Skip to content

The Book of Lies: A Novel

September 11, 2008

The Book of Lies: A Novel
Web site of Brad Meltzer
Grand Central Publishing; 1st edition, 2008
352 pages
Fiction, Action, Mystery, Suspense
Book provided by Hachette Book Group USA

First of all I’ll start by saying Mr. Meltzer is one of my favorite authors and I’ve read all his novels. I went into The Book of Lies expecting good, if not great, and I wasn’t disappointed. I read this book in 2 days and that was reading in the hours between work, sleep and blogging. The action starts almost from the very beginning, spinning the reader through a chase across time and across the States and doesn’t let up until the last page.

While I thought the premise of the story might have been a bit self-indulgent on the author’s part he uses his own interests to craft a fine tale of suspense and mystery. Where else are you going to get the Bible’s most famous brothers’ and sibling murder, mythology, magic, the Nazis and Superman tied together?

Plenty of plot twists and turns kept me flipping pages. While one of the major characters is up to no good and it doesn’t take much to figure out who that is there are other story lines to ponder on and wonder how their loose ends will tie up. The one I’m still pondering is the writing of our own story and what lingers after we’re no longer here to tell it.

It’s a recommended read for this year.

X-posted: Book Club & Publishers Book Blog

6 Comments
  1. September 11, 2008 9:07 pm

    The subjects that you name seem so unlikely together. I’d be very interested to see how the author ties this all together.

  2. September 11, 2008 11:17 pm

    Hi Shana~
    It amazes me how some authors can take the most diverse subjects and uniquely tie them together in a story line. I guess that’s why we call it fiction.

  3. September 12, 2008 8:14 pm

    I love the trailer for this on his website!

  4. September 12, 2008 9:14 pm

    How funny! With favorite authors I don’t even pay attention to trailers, reviews or anything else. I just get my hands on the book and shut everything else out. 🙂

  5. September 20, 2008 10:37 am

    I just read this and loved it. I was lucky enough to get to participate in a conference call with Brad Meltzer this past week. It was so much fun! I’ll be posting about it tomorrow. (By the way, I’m adding you to my Google Reader.)

  6. September 21, 2008 10:03 am

    Hi Kathy~
    It was a good book. I didn’t realize he had lost his mother to cancer until I read your post ~ sad.

Comments are closed.

