ around the book blogging community. Must be a message for me in there somewhere.

  5. September 22, 2008 11:44 am

    Here’s my post for this week: http://alessandrasplace.blogspot.com/2008/09/mailbox-monday-new-books.html
    **********
    Reading the ‘Mailbox’ shows what books are popular in our blogging community. I’ve been seeing a lot mention of ‘The Gargoyle’ out there.

  6. Amy permalink
    September 22, 2008 12:24 pm

    Here’s my post: http://readingtoolate.net/?p=883
    **********
    One of my favorite authors and characters ~ ‘The Brass Verdict’ by Michael Connelly starring Harry Bosch.

  7. September 22, 2008 2:14 pm

    This is my first week to participate. You’ll find mine here!
    **********
    Once again Blogger isn’t playing nice ~ twice in one day. I noticed that you mentioned the ‘House at Riverton’ on your blog post. I’ve had it on my wish list for a while now, just haven’t gotten around to checking it out yet.

  8. September 22, 2008 7:18 pm

    Find out what I received in the mail at http://readingmama.blogspot.com/2008/09/mailbox-monday.html
    **********
    Must be Blogger has something against me for moving to WordPress. 😦 Nice selection of books that should keep you busy for a while.

  9. September 22, 2008 7:53 pm

    Marcia, I just posted mine.

    It’s here:

    http://blog.literarily.com/2008/09/22/mailbox-monday.aspx
    **********
    Thank you for the ‘shout out’. I’m always happy when my books find good homes. 🙂 Another reader who enjoys travelogues. I also have some waiting in the TBR pile. Besides Bill Bryson, J. Maarten Troost has become another favorite author in this genre.

  10. September 23, 2008 3:20 pm

    Yea, I have something to post about this week! And I have you to thank, because your package arrived today – yippee! Thanks so much! =)

    You can read about it here.
    **********
    Enjoy! It’s a really great read. I still haven’t gotten to ‘The Lady Elizabeth’ but I promise some day you’ll get it. 🙂

  11. September 23, 2008 7:18 pm

    Quite a nice selection this week. Lucky you!
    **********
    Hi Bree~
    Thanks for stopping by this week. I was going to start ‘Divine Truth’ so that I could get it in the mail to you but I got sidetracked by ‘Immortal’ for an online book club at The Literate Housewives’ Book Club.

  12. September 26, 2008 11:11 am

    Hi all,

    I’m sorry I’ve been so slow getting to the ‘Mailbox’ this week. Time just flew by and it’s already Friday.

    I’m going visiting now to see what wonderful books each of you got this week. 🙂

Comments are closed.

