Skip to content

Booking Through Thursday… Peer Pressure

September 4, 2008

I haven’t participated in Booking Through Thursday in quite a while so I thought I’d take a shot at it again.

This week’s question is: Have you ever felt pressured to read something because ‘everyone else’ was reading it? Have you ever given in and read the book(s) in question or do you resist? If you are a reviewer, etc, do you feel it’s your duty to keep up on current trends?

Me ~ Normally I shy away from books that everyone else is reading. I don’t usually follow the crowd. I’ve found in the past that reading the “book(s) of the moment” is a 50/50 proposition. Even if it’s a book within my comfort zone it doesn’t always turn out to be a rewarding read for me.

Take the current craze – The Twilight Saga by Stephenie Meyer. Vampires get nowhere near my reading radar screen. I’ve even avoided a trilogy by Nora Roberts, one of my favorite authors, simply because vampires are a major part of the story line. Interestingly enough I was in the womens restroom last night at work and a co-worker came in carrying Breaking Dawn. This is first personal contact I’ve had with someone who is currently reading or has read the series. Being a bit curious I asked her opinion. She was enjoying the series even though vampires weren’t her usual cup of tea. Her enthusiasm wasn’t overwhelming to say the least so I still haven’t been swayed to pick ’em up.

But then again take the Harry Potter series. At first I was going to by-pass them but everyone around me was raving about them. Then I was bound and determined to wait until all the books were published and read them straight through. Then my spouse spoiled my plans. As a Christmas present one year he bought me books 2 and 4. Now here was a dilemma ~ do I wait or give in, buy books 1 & 3, and getting reading? Well of course I did what any good bibliophile would do I went straight to nearest bookstore, bought books and got reading.

Now ~ one on radar screen is The Lace Reader. I’m debating with myself.

I have been getting ARCs for the past year or so but I only request or take up an offer if the book appeals to me. I don’t feel it’s fair to an author or publisher to take a book that I have absolutely no interest in just to get a free book.

I didn’t follow trends in my younger years and I won’t be starting any time soon.

2 Comments
  1. September 4, 2008 9:29 pm

    I agree. I read what I think I’ll like.

  2. September 5, 2008 11:22 am

    Sally ~ thank you for stopping by. With so many books out there why would we spend time reading something that doesn’t appeal to us?

Comments are closed.

