Skip to content

The Eight

September 4, 2008

The Eight
Katherine Neville
Ballantine Books, 1997
624 pages
Fiction, Action, Thriller, Historical
Book provided by Random House

Because I received the sequel book, The Fire through the Early Reviewers program at Librarything I figured I better read this book first. From start to finish you’re on an action packed ride across the centuries and across the world. Ms. Neville skillfully weaves a story about a chess set that has magical powers that can be used for good or evil. She moves back and forth between the 1700s and 1970s. The 1700s gives the history of the chess set, the 1970s is a treasure hunt to bring the scattered pieces back together damn the consequences.

I really liked this book though I only got to read it short spurts. I took me 8 days start to finish which is double the time it usually takes me to polish off a book this size. I really would have liked longer reading periods because there is so much going on and at times it gets complicated. In every century there are twists and turns and plenty of action to keep you on the edge of your seat. The story is filled with famous historical happenings and people. I’m looking forward to starting The Fire.

X-posted: Book Club & Publishers Book Blog

Comments are closed.

