Skip to content

ARC: The Fire

September 17, 2008

The Fire; sequel to The Eight
Web site for Katherine Neville
Ballantine Books, Release date: 10/14/08
435 pages
Historical, Action, Thriller, Fiction
Book provided by the Early Reviewers program at Librarything

I gave reading this book a valiant effort coming within mere pages of finishing and put it down. Usually I give a book between 50-100 pages and if it doesn’t spark any interest by the wayside it goes. So why read 417 pages and quit with 20 to go? Because I keep hoping that something, anything would happen and then I got to the point where I was way beyond caring. And simply I was lost.

I’d read The Eight in anticipation of reading The Fire and found The Eight to be an entertaining, adventurous romp through history with lots of twisty turny action both historically and present day. Unfortunately for The Fire the author doesn’t come close to providing an enjoyable read in this second effort.

The action never really gets started. I was halfway through and still waiting for something, anything to happen so on I read. The action, what action? I didn’t find any. The author spends more time giving convoluted clues to puzzles and word games than developing a story line from A to B to C.

And the history was nothing short of a muddled affair. Not very interesting and very confusing. Story lines were hard to follow and didn’t seem to tie together. I couldn’t detect any flow through the plot line.

And trying to keep the game players straight ~ nothing short of impossible. White, black? King or Queen? In the ‘game’ or not? Hard to tell.

Technically this book should go on my DNF list but I read most of it so it makes the ‘not recommended’ section.

X-posted: Book Club & Publishers Book Blog

4 Comments
  1. September 17, 2008 10:14 pm

    Oh, no … I just received this one last week.

  2. September 18, 2008 1:25 pm

    Hi Shana~
    The reviews in the blogging community are a mixed bag on this one so I say enjoy the book.

  3. September 23, 2008 10:32 am

    I am reading this right now and liking it so far – but I am only 40 pages in.

  4. September 26, 2008 12:42 pm

    Hi Lenore~

    I enjoyed it at first also. It was after I started getting farther into it that I fell apart for me.

Comments are closed.

